You are responsible for your own safety. Parks Canada can help you prepare by providing you with trip planning information. Remember, a safe visit is a good visit.

Please begin with the tips below. You can contact us with any questions about conditions on the island.

When you arrive on the island, Parks Canada staff will provide you with a welcome and orientation.

Parks Canada is working closely with our federal partners, including Environment Canada and the Canadian Coast Guard, to ensure the safety of visitors and staff on at Sable Island National Park Reserve.

We rarely head out for an outdoor adventure with the expectation that something will go wrong, and most times everything will go right. However, sometimes the unexpected happens and when it does, it’s important that you are well informed and well prepared to minimize the negative impact of unfortunate circumstances.

For general information on how to stay safe and a list of the 10 essential items you should bring when enjoying the outdoors visit www.adventuresmart.ca

For important information about staying safe while enjoying Sable Island National Park Reserve, see the topics below.

Wildlife

All animals on Sable Island are wild animals, including the horses. Please do not feed, approach, or harass wildlife. Seals, horses, nesting birds, and sharks can all pose risks to your safety if you do not respect them as wildlife.

Severe weather

Located in the North Atlantic, Sable Island can be subject to severe weather conditions. It is advised to bring a variety of clothing and equipment to be prepared for various weather conditions.

Travelling by air and sea

Landing on Sable Island, either by aircraft or boat poses some hazards given the variability in landing conditions and weather.

Visiting a remote location

With the possibility of travel delays, hazards in the terrain (including quicksand, steep slopes, etc.) and limited medical response on the island, it is possible for minor medical concerns to become life-threatening situations.

Safety is everyone’s responsibility. At Parks Canada, we do our part to make sure you can have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and making sure that safety information is freely available to everyone. You can do your part as visitors by making sure you seek out the information you need to stay safe and make well informed decisions while enjoying these special places. Visit our websites and stop at a visitor center to speak with our employees for the most up to date information. Make sure you are fully prepared for whatever activities you choose to participate in so you can have a safe, enjoyable and memorable visit.

Emergency contact numbers if you are on or near Sable Island:

In case of an emergency on the island you may be conscripted to assist Parks Canada personnel with a response.

In a first aid situation, you should advise the Operations Coordinator or other Main Station personnel immediately, and administer first aid as required and as you are able.

In case of a structural fire on the island, or upon hearing a fire alarm, there are marked muster points at the Main Station where you should gather and wait in safety until direction from the Operations Coordinator. If you detect a fire, you should sound the fire alarm and evacuate the building and contact the Operations Coordinator.

On-island Operations Coordinator:

  • Call 902-492-4678 from a regular phone, satellite phone, or by using the phones accessible to visitors on the island. 
  • Or use Channel 08 on Marine Radio VHF-FM

For distress call (Air or marine emergency):
Near Sable Island; call 1-800-565-1582 (Joint Rescue Coordination Centre)
On Sable Island; call 1-800-852-3100 (Parks Canada Dispatch)

For an environmental emergency (marine pollution):
1-800-565-1633 (Canadian Coast Guard Communications and Traffic Services Centre)

Vous êtes responsable de votre propre sécurité. Parcs Canada peut vous aider à vous préparer en vous fournissant de l’information pour planifier votre voyage. N’oubliez pas qu’une visite sécuritaire est une bonne visite.

Commencez par prendre connaissance des conseils ci-dessous. Vous pouvez communiquer avec nous si vous avez des questions à propos des conditions sur l’île.

À votre arrivée sur l’île, le personnel de Parcs Canada vous accueillera et vous fournira une orientation.

Parcs Canada collabore étroitement avec ses partenaires fédéraux, y compris Environnement Canada et la Garde côtière canadienne, pour assurer la sécurité des visiteurs et du personnel dans la réserve de parc national de l’île-de-Sable.

Nous entreprenons rarement une aventure de plein air en pensant que les choses vont mal tourner et la plupart du temps, tout se passe bien. Cependant, il arrive que des situations inattendues se produisent et le cas échéant, il est important d'être bien informé et bien préparé pour minimiser les impacts négatifs liés à des circonstances malheureuses.

Pour obtenir de l'information générale sur la façon de demeurer en sécurité en pratiquant des activités à l'extérieur, consultez le site https://www.adventuresmart.ca/french/

Pour obtenir de l'information importante sur la façon de demeurer en sécurité en visitant la Réserve de parc national de l'Île de Sable, veuillez parcourir les sujets ci-dessous :

Animaux sauvages

Tous les animaux de l’île de Sable sont des animaux sauvages, y compris les chevaux. Vous ne devez pas vous approcher des animaux, les déranger ni les nourrir. Les phoques, chevaux, oiseaux nicheurs et requins peuvent tous présenter des risques pour votre sécurité si vous ne respectez pas le fait qu’il s’agit d’animaux sauvages.

Temps violent

Située dans l’Atlantique Nord, l’île de Sable peut être sujette à de fortes intempéries. Nous vous conseillons d’apporter une gamme de vêtements et d’équipement adaptée à diverses conditions météorologiques.

Transport aérien et maritime

L’atterrissage ou le débarquement sur l’île, selon que vous voyagez par avion ou par bateau, présentent certains dangers, étant donné la variabilité des conditions et de la météo.

Visiter un emplacement isolé

Vu la possibilité que les déplacements soient retardés, un terrain accidenté (sables mouvants, fortes pentes, etc.) et le peu de services médicaux offerts sur l’île, il peut arriver que des ennuis de santé mineurs empirent au point de mettre votre vie en danger.

La sécurité est l'affaire de tous. À Parcs Canada, nous fournissons notre part d'efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information librement accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous assurant d'obtenir l'information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des décisions éclairées, tout en appréciant ces lieux exceptionnels. Visitez nos sites Web et arrêtez-vous à un centre d'accueil pour parler à nos employés et pour obtenir l'information la plus récente. Pour vous assurer d'une visite sécuritaire, favorable et mémorable, vous devez être bien préparé avant d'entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer.

Contacts en cas d’urgence
En cas d’urgence sur l’île, vous pourriez être appelé à aider le personnel de Parcs Canada à intervenir.

Si des premiers soins sont nécessaires, avisez immédiatement le coordonnateur des opérations ou un autre membre du personnel de la station principale et administrez les soins nécessaires, dans la mesure de vos capacités.

En cas de feu de bâtiment sur l’île, ou si vous entendez une alarme d’incendie, il y a des points de rassemblement indiqués à la station centrale où vous devez vous rendre pour attendre les consignes du coordonnateur des opérations en toute sécurité. Si vous détectez un incendie, faites sonner l’alarme, évacuez le bâtiment et communiquez avec le coordonnateur des opérations.

Coordonnateur des opérations sur l’île :

  • Appelez au 902-492-4678 à partir de votre téléphone, un téléphone satellite ou un des téléphones mis à disposition des visiteurs sur l'île. 
  • Utilisez le canal 08 de la radio maritime VHF-FM

Appel de détresse (aérien ou maritime) :
Près de l'île de Sable; appelez le 1-800-565-1582 (Centre conjoint de coordination de sauvetage (JRCC)) 
Sur l'ïle de Sable; appelez le 1-800-852-3100 (Parcs Canada)   

Urgence environnementale (pollution maritime) :
Services de communications et de trafic maritimes de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC)
1-800-565-1633