Preservation

All locations within Kejimkujik that bear witness to the presence of the Mi’kmaq are special places. They are a source of pride and identity for today’s Mi’kmaw people. Collectively, they are also the reason why Kejimkujik (inland) has the distinction of being the only National Park in Canada to become a National Historic Site in its entirety. These sites, therefore, are monitored on an ongoing basis by a dedicated Aboriginal patrol staff, to ensure that visitors do not disturb the sites accidentally.

The petroglyphs are exposed to the elementsand are slowly fading away. Efforts are being made to preserve and record them. However, accidental damage and deliberate vandalism have completely obliterated some of these irreplaceable artifacts long before their time. The areas around some sites are therefore restricted areas, so that they can be protected for future generations.

Programs

Mik'maw history program
Mi'kmaw history programs

Kejimkujik offers several ways to discover more about the culture and history of the Mi’kmaw people. Regular programs, in the form of guided walks and slide presentations, present topics such as the Mi’kmaw lifestyle and traditional medicines.

Throughout the summer, visitors can walk through a recreation of a traditional encampment. Regular guided tours of the petroglyphs are also offered, so that visitors have the opportunity to see, touch, and learn more about these reminders of times long ago.

Visitor Center staff, bulletin boards, and the Kejimkujik Visitor Guide provide information regarding programs currently being offered.

Mik'maw history program
Mi'kmaw history programs

More information about programs

Préservation

Tous les endroits au sein du parc et lieu historique Kejimkujik qui témoignent de la présence des Mi’kmaq sont uniques. Ils sont une source de fierté et d’identité pour le peuple mi’kmaq. Ensemble, ils expliquent pourquoi Kejimkujik est le seul parc national canadien entièrement classé lieu historique national. Des patrouilleurs autochtones dévoués surveillent ces sites en permanence pour s’assurer que les visiteurs ne les perturbent pas accidentellement.

Les pétroglyphes sont exposés aux élémentset s’estompent peu à peu. Des efforts sont déployés pour les recenser et les conserver. Toutefois, en raison de dommages accidentels et d’actes de vandalisme, certains de ces artéfacts irremplaçables ont été prématurément effacés. C’est pourquoi on a restreint l’accès aux zones entourant les pétroglyphes, afin qu’ils puissent être protégés pour les générations futures.

Programmes

Programme d'histoire mi'kmaw
Programmes d'histoire mi'kmaw

Kejimkujik offre plusieurs façons de découvrir la culture et l’histoire du peuple mi’kmaq. Diverses activités, comme des promenades guidées et des diaporamas, permettent d’explorer le mode de vie des Mi’kmaq, leur médecine traditionnelle et leur spiritualité.

En été, les visiteurs peuvent se promener dans un campement traditionnel (reconstitution). Des visites guidées des sites abritant les pétroglyphes sont aussi proposées, pour que les visiteurs puissent voir et toucher ces témoignages des temps passés, et en apprendre davantage à leur sujet.

Les visiteurs peuvent se renseigner sur les activités auprès du personnel du centre d’accueil, ou consulter les panneaux d’affichage et le guide du visiteur du parc Kejimkujik.

Programme d'histoire mi'kmaw
Programmes d'histoire mi'kmaw

Plus d'informations sur les programmes