A new exclosure study by Parks Canada and the Sable Island Institute will help us better understand the role of horses on the ecosystems of Sable Island National Park Reserve.

Temporary fences will create exclosures to keep horses from walking through or grazing in nine small areas on the island. Scientists will measure and compare a number of key ecological attributes inside the exclosures and outside in control sites (similar areas but without fences). The goal of the study is to understand direct and/or indirect influences of horses on:

  1. Dune processes (like erosion).
  2. Ecological integrity of freshwater ponds, including rare plants, water quality, and invertebrates.
  3. Rare species and their habitats, including Roseate terns, Ipswich Sparrows and rare or endemic insects. This includes observing changes in plant and soil characteristics.
 Dune processes (like erosion)
Freshwater ponds
Rare species and their habitats

How many horses are there on Sable Island?

Since their protection in 1961, the horse population has been steadily increasing with the population fluctuating between 450 and 550 in recent years. Parks Canada considers the Sable Island horses part of the island’s ecosystem and, as such, protects them as wildlife under the Canada National Parks Act and the National Parks Wildlife Regulations. This important work will enable Parks Canada to deliver on its commitments to maintain ecological integrity at Sable Island National Park Reserve.

Are the fences safe for horses? 

Electric fences are regularly used for horses and are designed to startle, not harm the animals. After consulting with experts in the field, electric fences were deemed to be the safest. The fences will be checked regularly to ensure the safety of horses.

How big are the exclosures?

There will be nine fenced exclosures. Each exclosure will be one hectare.  This represents 0.6% of the total vegetated portion of the island. Three smaller ponds will be exclosed. This represents approximately 5% of the fresh water reserves.

Could these exclosures limit the amount of food available to the horses? 

The horses do not live and breed in a tame condition or depend on humankind for survival. The horses feed primarily on the abundant marram, or beach grass, that covers a third of the island’s surface, and supplement their food intake by eating various other plants, such as beach pea, sandwort, and even some algae that washes up on the beach.
The exclosures represent a very small fraction (0.6%) of the vegetated portion of the island. Currently, there is no indication that forage is limiting for the horses, as their abundance has been steadily increasing since 1961.

Pond exclosure locations were selected in areas where other nearby ponds exist to provide an alternate source of water. As part of this project, three smaller ponds will be exclosed which represents approximately 5% of the fresh water reserves. Horses will have access to water from the many other ponds, from wells that they dig themselves, and from the abundant standing water in the wetter seasons.

How long will the exclosures remain in place?

Researchers will survey the exclosure sites prior to fence construction to establish a baseline and then monitor the exclosures for four years.

A Parks Canada Conservation and Restoration (CoRe) program

The Fences in the Sand project is part of the Parks Canada Conservation and Restoration (CoRe) program. The Government of Canada provides a federal investment of $15 million annually to support high priority projects that make a difference on the ground in maintaining or restoring ecological integrity and helping in the recovery of species at risk.

Une nouvelle étude sur les exclos réalisée par Parcs Canada et le Sable Island Institute nous aidera à mieux comprendre le rôle des chevaux dans les écosystèmes de la réserve de parc national de l’Île-de-Sable.

Des clôtures temporaires créeront des exclos pour empêcher les chevaux de passer ou de paître dans neuf petites zones de l’île. Les scientifiques mesureront et compareront un certain nombre d’attributs écologiques clés à l’intérieur des exclos et à l’extérieur de ces derniers, dans des sites de contrôle (des zones similaires, mais dépourvues de clôtures). L’étude a pour but de déterminer les répercussions directes et indirectes des chevaux sur : 

  1. les processus dunaires (comme l’érosion);
  2. l’intégrité écologique des étangs d’eau douce (plantes rares, qualité de l’eau, invertébrés);
  3. les espèces rares (sterne de Dougall, bruant des prés, insectes rares ou endémiques) et leurs habitats. Les changements dans les caractéristiques des plantes et du sol seront notamment observés.
Les processus dunaires (comme l’érosion)
Les étangs d’eau douce
Les espèces rares et leurs habitats

Combien de chevaux y a-t-il sur l’île de Sable? 

Depuis les mesures de protection prises en 1961, la population de chevaux a constamment augmenté, et elle a fluctué entre 450 et 550 individus ces dernières années. Parcs Canada considère que les chevaux de l’île de Sable font partie de l’écosystème de l’île et, à ce titre, assure leur protection comme animaux sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et du Règlement sur la faune des parcs nationaux. Ce travail important permettra à Parcs Canada de respecter ses engagements en matière de maintien de l’intégrité écologique de la réserve de parc national de l’Île-de-Sable. 

Les clôtures sont-elles sécuritaires pour les chevaux? 

Les clôtures électriques sont couramment utilisées pour limiter les déplacements des chevaux et sont conçues pour effaroucher les animaux et non les blesser. Après avoir consulté des experts, on a jugé que les clôtures électriques étaient l’option la plus sûre. Les clôtures seront inspectées régulièrement pour assurer la sécurité des chevaux. 

Quelle est la taille des exclos? 

Il y aura neuf exclos clôturés. Chaque exclos fera un hectare. Les exclos occuperont 0,6 % de la partie végétalisée de l’île. Trois petits étangs y seront inclus. Ces étangs représentent environ 5 % des réserves d’eau douce.

Ces exclos pourraient-ils limiter la quantité de nourriture disponible pour les chevaux? 

Les chevaux ne vivent pas et ne se reproduisent pas dans un milieu domestiqué et ne dépendent pas des humains pour leur survie. Ils se nourrissent principalement d’ammophiles, qui poussent en abondance et couvrent le tiers de la surface de l’île. Ils complètent leur alimentation avec diverses autres plantes, comme la gesse maritime, la sabline et même certaines algues rejetées sur la plage.

Les exclos représentent une très petite fraction (0,6 %) de la partie végétalisée de l’île. Actuellement, rien n’indique que le fourrage soit un facteur limitatif pour les chevaux, car leur population n’a cessé d’augmenter depuis 1961.

Les étangs qui seront inclus dans les exclos se trouvent dans des zones où d’autres étangs proches fournissent une seconde source d’eau. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on en a sélectionné trois, qui représentent environ 5 % des réserves d’eau douce. Les chevaux auront accès à l’eau des nombreux autres étangs, des puits qu’ils creusent eux-mêmes et de l’eau stagnante abondante pendant les saisons humides.

Combien de temps les exclos resteront-ils en place? 

Les chercheurs étudieront les sites d’exclos avant la construction des clôtures afin d’établir les données de référence, puis surveilleront les exclos pendant quatre ans.

Une initiative du programme de conservation et de restauration (CoRe) de Parcs Canada

Le projet Barrières dans le sable fait partie du programme de conservation et de restauration de Parcs Canada (CoRe). Le gouvernement du Canada verse annuellement 15 millions de dollars afin de soutenir les projets hautement prioritaires qui contribuent, sur le terrain, à la conservation ou à la restauration de l’intégrité écologique, ainsi qu’à la durabilité écologique et au rétablissement des espèces en péril.