Planning for the Future: Management Plan Update 2010-2011

Aulavik Management Planning Process at-a-glance

The new management plan for Aulavik will be developed with direction from the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, the Agreement for the Establishment of a National Park on Banks Island, Canada National Parks Act, Parks Canada Guide to Management Planning (2008) (PDF) and 2010-11 Parks Canada Agency Corporate Plan, and through consultation with Inuvialuit cooperative management partners and local, regional and national publics.

There are three stages to the management planning update process for Aulavik.

Planning StageTimingFocusConsultations
1 Fall 2010 - Winter 2011 Introduces the management planning process; outlines challenges and opportunities to be considered and potential strategies to address; presents proposed vision elements; Inuvialuit, public and stakeholders invited to contribute their ideas to this initial stage of plan development. Information and consultation of Inuvialuit, public and stakeholders by:

(a) newsletters (#1 and 2) and Parks Canada website;

(b) community open houses Inuvik and Sachs Harbour NT);

(c) invited call for comment (mail-out to stakeholders and regional newspaper ad for public)
2 Winter - Summer 2011 Review of public comments received during Stage 1; park planning team and Aulavik National Park Management Planning Working Group work to draft management plan; Inuvialuit, public and stakeholders invited to contribute their ideas to this next stage of plan development in summer 2011. Information and consultation of Inuvialuit, public and stakeholders by:

(a) newsletter (#3) and Parks Canada website;

(b) community open houses (Inuvik and Ulukhaktok, NT);

(c) community workshops (Sachs Harbour NT);

(d) bilateral meetings with stakeholder groups (tbd);

(e) invited call for comment (mail-out to stakeholders and regional newspaper ad for public)
3 Summer –Fall 2011 Review of public comments received during Stage 2; park planning team and ANP Management Planning Working Group work to finalize management plan; plan recommended by Inuvialuit co-operative management organizations (to be determined) to be approved by the Minister of the Environment responsible for Parks Canada; public informed of the results of the planning process. Information through newsletter (#4) and the Parks Canada website

Planifier l’avenir : Mise à jour 2010-2011 du plan directeur

Aperçu du processus d’élaboration du plan directeur du parc national Aulavik

Le nouveau plan directeur du parc national Aulavik sera établi conformément aux orientations définies par la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit, la Convention pour l’établissement d’un parc national sur l’île Banks, la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, le Guide de planification pour l’élaboration des plans directeurs à Parcs Canada (2008) (PDF) et le Plan d’entreprise de l’Agence Parcs Canada 2010-2011. Il tiendra également compte des consultations menées auprès des organismes de cogestion inuvialuits et des intervenants aux échelons local, régional et national.

Le processus de mise à jour du plan directeur du parc national Aulavik comprend trois étapes.

ÉtapeCalendrierPrioritésConsultations
1 Automne 2010 -hiver 2011 Présenter le processus d’élaboration du plan directeur; cibler les défis et les possibilités à étudier et les stratégies possibles à envisager; présenter les éléments proposés de la vision; inviter les Inuvialuits, le public et les intervenants à faire part de leurs opinions concernant cette première étape de l’élaboration du plan. Informer et consulter les Inuvialuits, le public et les intervenants par divers moyens :

(a) bulletins (nos 1 et 2) et site Web de Parcs Canada;

(b) séances portes ouvertes dans les collectivités (Inuvik et Sachs Harbour, T.N.-O.);

(c) avis de sollicitation de commentaires par envoi postal aux intervenants et dans les journaux de la région
2 Hiver-été 2011 Analyser les commentaires reçus du public à l’étape 1; travailler à l'ébauche du plan directeur (équipe de la planification du parc et Groupe de travail sur l’élaboration du plan directeur du parc national Aulavik); inviter les Inuvialuits, le public et les divers intervenants à commenter cette nouvelle étape de l’élaboration du plan, au été 2011. Informer et consulter les Inuvialuits, le public et les intervenants par divers moyens :

(a) bulletin (no 3) et site Web de Parcs Canada;

(b) Groupe de travail sur l’élaboration du plan directeur du parc national Aulavik); faire approuver le plan recommandé par les organismes de cogestion inuvialuits par le ministère de l’Environnement responsable de Parcs Canada (à déterminer); faire part au public des résultats du processus de planification.
Publier l’information dans le bulletin (no 4) et le site Web de Parcs Canada