The Southwest Nova Biosphere Reserve, which includes Kejimkujik, contains over three-quarters of Nova Scotia’s species listed under the federal Species at Risk Act and/or Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and the provincial Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act. This makes this area one of Canada’s biodiversity hotspots with many species found nowhere else in Canada! A vast watershed of lakes, rivers, and wetlands contributes to this biological productivity.

Species at risk in Kejimkujik and Kejimkujik Seaside

Information on the recovery programs of some of these species can be found below.

Species at risk in Kejimkujik and Kejimkujik Seaside
Endangered Threatened Special Concern
You can help!

Park staff, researchers and volunteers are involved with hands-on research and recovery efforts to help these species. Find out how you can get involved and make a difference.


Blanding’s turtle

Blanding's turtle hatchling
Blanding's turtle hatchling
Adult Blanding's turtle
Adult Blanding's turtle
© Mersey Tobeatic Research Institute

The Blanding’s turtle, Kejimkujik’s rarest turtle, is a medium sized turtle with a distinctive dome shaped shell covered with yellow flecks and a bright yellow chin and neck. There are currently four small recognized populations of Blanding’s turtles in Nova Scotia, including one in Kejimkujik. 

Park staff, researchers and volunteers monitor nesting habitat and protect turtle nests with exclosures, watch the nests for emerging hatchings in the fall and radio-track and perform visual surveys throughout the summer.

 

Piping Plover

Piping Plover
Piping Plover
Piping Plover nest with eggs
Piping Plover nest with eggs

The piping plover is a small, lightly coloured shorebird with a single dark neckband. It lays four eggs directly on the sand in a small nest scrape that blends in perfectly with the sand and seashells.

The Piping Plover nests throughout Atlantic Canada, including Kejimkujik Seaside’s St. Catherines River Beach. This beach is closed from April to August to give plovers the space to raise their young.

Staff and volunteers monitor plover pairs, assist with research projects, and help restore nesting habitat.

 

American Marten

American Marten
American Marten
American Marten monitoring at Kejimkujik
American Marten monitoring at Kejimkujik

The American Marten, or Pine Marten, is a native species to Nova Scotia. At one time it would have been common in the older coniferous forests in the province, but is currently a provincially endangered species. It is part of the mustelid family (weasel family) and is a very smart, very efficient predator – so much so that martens actually even have time to play! Its favorite habitat is old-growth conifer stands, like we have at Kejimkujik, but in Nova Scotia, these places are becoming rarer and rarer.

Martens were heavily trapped for their fur throughout the 19th century. By the 1930s they were thought to be eliminated from mainland Nova Scotia. The species was re-introduced to Kejimkujik in the late 1980s (from New Brunswick) by Parks Canada and the Canadian Wildlife Service. However, martens are pretty elusive and although staff and visitors do report some marten sightings every year, we don’t really have the information we need to know how the population is doing. Some monitoring has been done over the years using photographic bait stations, hair snag traps, and winter snow tracking. Most recently, we are using remote cameras at bait stations, but so far, we haven’t seen any martens on camera!

The American Marten is still a provincially endangered species and its current population status is unknown. More information could help us determine its current status. For example, can it be downgraded to a threatened species? Right now we don’t have scientific evidence, only anecdotal evidence. Ultimately, better knowing the success of the release program will inform our own management as well as help other agencies with their resource management programs.

 

Eastern Ribbonsnake

Eastern Ribbonsnake
Eastern Ribbonsnake

The Eastern Ribbonsnake is a slender, aquatic snake with three bright yellow stripes running from head to tail which contrasts against its jet-black body. It is one of five species of snake in Nova Scotia, none of which are venomous. In the mid-1990s, Grafton Lake was lowered by 2 metres when an old dam was removed. This newly created habitat appears to be a hot spot for ribbonsnake activity in Kejimkujik.

Staff, researchers and volunteers perform visual surveys for ribbonsnakes in the park in the spring, summer and fall. A project in partnership with Dalhousie University involves testing the ability of “sniffer dogs” or “conservation canines” to detect ribbonsnakes in wetland habitat where it is hard to visually spot them. These research projects will help improve the knowledge surrounding this elusive species.

 

Water-pennywort & Long’s Bulrush

Water-pennywort floating on top of the water like a lily pad
Water-pennywort floating on top of the water like a lily pad
Water-pennywort and flower
Water-pennywort and flower
Long's Bulrush
Long's Bulrush

These special species are part of a group of plants called Atlantic Coastal Plain Flora (ACPF), which are a unique group of unrelated plants that are found along the flat land of the Atlantic Coast from Florida to Nova Scotia. There are 90 species of ACPF in Nova Scotia.

Water-pennywort is found on only three lakes in all of Canada, including Kejimkujik Lake. It can be found floating on the top of the lake like a lily pad or standing erect in shallow water. Water-pennywort is monitored annually on Kejimkujik Lake in August by park staff and volunteers.

Shoreline surveys are also currently being conducted by expert botanists, researchers and volunteers around the entire perimeter of Kejimkujik Lake to inventory all the ACPF species along the shoreline. During these surveys in 2011, Long’s Bulrush was first discovered in the park. This globally rare species grows in circular colonies that can be 5-10 m wide and it can live to be 400 years old. 

 

Monarch Butterfly

Monarch Butterfly
Monarch Butterfly

The Monarch Butterfly is bright orange with heavy black veins and white spots. It makes a long-distance migration to Mexico each year. Female Monarchs lay their eggs only on milkweed plants and the caterpillars eat only milkweed leaves before their transformation into chrysalis and finally into butterfly. In summer, the Kejimkujik Visitor Centre features a butterfly garden and a Monarch exhibit.

The "Butterfly Club" was created to encourage people to create chemical-free habitat for the Monarch Butterfly by planting swamp milkweed and native wildflowers on their properties and in their communities. Butterfly Club kits come complete with two swamp milkweed plants, tips on planting butterfly gardens, information on the Monarch Butterfly and more! Club kits can be purchased at the By the Mersey Gift Shop at the Kejimkujik Visitor Centre and at the Mersey Tobeatic Research Institute.

 

American Eel

American Eel
American Eel

The American Eel is a fascinating species with a complex life history and migration. Young eels hatch from eggs in the Sargasso Sea and after a period of time enter freshwater lakes and streams where they will spend the remainder of their life until they are ready to return to the Sargasso Sea and spawn.

 

Learn more:

Species at Risk Act

Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act

Species at Risk in Nova Scotia: Identification and Information Guide

Atlantic Coastal Plain Flora in Nova Scotia: Identification and Information Guide

Butterfly Club – Mersey Tobeatic Research Institute

Simple actions landowners can take to help species at risk - Mersey Tobeatic Research Institute

La Réserve de la biosphère de Southwest Nova, qui comprend Kejimkujik, abrite plus des trois quarts des espèces en péril de la Nouvelle-Écosse inscrites dans la Loi sur les espèces en péril du gouvernement fédéral ou reconnues comme espèces « en péril » par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et la Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act. Cette région est donc considérée comme un point chaud de la biodiversité au Canada, car elle comprend des espèces qu’on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs au pays! Un vaste bassin hydrographique composé de lacs, de rivières et de milieux humides contribue à cette productivité biologique.

Les espèces en péril au parc national Kejimkujik et à Kejimkujik Bord de mer

Des renseignements sur les programmes de rétablissement de certaines de ces espèces sont présentés ci-dessous.

Les espèces en péril au parc national Kejimkujik et à Kejimkujik Bord de mer
Espèces en voie de disparition Espèces menacées Espèces préoccupantes
Vous pouvez aider!

Le personnel du parc, les chercheurs et les bénévoles participent à des efforts de recherche et de rétablissement de ces espèces. Participez, vous aussi, et changez les choses.


La tortue mouchetée

Jeune tortue mouchetée
Jeune tortue mouchetée
Tortue mouchetée adulte
Tortue mouchetée adulte
© Mersey Tobeatic Research Institute

La tortue mouchetée est la tortue la plus rare au parc national Kejimkujik. Elle est de taille moyenne et se distingue par une carapace bombée mouchetée de jaune, ainsi qu'un menton et un cou jaune vif. Il existe actuellement quatre petites populations reconnues de tortues mouchetées en Nouvelle-Écosse, dont l’une à Kejimkujik.

Le personnel du parc, les chercheurs et les bénévoles surveillent l'habitat de nidification et protègent les nids de tortues à l’aide d’exclos en juin. À l’automne, ils observent les nids pour repérer les œufs éclos, et tout au long de l'été, ils suivent les tortues par radiotélémétrie et effectuent des relevés visuels.

 

Le pluvier siffleur

Le pluvier siffleur
Le pluvier siffleur
Nid du pluvier siffleur avec œufs
Nid du pluvier siffleur avec œufs

Le pluvier siffleur est un petit oiseau de rivage de couleur pâle et au col foncé. Il pond quatre œufs directement sur le sable, dans un petit nid gratté à la surface du sol qui se fond parfaitement avec le sable.

Le pluvier siffleur niche dans tout le Canada atlantique, y compris sur la plage de la rivière St. Catherines, à Kejimkujik Bord de mer. Cette plage est fermée d'avril à août afin de donner au pluvier l'espace nécessaire pour élever ses petits.

Le personnel du parc et les bénévoles surveillent les couples de pluviers, fournissent de l'aide lors de projets de recherche et contribuent au rétablissement de l'habitat de nidification.

 

La martre d’Amérique

La martre d’Amérique
La martre d’Amérique
Surveillance de la martre d'Amérique à Kejimkujik
Surveillance de la martre d'Amérique à Kejimkujik

La martre d’Amérique ou la martre des pins est une espèce indigène de la Nouvelle Écosse. À un moment donné, elle était courante dans les vieilles forêts de conifères de la province, mais est actuellement une espèce en voie de disparition à l’échelle provinciale. Elle fait partie de la famille des mustélidés (belettes), prédateur très intelligent et très efficace – à un tel point qu’elle a même le temps de jouer! Son habitat préféré se trouve dans les massifs de conifères matures, comme nous en avons à Kejimkujik, mais en Nouvelle Écosse, ces endroits sont de plus en plus rares.

Les martres ont été fortement piégées pour leur fourrure tout au long du 19e siècle et, dans les années 1930, on pensait qu'elles avaient été éliminées de la Nouvelle-Écosse continentale. L'espèce a été réintroduite à Kejimkujik à la fin des années 1980 (du Nouveau-Brunswick) par Parcs Canada et le Service canadien de la faune; cependant, les martres sont insaisissables et même si le personnel et les visiteurs rapportent en avoir vu chaque année, nous n’avons pas les renseignements nécessaires pour connaître l’état de leur population. Au fil des ans, nous les surveillons à l’aide de points d’appât munis d’appareil photo, de pièges à fourrure, et de pistage dans la neige. Plus récemment, nous avons commencé une nouvelle étude pour laquelle des appareils-photo à déclenchement par télécommande ont été utilisés à un point d’appât. Jusqu'à présent, cependant, nous n'avons pas obtenu de photos d'une martre!

La martre d’Amérique est encore une espèce en voie de disparition à l’échelle provinciale et l’état de sa population actuelle est inconnu. Il nous faudra plus de renseignements pour nous aider à déterminer ce qu’il en est de leur état actuel. Par exemple, pourrait elle passer à une espèce menacée? Pour le moment, nous n’avons pas de preuve scientifique, seulement des données non scientifiques. En fin de compte, les résultats du programme d’intervention nous guideront dans notre gestion et aideront d’autres organismes à gérer leurs programmes de gestion des ressources.

 

La couleuvre mince

La couleuvre mince
La couleuvre mince

La couleuvre mince est un serpent aquatique élancé parcouru sur toute sa longueur de trois bandes jaunes distinctives qui contrastent avec le noir de son corps. C'est l’une des cinq espèces de couleuvres vivant en Nouvelle-Écosse; aucune de ces espèces n'est venimeuse. Au milieu des années 1990, lors de la démolition d'un vieux barrage, le niveau d'eau du lac Grafton a baissé de deux mètres. Cette baisse a créé un nouvel habitat qui semble être l'endroit par excellence pour les couleuvres minces de Kejimkujik.

Le personnel du parc, les chercheurs et les bénévoles effectuent des relevés visuels de la couleuvre mince dans le parc, au printemps, à l'été et à l'automne. Un projet mené en partenariat avec l'Université Dalhousie vise à tester la capacité de chiens renifleurs à trouver des couleuvres minces en milieu humide, où il est difficile de les repérer à l'œil nu. Ces projets de recherche permettront d'améliorer les connaissances entourant cette espèce fugace.

 

L'hydrocotyle à ombelle et le scirpe de Long

L'hydrocotyle à ombelle flottant à la surface du lac comme un nénuphar
L'hydrocotyle à ombelle flottant à la surface du lac comme un nénuphar
L'hydrocotyle à ombelle avec fleur
L'hydrocotyle à ombelle avec fleur
Le scirpe de Long
Le scirpe de Long

Ces espèces spéciales font partie de la Flore de la plaine côtière de l’Atlantique (FPCA), un groupe unique de plantes distinctes qui poussent sur une bande de terre plutôt plate longeant la côte de l’Atlantique, depuis la Floride jusqu’à la Nouvelle-Écosse. On compte 90 espèces de la FPCA en Nouvelle-Écosse.

L’hydrocotyle à ombelle pousse uniquement dans trois lacs au Canada, dont un est le lac Kejimkujik. On peut l'apercevoir, flottant à la surface du lac comme un nénuphar ou émergeant des eaux peu profondes. L'hydrocotyle à ombelle est surveillée chaque année en août au lac Kejimkujik par le personnel du parc et les bénévoles.

En outre, des botanistes chevronnés, des chercheurs et des bénévoles effectuent des relevés sur les rives du lac Kejimkujik afin de dénombrer toutes les espèces de la FPCA le long de la côte. En 2011, ces relevés ont permis de découvrir le scirpe de Long pour la première fois dans le parc. Cette espèce rare à l’échelle de la planète forme de grandes colonies circulaires qui peuvent atteindre 5 à 10 m de large et vivre jusqu'à 400 ans.

 

Le monarque

Le monarque
Le monarque

Le monarque est un papillon aux ailes orange striées de veines noires et tachetées de blanc. Il migre au Mexique chaque année. Les femelles pondent leurs œufs uniquement sur l'asclépiade et les chenilles se nourrissent exclusivement des feuilles de cette plante, avant de se transformer en chrysalide, puis en papillon. En été, le Centre d'accueil de Kejimkujik présente un jardin à papillons et une exposition sur le monarque.

Le « Club des papillons » a été formé pour inciter les gens à créer un habitat exempt de produits chimiques pour le monarque en plantant de l'asclépiade commune et des fleurs sauvages indigènes sur leurs propriétés et dans leurs collectivités. La trousse du Club des papillons comprend deux plants d'asclépiade commune, des conseils sur l'aménagement d'un jardin à papillons, des renseignements sur le monarque et plus encore! Vous pouvez acheter votre trousse à la boutique de cadeaux By the Mersey au Centre d'accueil de Kejimkujik et au Mersey Tobeatic Research Institute.

 

L'anguille d’Amérique

L'anguille d’Amérique
L'anguille d’Amérique

L'anguille d’Amérique est une espèce fascinante, dont le cycle biologique et la migration sont complexes. Ses œufs éclosent dans la mer des Sargasses et, après un certain temps, les jeunes anguilles atteignent les lacs et les ruisseaux d'eau douce, où elles passent le reste de leur vie, jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient prêtes à retourner frayer dans la mer des Sargasses.

 

Apprenez plus:

Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada

Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act (en anglais seulement)

Espèces en péril en Nouvelle-Écosse, Guide d'identification et d'information

La Flore de la plaine côtière de l’Atlantique en Nouvelle-Écosse, Guide d'identification et d'information

Butterfly Club – Mersey Tobeatic Research Institute (en anglais seulement)

Simple actions landowners can take to help species at risk - Mersey Tobeatic Research Institute (en anglais seulement)