A Mi'kmaw history

While Kejimkujik has been a popular national park for more than four decades, its importance to the Mi’kmaw people is based on millennia of ancestral history. The earliest evidence of people in the Kejimkujik area dates to about 3000-4000 years ago. This time period is called the Late Archaic, the Mu Awsami Saqiwe’k.

Petroglyphs

The most noticeable traces left by the early Mi’kmaq at Kejimkujik are the engravings they created in the glacially polished slate outcrops found at several locations around lakeshores. There are over 500 individual petroglyphs (carvings in stone) within Kejimkujik, making it one of the largest collections of such images in eastern North America.

Traditional Mi’kmaw birch bark canoe building

The canoe is an iconic symbol of the Mi’kmaw cultural landscape and also of the contemporary experience of Kejimkujik. The Kejimkujik Birch Bark Canoe Project highlights the work of master Mi’kmaw craftsman, Todd Labrador, as he builds traditional birch bark canoes in Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site.

Histoire du peuple Mi’kmaq

Si Kejimkujik est un parc national de renom depuis plus de quatre décennies, l’importance qu’il revêt aux yeux des Mi’kmaq a son origine dans des millénaires d’histoire ancienne. Sur le territoire de Kejimkujik, les plus anciennes traces de la présence d’un peuple datent de 3000 à 4000 ans. Cette époque se nomme l’Archéen tardif, ou Mu Awsami Saqiwe’k.

Pétroglyphes

Les traces les plus visibles laissées par les premiers Mi’kmaq sont des gravures faites sur des affleurements d’ardoise polie par les glaciers que l’on trouve à plusieurs endroits sur les rives des lacs. On trouve plus de 500 pétroglyphes individuels dans le lieu historique national Kejimkujik, ce qui en fait une des plus grandes collections de ce type de vestiges en Amérique du Nord.

Construction de canots traditionnels en écorce de bouleau Mi’kmaw

Le canot est un symbole emblématique du paysage culturel mi’kmaw et de l’expérience contemporaine de Kejimkujik. Le projet de construction de canots en écorce de bouleau Kejimkujik souligne le travail du maître artisan mi’kmaw, Todd Labrador, qui construit des canots traditionnels en écorce de bouleau dans le parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik.