The Settlers’ Legacy

Hay wagon at Jakes Landing (historical photo)
Hay wagon at Jakes Landing
Photo: P. Yates

European settlement of the area began around the 1820s, and while a few farms were cleared, logging and gold mining also played an important role in the history of Kejimkujik. In the early 1900s, the area became a destination for sportsmen seeking hunting and fishing adventures.

Farming

Though nearly half of the land in Kejimkujik was originally granted to farmers, very little cultivation was undertaken except for a few farms in the eastern part of the Park. These were all located on hills where the soils are best.

Logging

Directional signs from logging and mining era
Directional signs from logging and mining era
Photo: P. Hope

It is uncertain when logging began in the Keji area but almost all of the land has been cut over at some time. In the early days, most of the logs cut were driven down through the lakes and rivers, some as far as Liverpool. The remains of numerous sawmills testify to local operations in more recent times.

Gold Mining

Three small gold mines existed within the Keji area. Although the workings in these mines yielded little ore to their owners, they did yield a variety of “tall tales” and they brought new attention to the area. The remains of pits, iron boilers, and cabins can still be found. You can visit one mine on the Gold Mines Trail, which features interpretive signs.

The Resort Era

Construction of Kedge Lodge (historical photo)
Contstruction of Kedge Lodge
Photo: P. Yates

Early settlers’ accounts of the Kejimkujik area describe a desolate wilderness, where the thin soils, rocks, and bogs would support nothing useful. It was this wilderness that became a haven for those who sought fishing, hunting, or simply to get away. To provide accommodation for the sportsmen, lodges and cabins were built around Kejimkujik Lake. The best known, and most luxurious, was Kedge Lodge. Many local men were hired as guides for these visitors, and the history of guiding is a colourful chapter in the area’s history.

L’héritage des colons

Hay wagon at Jakes Landing (historical photo)
Une charrette à foin à Jakes Landing
Photo : P. Yates

Les premiers colons européens sont venus s’installer dans la région dans les années 1820. Quelques terres ont été défrichées, mais c’est surtout l’exploitation forestière et aurifère qui a joué un rôle important dans l’histoire de Kejimkujik. La région a attiré de nombreux amateurs de chasse et de pêche en quête d’aventures, vers le début des années 1900.

Agriculture

Bien que près de la moitié des terres dans le parc ait été concédée à des fermiers, l’exploitation agricole a été bien timide, exception faite des quelques fermes situées dans la partie est du parc, sur des collines où le sol était plus fertile.

Exploitation forestière

Directional signs from logging and mining era
Panneaux indicateurs attestent de la période d'exploitation
Photo : P. Hope

On ne peut situer avec certitude le secteur où les premières coupes de bois ont eu lieu dans le parc, mais il est certain qu’aucun secteur n’a été totalement épargné d’une coupe à blanc. Au début, la plupart des billots étaient acheminés par flottage sur les lacs et rivières, dans certains cas jusqu’à Liverpool. Les vestiges de nombreuses scieries dans la région attestent de l’exploitation de la forêt à une époque plus récente.

Exploitation aurifère

Le parc comptait trois petites mines d’or. La quantité de minerai extrait était faible en comparaison des efforts déployés par les mineurs, mais les histoires fabuleuses qui en ont résulté ont suscité un intérêt nouveau pour la région. On peut toujours y trouver des puits de mine, des chaudières ainsi que des cabanes de mineurs. Le sentier Mines d’or mène d’ailleurs à une mine abandonnée où des panneaux d’interprétation renseignent les visiteurs.

Villégiature

Construction of Kedge Lodge (historical photo)
La construction de Kedge Lodge
Photo : P. Yates

Les premiers colons ont décrit la région de Kejimkujik comme un lieu de désolation sauvage, où le sol pauvre, la roche et les tourbières n’avaient strictement rien à offrir. Mais cette contrée inhospitalière allait devenir bientôt le paradis des adeptes de la pêche, de la chasse et des grands espaces. Pour les loger, on a construit des pavillons et des chalets autour du lac Kejimkujik. Le plus connu et le plus luxueux était le Kedge Lodge. Un grand nombre d’hommes de la région y ont été engagés pour servir de guides aux visiteurs, ce qui a donné lieu à un chapitre haut en couleur de l’histoire locale.