A Mi'kmaw history

Step back in time...

Welcome to one of Canada’s most unique places – a park of great natural beauty that echoes with the footsteps of ancient history.

While Kejimkujik has been a popular national park for more than four decades, its importance to the Mi’kmaw people is based on millennia of ancestral history. For many centuries, this particular part of Nova Scotia where Kejimkujik now lies was a place of encampments, fish weirs, hunting territories, portages, trails, and burial grounds.

A cultural landscape is a geographic area that includes both cultural and natural resources associated with a historic event or group of people. The cultural landscape at Kejimkujik attests to the presence of the Mi’kmaq since time immemorial, and the presence of the petroglyphs lends a silent voice to the lives of those who made their home in this area.

Kejimkujik is a national historic site and the land is the keeper of the stories and the memories of the Mi’kmaq of long ago. Here the rivers tell of the canoes that passed this way and many shoreline areas tell of the camps built for millennia by the early Mi’kmaw. Even the rocks along the lakeshores have stories upon them.

The Early People

Mi'kmaq man and wigwam Mi'kmaq man and wigwam
© Parks Canada

The earliest known traces of human occupancy in Atlantic Canada date back more than ten thousand years. Evidence of this is found in Debert, Nova Scotia. We refer to these people as ‘Palaeoindians,’ the Saqiwe’k L’nuk. They came into the Maritimes around the end of the last great ice age, following large game animals such as the caribou as they expanded into the land revealed by the retreating glaciers.

The earliest evidence of people in the Kejimkujik area dates to about 3000-4000 years ago. This time period is called the Late Archaic, the Mu Awsami Saqiwe’k. Exciting new discoveries along the Mersey River, south of Kejimkujik, indicate that earlier Archaic people used these waterways as much as 6000 years ago. Here they lived a semi-nomadic lifestyle, moving from place to place as they followed the cycle of the seasons in search of food and resources. Over the millennia they developed the distinctive culture, traditions, and language of today’s Mi’kmaq.

The Stopping Place

Mi'kmaw people and traditional canoes Mi'kmaw people and traditional canoes
© Parks Canada


With its abundance of caribou, moose, freshwater fish, and other staple foods, the Kejimkujik area made an ideal living site for part of the year. Other parts of the year were spent at the coasts gathering saltwater fish and shellfish. The Mi’kmaq used the complex system of rivers and lakes as they traveled between the south and north coasts, with Kejimkujik a regular stop at the center of the network.

 

Mi'kmaq artifacts Mi'kmaq artifacts
© Parks Canada
Fishing weir site Fishing weir site
© Parks Canada

Because the Mi’kmaq lived in harmony with nature, they left very little imprint on the land. However, careful research has uncovered the remains of seasonal camps, burial grounds, fish weirs, portages, and trails, whose traces are still present throughout Kejimkujik. In all, over 60 sites have been identified in this area, dating between the Late Archaic and Colonial periods. Numerous artifacts have also been recovered from within the national park and national historic site. All of these provide vital clues to the nature of the cultural landscape of the area.

History Written in Stone

Mi'kmaq petroglyphs Mi'kmaq petroglyphs
© Parks Canada

The most noticeable traces left by the early Mi’kmaq are the engravings they created in the glacially polished slate outcrops found at several locations around lakeshores. Referred to as ‘petroglyphs’  (carvings in stone), these images are an invaluable resource for understanding the history and lives of the Mi’kmaw ancestors. There are over 500 individual petroglyphs within Kejimkujik National Historic Site, making it one of the largest collection of such images in eastern North America. These petroglyphs are a unique and important component in the cultural landscape.

Petroglyph image of peaked hat Petroglyph image of peaked hat
© Parks Canada

Perhaps some of the most important images portray men and women wearing the traditional clothing of the time. In some cases, these images show highly detailed double-curve designs decorating the clothing. Foremost among these images is the unique peaked hat traditionally worn by Mi’kmaw women. Over 60 petroglyphs depict these peaked hats, suggesting the importance of women in Mi’kmaw society.

Petroglyph image of porpoise hunt by canoe Petroglyph image of porpoise hunt by canoe
© Parks Canada

Several culturally unique images depict the distinctive Mi’kmaw ocean-going canoe. Built with raised sides, and sometimes rigged with a small sail, this type of canoe was designed for use at sea, and it is seen in several petroglyphs in pursuit of porpoises and other large mammals in the ocean. Another remarkable group of images bear the signatures of the artists written in Mi’kmaw script. While theirs was primarily an oral culture, Mi’kmaw Elders tell of a seldom used written language, and the Kejimkujik petroglyphs provide some of the only surviving examples.

European settlement

A Time of Transition

Following contact with European fishermen, traders and settlers on the coast of Atlantic Canada in the 16th and 17th centuries, population numbers of Aboriginal peoples in the region seem to have declined. This happened to the Mi’kmaq as it happened elsewhere throughout the Americas. The primary cause was the previously unknown illnesses and diseases introduced by the Europeans.

Two men at hunting/fishing campsite (historic photo) Guided hunting/fishing trip, Kejimkujik
© Parks Canada/P. Yates

Nonetheless, Kejimkujik remained an important location for the Mi’kmaq, despite the steadily increasing settlements of European colonists. In 1842, the Commissioner of Indian Affairs for Nova Scotia, Joseph Howe, granted twelve plots of farmland to Mi'kmaw families living on the shores of Kejimkujik Lake. The land was of poor quality and as sport guiding grew, it replaced farming as a livelihood for the Mi’kmaq.

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Kejimkujik became a renowned destination for sports fishers and hunters from Canada, the United States and Great Britain.

Eel weirs had been used on the Mersey River for perhaps thousands of years. They continued to serve their role of directing and allowing the harvest of eels. The weirs were used well into the 20th century, including use by non-Mi’kmaw commercial companies.

The Settlers’ Legacy

European settlement of the area began around the 1820s, and while a few farms were cleared, logging and gold mining also played an important role in the history of Kejimkujik. In the early 1900s, the area became a destination for sportsmen seeking hunting and fishing adventures.

Hay wagon at Jakes Landing (historical photo) Hay wagon at Jakes Landing
© Parks Canada/P. Yates

Farming

Though nearly half of the land in Kejimkujik was originally granted to farmers, very little cultivation was undertaken except for a few farms in the eastern part of the Park. These were all located on hills where the soils are best.






Directional signs from logging and mining era  Directional signs from logging and mining era
© Parks Canada/P. Hope

Logging

It is uncertain when logging began in the Keji area but almost all of the land has been cut over at some time. In the early days, most of the logs cut were driven down through the lakes and rivers, some as far as Liverpool. The remains of numerous sawmills testify to local operations in more recent times.

Gold Mining

Three small gold mines existed within the Keji area. Although the workings in these mines yielded little ore to their owners, they did yield a variety of “tall tales” and they brought new attention to the area. The remains of pits, iron boilers, and cabins can still be found. You can visit one mine on the Gold Mines Trail, which features interpretive signs.

Construction of Kedge Lodge (historical photo) Contstruction of Kedge Lodge
© Parks Canada/P. Yates

 

The Resort Era

Early settlers’ accounts of the Kejimkujik area describe a desolate wilderness, where the thin soils, rocks, and bogs would support nothing useful. It was this wilderness that became a haven for those who sought fishing, hunting, or simply to get away. To provide accommodation for the sportsmen, lodges and cabins were built around Kejimkujik Lake. The best known, and most luxurious, was Kedge Lodge. Many local men were hired as guides for these visitors, and the history of guiding is a colourful chapter in the area’s history.

History of Kejimkujik - Seaside

The human history of Kejimkujik Seaside spans as much as 5000 years. Only one object, a spear point, dating to the Late Archaic Period (5000 to 2500 years ago) has been found. It is believed that most of the prehistoric sites occupied by ancestors of the Mi’kmaq have been submerged by the rising waters of the Atlantic Ocean and are now fishing banks. In more recent times, the Mi’kmaq probably used the area of the Kejimkujik Seaside for short hunting and gathering excursions. Mi’kmaq communities were found in what is now Liverpool.

In the summer of 1604, Samuel de Champlain and Pierre Dugua, sieur de Mons camped at Port Mouton. In his map, Champlain describes the Port Mouton area as being: “Open country where grows only shrubs and heaths”. The expedition spent the next summer exploring and mapping the entire coastline. Major settlement efforts by the French were concentrated in the Liverpool area and at Cape Sable. The Seaside seems to have held little interest for the first Europeans. The earliest European settlement at the Seaside, including a free black Loyalist homestead, dates back to the late 18th century Loyalist period. This was in the form of isolated farms along the coast.

Fishing and Farming

Cameron house foundation Cameron house foundation
© Parks Canada/R. Farrell

The greatest evidence of the Seaside’s human occupation is from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Several families attempted a mixture of fishing and farming in the area. Parts of the Harbour Rocks Trail follow the old St. Catherine’s River road, shown on maps as early as 1861. That road and other cart tracks connected the small farms along the coast. In a few locations you may discover old stone foundations of houses and farm buildings dating back over 100 years.

A large sheep farm, established by the Kinney family, consolidated many of the smaller farms in the early 20th century into the St. Catherines River Farm. It developed into quite an enterprise with many buildings and up to one thousand grazing sheep. Spruce-fir woodland islands were referred to as a “sheep shelter groves” on the map of the Kinney farm. At MacLeod’s Cove, you will see the foundation of the Cameron house where, around 1912, a Scottish herdsman came with his family to work on the Kinney farm. This farming activity created many enduring environmental changes, including draining saltmarsh portions of the lagoon and clearing land for better sheep pasture. Today, some of the barrens shrub habitat may be regrowth following the clearing.

Little Hope Lighthouse

Offshore you can see Little Hope Island with the remains of the lighthouse which was built there in 1865 and was staffed until 1950. This dangerous coast caused at least five major shipwrecks during the 1800s. Occasionally pottery washes up on the beach from an old shipwreck somewhere just offshore.

In 2004, Hurricane Juan landed on the south shore of Nova Scotia with pounding surf and tidal surges. Little Hope Island’s lighthouse was badly damaged; it toppled after another storm in December, ending 138 years of vigilance.

Keepers of Little Hope lighthouse:
William Firth (1865-1872)
Alexander McDonald (1872-1892)
James Reuben Colp (c. 1912-1922)
R. Burgess (1920s)
Allen M. Langille (1928-1945)
Ernie A. Langille (1945-1947)
Frank T. Langille (1947)
O. C. Oickle (1947-1948)

Living with the Atlantic

Kejimkujik Seaside © Parks Canada/P. Hope

Rural and coastal communities, including Port Mouton and Port Joli, surround Kejimkujik Seaside. During the summer, visitors may see people engaged in a traditional harvest. Very near the shoreline, in small dories, they use large rakes to bring seaweed into their boats. During the lowest tides of the month, they will be harvesting Irish moss and the more common rockweed at other times. Caragheenan is extracted from these seaweeds and used as emulsifiers or thickening agents in the preparation of such products as toothpaste and chocolate milk. Liquid plant fertilizers are also produced.

Learn More:

Samuel de Champlain and Pierre Dugua, sieur de Mons

Histoire du peuple Mi’kmaq

Remonter dans le temps

Bienvenue à l’un des endroits les plus exceptionnels du Canada, un parc d’une grande beauté naturelle qui nous ramène aux sources de l’histoire.

Si Kejimkujik est un parc national de renom depuis plus de quatre décennies, l’importance qu’il revêt aux yeux des Mi’kmaq a son origine dans des millénaires d’histoire ancienne. Cette partie de la Nouvelle-Écosse a abrité, pendant plusieurs siècles, campements, barrages à poisson, lieux de chasse, portages, sentiers et sépultures.

Un paysage culturel est une étendue géographique comprenant des ressources culturelles et naturelles associées à un évènement historique ou à un groupe de personnes. Le paysage culturel de Kejimkujik atteste la présence des Mi’kmaq depuis des temps immémoriaux, et les pétroglyphes parlent au nom de ceux qui ont habité cette région.

Kejimkujik est un lieu historique national, et la terre est porteuse des histoires et des souvenirs des Mi’kmaq des temps passés. Ici, les rivières témoignent des canots qui les ont parcourues, et les rivages parlent des campements construits par des Mik’maq au fil des millénaires. Même les roches, le long des rivages lacustres, recèlent des histoires

Les premiers occupants

Homme Mi'kmaq et wigwam Homme Mi'kmaq et wigwam
© Parcs Canada

Les plus anciennes traces de la présence de l’homme au Canada atlantique remontent à 10 000 ans et se trouvent à Debert, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Ces habitants, connus sous le nom de Paléoindiens ou Saqiwe’k L’nuk, sont arrivés dans les Maritimes à la fin de la dernière grande période glaciaire, à la poursuite de gros gibier comme le caribou, qui pénétrait plus loin dans les terres nouvellement exposées par le retrait des glaciers.

Sur le territoire de Kejimkujik, les plus anciennes traces de la présence d’un peuple datent de 3000 à 4000 ans. Cette époque se nomme l’Archéen tardif, ou Mu Awsami Saqiwe’k. De nouvelles découvertes fascinantes le long de la rivière Mersey, au sud de Kejimkujik, indiquent que des peuples de l’Archéen précoce naviguaient déjà sur ce cours d’eau il y a plus de 6000 ans. Ces peuples semi-nomades se déplaçaient d’un endroit à l’autre au gré des saisons, en quête de nourriture et de ressources. Au cours du millénaire, ils ont développé la culture, les traditions et le langage des Mi’kmaq d’aujourd’hui.

Un lieu d’escale

Peuple Mi'kmaw et canots traditionnels Peuple Mi'kmaw et canots traditionnels
© Pars Canada

L’abondance des caribous, des orignaux, des poissons d’eau douce et d’autres aliments de base dans la région de Kejimkujik en faisait un endroit idéal à habiter une partie de l’année. Les Mi’kmaq passaient le reste du temps sur les côtes, pour y pêcher des poissons de mer ainsi que des mollusques et des crustacés. Ils se servaient du réseau complexe de rivières et de lacs pour se déplacer entre les côtes sud et nord, s’arrêtant régulièrement au centre du réseau, à Kejimkujik.




Des artefacts Mi'kmaq Des artefacts Mi'kmaq
© Parcs Canada
Barrage de Pêche Barrage de Pêche
© Parcs Canada

Comme les Mi’kmaq vivaient en harmonie avec la nature, ils ont laissé peu de traces de leur passage. Des recherches minutieuses ont toutefois dévoilé des vestiges de campements saisonniers, de sépultures, de portages et de sentiers un peu partout à Kejimkujik. En tout, plus de 60 sites, datant de la période archaïque supérieure à la colonisation, ont été découverts. De nombreux artéfacts ont aussi été trouvés. Tous ces indices nous renseignent sur la nature du paysage culturel de la région.

Une histoire gravée dans la pierre

Des pétroglyphes Mi'kmaq Des pétroglyphes Mi'kmaq
© Parcs Canada

Les traces les plus visibles laissées par les premiers Mi’kmaq sont des gravures faites sur des affleurements d’ardoise polie par les glaciers que l’on trouve à plusieurs endroits sur les rives des lacs. Appelés « pétroglyphes » (gravures dans la pierre), ces dessins sont une source d’information précieuse pour comprendre l’histoire et le mode de vie des ancêtres des Mi’kmaq d’aujourd’hui. On trouve plus de 500 pétroglyphes individuels dans le lieu historique national Kejimkujik, ce qui en fait une des plus grandes collections de ce type de vestiges en Amérique du Nord. Ces pétroglyphes sont des éléments uniques et essentiels du paysage culturel.

Image de chapeau pointu Image de chapeau pointu
© Parcs Canada
Les dessins les plus importants sont sans doute ceux où l’on voit des hommes et des femmes portant des vêtements traditionnels. Dans certains cas, des motifs en double courbe très détaillés ornent ces vêtements. Les chapeaux pointus, portés par les femmes mi’kmaq, sont aussi très présents. Plus de 60 pétroglyphes représentent ces chapeaux, ce qui semble montrer l’importance des femmes dans la société mi’kmaq.
Image de la chasse de marsouin par canot Image de la chasse de marsouin par canot
© Parcs Canada

Plusieurs images, uniques sur le plan culturel, représentent le canot de mer propre aux Mi’kmaq. Ce type de canot, aux côtés élevés et parfois gréé d’une petite voile, était conçu pour le canotage en mer; on l’aperçoit sur plusieurs pétroglyphes, à la poursuite de marsouins et d’autres grands mammifères marins. Un autre groupe de dessins remarquables porte les signatures des artistes en écriture mi’kmaq. Même si la culture mi’kmaq est principalement orale, les Aînés parlent d’un langage écrit, rarement utilisé. Les pétroglyphes de Kejimkujik sont les seuls exemples connus.

 

Établissement des Européens

Une période de transition

À la suite de contacts avec les pêcheurs, les marchands et les colons européens sur la côte atlantique du Canada aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles, les populations autochtones de la région ont diminué. Ce phénomène a touché les Mi’kmaq tout comme les autres populations d’Amérique. L’apparition de nouvelles maladies transmises par les Européens a été la principale cause de ce déclin.

Deux hommes et leur tente sur une excursion de sport (image historique) Excursion de sport guidée, Kejimkujik
© Parcs Canada/P. Yates
Toutefois, malgré l’arrivée d’un nombre croissant de colons européens, Kejimkujik est demeuré un lieu important pour les Mi’kmaq. En 1842, le commissionnaire aux Affaires indiennes de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Joseph Howe, a concédé 12 terres agricoles aux familles Mi'kmaq vivant sur les rives du lac Kejimkujik. Mais comme la terre n’était pas fertile, les Mi’kmaq ont délaissé la culture et se sont tournés vers l’accompagnement de visiteurs venus pratiquer des activités sportives. À la fin du XIXe siècle et au début du XXe siècle, Kejimkujik est devenu une destination de choix pour les pêcheurs et les chasseurs sportifs du Canada, des États-Unis et de la Grande-Bretagne.
Les barrages pour la pêche à l’anguille installés sur la rivière Mersey, probablement utilisés pendant des milliers d’années, ont continué à jouer leur rôle bien au-delà du XIXe siècle. Même des entreprises n’appartenant pas aux Mi’kmaq en ont exploité.

 

L’héritage des colons

Les premiers colons européens sont venus s’installer dans la région dans les années 1820. Quelques terres ont été défrichées, mais c’est surtout l’exploitation forestière et aurifère qui a joué un rôle important dans l’histoire de Kejimkujik. La région a attiré de nombreux amateurs de chasse et de pêche en quête d’aventures, vers le début des années 1900.

Une charrette à foin à Jakes Landing (image historique) Une charrette à foin à Jakes Landing
© Parcs Canada/P. Yates

Agriculture

Bien que près de la moitié des terres dans le parc ait été concédée à des fermiers, l’exploitation agricole a été bien timide, exception faite des quelques fermes situées dans la partie est du parc, sur des collines où le sol était plus fertile.







Panneaux indicateurs attestent de la période d'exploitation  Panneaux indicateurs attestent de la période d'exploitation
© Parcs Canada/P. Hope

Exploitation forestière

On ne peut situer avec certitude le secteur où les premières coupes de bois ont eu lieu dans le parc, mais il est certain qu’aucun secteur n’a été totalement épargné d’une coupe à blanc. Au début, la plupart des billots étaient acheminés par flottage sur les lacs et rivières, dans certains cas jusqu’à Liverpool. Les vestiges de nombreuses scieries dans la région attestent de l’exploitation de la forêt à une époque plus récente.

Exploitation aurifère

Le parc comptait trois petites mines d’or. La quantité de minerai extrait était faible en comparaison des efforts déployés par les mineurs, mais les histoires fabuleuses qui en ont résulté ont suscité un intérêt nouveau pour la région. On peut toujours y trouver des puits de mine, des chaudières ainsi que des cabanes de mineurs. Le sentier Mines d’or mène d’ailleurs à une mine abandonnée où des panneaux d’interprétation renseignent les visiteurs.

La construction de Kedge Lodge (image historique) La construction de Kedge Lodge
© Parcs Canada/P. Yates

Villégiature

Les premiers colons ont décrit la région de Kejimkujik comme un lieu de désolation sauvage, où le sol pauvre, la roche et les tourbières n’avaient strictement rien à offrir. Mais cette contrée inhospitalière allait devenir bientôt le paradis des adeptes de la pêche, de la chasse et des grands espaces. Pour les loger, on a construit des pavillons et des chalets autour du lac Kejimkujik. Le plus connu et le plus luxueux était le Kedge Lodge. Un grand nombre d’hommes de la région y ont été engagés pour servir de guides aux visiteurs, ce qui a donné lieu à un chapitre haut en couleur de l’histoire locale.


Histoire du Parc national Kejimkujik Bord de mer

L’histoire humaine de Kejimkujik Bord de mer remonte aussi loin que 5 000 ans. Un seul objet, une pointe de lance tirant ses origines de la période archaïque supérieure (de 5 000 à 2 500 ans), a été trouvé. La plupart des sites préhistoriques habités par les ancêtres des Mi’kmaq ont été submergés par les eaux montantes de l’océan Atlantique et forment maintenant des bancs de pêche. Plus récemment, les Mi’kmaq ont probablement fréquenté la région de Kejimkujik Bord de mer lors de brèves excursions de chasse et de cueillette. Des communautés mi’kmaq se trouvaient jadis dans ce qui est aujourd’hui Liverpool.

À l’été de 1604, Samuel de Champlain et Pierre Dugua, sieur de Mons ont campé à Port Mouton. Sur sa carte, Champlain décrit la région comme étant « un terrain vallonné où ne poussent que des arbustes et de la végétation courte ». L’expédition a consacré l’été suivant à explorer la côte et à en établir la carte. Les principales initiatives de peuplement des Français se sont concentrées sur les régions de Liverpool et du cap de Sable. Le bord de mer ne semble pas avoir intéressé les premiers Européens. Le premier établissement européen installé à cet endroit, qui comptait des loyalistes noirs libres, remonte à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, et se composait de fermes isolées le long de la côte.

La chasse et la pêche

 

La fondation de la maison Cameron La fondation de la maison Cameron
© Parcs Canada/R. Farrell

Les preuves les plus évidentes de l’occupation humaine dans le secteur du Bord de mer datent du XIXe et du début du XXe siècle. Plusieurs familles ont alors adopté un mode de vie axé sur la chasse et la pêche. Certaines sections du sentier Harbour Rocks suivent l’ancienne route de la rivière St. Catherines, qui est indiquée sur des cartes remontant aussi loin que 1861. Cette route, de même que d’autres routes charretières, reliait les petites fermes situées sur la côte. On peut observer à certains endroits d’anciennes fondations en pierre de maisons et de bâtiments de ferme remontant à plus de 100 ans.

Au début du XXe siècle, une grande ferme ovine, établie par la famille Kinney et connue sous le nom de ferme de la rivière St. Catherines, a regroupé de nombreuses fermes plus petites pour devenir une entreprise d’importance pourvue de nombreux bâtiments et d’un troupeau de près de mille moutons. Sur la carte de la ferme Kinney, les massifs d’épinettes étaient décrits comme étant des bosquets où les moutons pouvaient s’abriter. À l’anse MacLeod, vous apercevrez les fondations de la maison Cameron, où, vers 1912, un berger écossais s’est établi avec sa famille pour travailler à la ferme Kinney. Les activités agricoles, notamment le drainage des zones salées de la lagune et le défrichage pour offrir de meilleurs pâturages aux moutons, ont eu des répercussions durables sur l’environnement. Il est possible aujourd’hui à une partie de l’habitat des landes de se rétablir.

Le phare Little Hope

Au large des côtes se trouve l’île Little Hope, qui abrite les vestiges d’un phare construit en 1865 et habité jusqu’en 1950. Cette côte dangereuse a provoqué au moins cinq naufrages importants dans les années 1800. Il arrive à l’occasion que de la poterie provenant d’un navire échoué soit rejetée sur la plage.

En 2004, l’ouragan Juan s’est abattu sur la côte sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse, lui faisant subir les assauts répétés de ses vents violents et des ondes de marée. Le phare de l’île Little Hope a été gravement endommagé et s’est écroulé à la suite d’une autre tempête, en décembre, après 138 ans de vigilance.

Gardiens du phare Little Hope :
William Firth (de 1865 à 1872)
Alexander McDonald (de 1872 à 1892)
James Reuben Colp (v. 1912 à 1922)
R. Burgess (dans les années 1920)
Allen M. Langille (de 1928 à 1945)
Ernie A. Langille (de 1945 à 1947)
Frank T. Langille (1947)
O. C. Oickle (1947 et 1948)

Cohabiter avec l’Atlantique

Kejimkujik Seaside © Parks Canada/P. Hope

Des collectivités rurales et côtières, notamment Port Mouton et Port Joli, entourent Kejimkujik Bord de mer. Les visiteurs peuvent y voir s’effectuer en été une récolte traditionnelle. En effet, tout près de la côte, à bord de petits doris, les habitants amènent le varech à bord de leur embarcation à l’aide de grands râteaux. Ils récoltent de la mousse d’Irlande lors des marées les plus basses de l’été, et du fucus commun à d’autres périodes de l’année. On extrait de ces algues de la carraghénine qui est utilisée comme agent émulsifiant ou épaississant dans la préparation de produits comme le dentifrice et le lait au chocolat. Elle sert aussi à la production de fertilisants pour les plantes.

Apprenez plus :

Samuel de Champlain et Pierre Dugua, sieur de Mons