Important considerations

The natural environment can be hazardous if you are not prepared. This is especially true at on Sable Island which is an extremely remote location. The normal range of commercial, municipal, and medical services is not available. The nature of the environment means that hazardous conditions will frequently exist and visitors should exercise extra caution.

Medicines

If you are taking medication you should ensure that you bring sufficient supplies for the duration of your visit, and also extra quantities in case of unplanned delays. If you, or anyone in your group, have known allergies you must provide your own medication and ensure you carry it with you at all times.

Terrain

When you arrive on Sable Island, you can ask Parks Canada personnel about known or temporary hazards on the island. You should ensure that someone on the island knows your travel plans including departure time, route, and expected time of return. It is usually a good idea to carry a marine radio or satellite phone and develop response plans within your group or with Parks Canada personnel. Be sure to note Emergency Contact Numbers before your visit.

Hikers on sand beach Hiking up Bald Dune

When travelling away from the Main Station area, you should carry dry clothing in a waterproof pack. Please be aware of hazards in the terrain:
• Quicksand, salt-water slush, and ice covered water
• Flood conditions
• Uneven terrain, unstable ground, and steep slopes
• Flotsam and jetsam, litter and debris on the beach
• Unstable banks and temporary drainage rivers

Considérations importantes

Tout environnement naturel peut être dangereux si vous n’êtes pas préparé. C’est particulièrement vrai à l’île de Sable, un emplacement extrêmement isolé. Les services commerciaux, municipaux et médicaux auxquels les visiteurs sont habitués n’y sont pas offerts. La nature de l’endroit fait en sorte que des conditions périlleuses sont fréquemment présentes. Les visiteurs doivent donc être particulièrement prudents.

Médicaments

Si vous prenez des médicaments, assurez-vous d’en apporter une quantité suffisante pour la durée de votre visite et prévoyez des quantités supplémentaires en cas de retard imprévu. Si vous ou un membre de votre groupe souffrez d’allergies, vous devez apporter vos propres médicaments et les garder avec vous en tout temps.

Terrain

Lorsque vous arrivez à l’île de Sable, vous pouvez vous informer des risques connus ou temporaires auprès du personnel de Parcs Canada. Assurez-vous que quelqu’un sur l’île connaisse vos projets de déplacement, y compris l’heure de départ, la route empruntée et l’heure de retour prévue. Il est prudent d’emporter une radio maritime ou un téléphone satellite et de prévoir un plan d’intervention avec votre groupe ou le personnel de Parcs Canada (voir la section sur les coordonnées en cas d’urgence).

Randonneurs sur la sable Randonnée sur la dune chauve

Si vous vous éloignez du secteur de la station principale, il est conseillé d’emporter des vêtements secs dans un sac à l’épreuve de l’eau. Soyez conscient des dangers que présente le terrain :
• Sables mouvants, bouillie de glace et eau couverte de glace
• Inondations
• Terrain accidenté, sol instable et fortes pentes
• Débris jetés à la mer et échoués sur la plage
• Berges instables et canaux de drainage temporarires