The setting

Kejimkujik National Park – Seaside, on the Atlantic coast, protects a unique diversity of coastal habitats and communities in close proximity to each other. Two highly productive lagoon estuaries, at St. Catherine’s River beach and Little Port Joli beach, provide a rich diversity of invertebrates which feed resident and migratory birds and supports commercial and non-commercial marine species.


Operation Green Crab at Kejimkujik National Park Seaside 

The situation

Parks Canada and partners began to realize in 2007 that the health of the coastal estuary ecosystem had declined rapidly over a very short period of time. Something was going on under the water, something that was affecting marine plants and animals, but most noticeably, the eel grass. Eelgrass coverage in the Port Joli estuary dropped dramatically: by 2010, only 2% of the baseline (1987) levels remained.

A comparison of eelgrass distribution at Little Port Joli estuary: 1987 to 2015 A comparison of eelgrass distribution at Little Port Joli estuary: 1987, 2010, and 2015
© Parks Canada

The predator

A hyper-abundant population of invasive European green crab had arrived.

European green crab European green crab
© Parks Canada

Green crabs originally arrived in Nova Scotia through a northward migration from the Eastern United States. The species originated in Europe and North Africa and was introduced to local waters in the 1980s, likely due to travelling crabs hidden in ships’ ballast waters. The green crab is a hearty species, with a high tolerance for our cooler Atlantic waters.




The victims

Eelgrass Eelgrass
© Parks Canada

Eelgrass performs important ecological services in nearshore waters and is often referred to as a ‘keystone species’ due to its ability to enhance biodiversity and productivity in dense underwater meadows. Eelgrass beds provide nursery habitat for the juvenile stages of fish and invertebrates, including many commercially important species in Atlantic Canada.

One species very clearly impacted by the damage to the Seaside eelgrass was the soft-shell clam, normally found in abundance in these waters. Young clams should outnumber their older counterparts by 10,000 to 1. At Kejimkujik Seaside, these numbers were reversed, with the older clams outnumbering the younger ones. Parks Canada staff also saw a decline in shore birds because the green crab was decimating the soft-shell clams that they feed on.

The showdown

Through local partnership, creativity and sheer volunteer power, Parks Canada is reversing the devastation and restoring the ecosystem.

Parks Canada has been working to curb the damage done by the green crabs by removing them from coastal waters. This work is done by hand, using a traditional rowboat and innovative traps designed by local fishers. Almost 2 million green crabs have been removed by Parks Canada staff and volunteers using these methods since 2010! The same dedicated team is re-planting eelgrass in areas where the crabs have been removed.

Parks Canada and its partners have continued to gain approximately 10% yearly in eelgrass coverage in Little Port Joli Estuary since 2010. Monitoring in 2015 shows a very impressive return to 34% eelgrass coverage and staff are starting to see Canada Geese and native marine invertebrates again in numbers that haven't been observed at the Seaside in a decade.

Parks Canada staff remove green crabs from Kejimkujik Seaside Parks Canada staff remove green crabs from Kejimkujik Seaside
© Parks Canada

Join the supporting cast!

This summer, visitors will not only have the opportunity to learn about these restoration efforts, but they will “get their hands dirty” and make a difference with our new scientourism offering, Gone Crabbin’. Visitors will be able to take a boat into areas of the park never before seen by visitors, find and empty green crab traps, and record catch data alongside Parks Canada ecologists.

Visitors record catch data alongside Parks Canada ecologists Visitors record catch data alongside Parks Canada ecologists
© Parks Canada

Le cadre

Le secteur Kejimkujik Bord de mer, sur la côte de l’Atlantique, protège une diversité exceptionnelle de communautés et de milieux côtiers très proches les uns des autres. Deux estuaires hautement fertiles, l’un bordant la plage de la rivière St. Catherines, et l’autre, la plage Little Port Joli, abritent une riche diversité d’invertébrés qui servent de proies aux oiseaux résidents et aux oiseaux migrateurs ainsi qu’à tout un éventail d’espèces marines commerciales et non commerciales.


Opération crabe vert au parc national Kejimkujik Bord de mer

La situation

En 2007, Parcs Canada et ses partenaires se sont rendu compte que l’état de santé de l’écosystème des estuaires côtiers s’était rapidement détérioré sur une très courte période. Il se passait quelque chose sous l’eau; une menace pesait sur les plantes et les animaux marins, surtout sur les herbiers de zostère marine. Les superficies occupées par la zostère dans l’estuaire Port Joli avaient diminué de façon très marquée : en 2010, il ne restait plus que 2 % des herbiers de zostère correspondant aux niveaux de référence (1987).

Comparaison de la répartition de la zostère dans l’estuaire Little Port Joli : 1987, 2010 et 2016 Comparaison de la répartition de la zostère dans l’estuaire Little Port Joli : 1987, 2010 et 2016
© Parcs Canada


Le prédateur

Une population surabondante de crabes verts, une espèce envahissante, avait colonisé les eaux du secteur.

Crabe vert Crabe vert
© Parcs Canada

Le crabe vert est apparu en Nouvelle-Écosse après avoir migré de l’Est des États-Unis. Issu d’Europe et d’Afrique du Nord, il a été introduit dans les eaux locales au cours des années 1980, probablement par les eaux de lest des navires. Le crabe vert est une espèce robuste qui tolère très bien les eaux froides de l’Atlantique.




Les victimes

Zostère marine Zostère marine
© Parcs Canada

La zostère marine rend des services écologiques importants dans les eaux littorales. Elle est souvent considérée comme une « espèce clé » en raison de sa capacité d’enrichir la biodiversité et d’accroître la productivité dans des herbiers denses. La zostère sert de pouponnière à des invertébrés et à de jeunes poissons, dont de nombreuses espèces commerciales importantes pour la région de l’Atlantique.

Les dommages causés à la zostère ont manifestement eu de graves effets sur la mye commune, normalement présente en grand nombre dans ces eaux. Il devrait généralement y avoir 10 000 jeunes myes pour chaque adulte. Dans le secteur Kejimkujik Bord de mer, ces chiffres étaient inversés, les myes adultes étant bien plus nombreuses que les jeunes. Le personnel de Parcs Canada a également observé une baisse du nombre d’oiseaux de rivage, parce que le crabe vert était en train de décimer les myes communes qui leur servent habituellement de proies.

La bataille décisive

Grâce à un partenariat local, à une bonne dose de créativité et à la puissance du bénévolat, Parcs Canada efface peu à peu les traces de la dévastation et rétablit l’écosystème.

Parcs Canada s’emploie à réduire les dommages en retirant les crabes verts des eaux côtières. Il effectue ce travail à la main, en utilisant une chaloupe traditionnelle et des casiers innovateurs conçus par des pêcheurs locaux. Avec ces méthodes, le personnel et les bénévoles ont déjà retiré des eaux près de deux millions de crabes verts depuis 2010! La même équipe dévouée s’affaire maintenant à replanter de la zostère dans les eaux où le crabe est maintenant absent.

Chaque année depuis 2010, Parcs Canada et ses partenaires rétablissent la zostère sur environ 10 % de sa superficie originale dans l’estuaire Little Port Joli. Les travaux de surveillance effectués en 2015 révèlent un taux de rétablissement très impressionnant de 34 % de la superficie originale des herbiers. En outre, le personnel assiste maintenant au retour de la bernache du Canada et de divers invertébrés marins indigènes, qui n’ont jamais été aussi nombreux dans le secteur Kejimkujik Bord de mer depuis une bonne décennie.

Des membres du personnel de Parcs Canada en train d’enlever des crabes verts des eaux du secteur Kejimkujik Bord de mer Des membres du personnel de Parcs Canada en train d’enlever des crabes verts des eaux du secteur Kejimkujik Bord de mer
© Parcs Canada

Joignez-vous aux acteurs de soutien!

Cet été, les visiteurs auront la chance non seulement de se renseigner sur ces travaux de remise en état, mais aussi de « mettre la main à la pâte » et d’apporter une contribution significative en participant à notre nouvelle activité de tourisme scientifique, « Expédi-Crabes ». Ils pourront se rendre en bateau dans des secteurs du parc qu’ils n’ont encore jamais explorés, trouver et vider des casiers à crabe vert, puis consigner des données de capture aux côtés d’écologistes de Parcs Canada.

Des visiteurs consignent des données de capture aux côtés d’écologistes de Parcs Canada Des visiteurs consignent des données de capture aux côtés d’écologistes de Parcs Canada
© Parcs Canada