June - August

Thursday, June 21
National Indigenous Peoples Day

Drop-in to the Merrymakedge area between 11am and 2pm for a variety of on-site activities and demonstrations, such as traditional birch bark canoe building, medicinal tea and bread tasting, survival skills demonstrations, and more. School groups welcome, call (902) 682-3263 to book your school visit.

Sunday, July 1
Canada Day Celebrations - FREE ENTRY

Come celebrate Canada’s 151st Birthday at Kejimkujik, FREE ADMISSION and FREE CUPCAKES - Official launch of the Friends of Keji Photo Contest, and the Interpretation Programs for visitors of all ages!

July 7-8
Parks Canada Bioblitz
Come for a Bioblitz at Keji! Team up with scientists and experts to find as much wildlife as possible in a short period of time and record your observations. Drop-in activities will be offered, however advance registration by July 5th will secure your spot. Best suited to individuals or families with children over 10 years of age. Saturday’s event takes place in Kejimkujik inland and Sunday’s event takes place at Kejimkujik Seaside. Register at the Visitor Centre or call 902-298-0486.

Saturday, July 21
Savour the Seaside at Kejimkujik Seaside

2018 is a special year for Kejimkujik Seaside (Hwy 103, Exit 22, 1188 St. Catherine’s River Rd, Port Joli NS B0T 1S0). Thirty years ago, this important ecosystem was designated part of Kejimkujik National Park to provide protection for the unique coastal attributes of the region. To mark the occasion, we’ve invited the Kilted Chef, Alain Bossé and his team, to cook up an unforgettable and delectable feast! Join us for an afternoon at Harbour Rocks Beach and learn why this place is so important while you enjoy traditional Nova Scotian fare. Stay late with us and savour a delectable full course meal by reserving a seat at our beach side table. For more information: Savour the Seaside

July 21-22
Learn-to Camp Weekend

Never camped before but curious about this truly Canadian tradition? The Learn-to Camp program will introduce you and your family to the basics of camping, from packing to tenting and campfire cooking. Over the course of the weekend, participants will have the opportunity to attend special programs and activities offered in Kejimkujik! Learn-to Camp is presented in partnership with MEC (Mountain Equipment Co-op) and our friends, ‘A for Adventure’. Cost $44 per adult, $22 per child (6-16) and free for 5 years and under (tax included). Registration begins May 11th, call 1-844-365-2646. Reserve early; space is limited. For more information visit: Learn-to Camp.

Saturday, August 4
Kejimkujik’s 49th Birthday Party

Join us in Jeremy’s Bay Campground in celebration of this momentous occasion for a slew of fun activities including a Bicycle Poker Rally, the Keji birthday noise parade, cupcakes and lemonade, a group campfire, star-gazing and more! Campers and visitors are invited to participate.

August 17 - 19
Dark Sky Weekend 

Search Kejimkujik’s spectacular night skies for planets, galaxies, constellations and much more in Nova Scotia’s only Dark Sky Preserve!  There will be stories and discoveries for all ages.  Plan to camp or stay overnight close by – you don’t want to miss the show. Presented in partnership with the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC).

 

 


Saturday, September 15th
Free Admission Day + Birchbark Canoe Launch

This one’s on us! What better way to say “thank you” to our visitors than to offer a free admission day? In 2018, we will offer free admission on September 15.

Kejimkujik Paddling Flotilla and launch of Birch Bark Canoes: Witness Master Craftsman, Todd Labrador and apprentices from Bear River First Nation launch two authentic Mi’kmaw-style birch bark canoes that have been constructed at Kejimkujik this summer starting at 10 am at Jake’s Landing.

The flotilla of canoes and kayaks will depart at 10:30 am and travel to Kedge Beach. Join Kejimkujik Interpreters in the BIG Canoe for the paddle or rent/bring your own canoe or kayak (sign up at the Visitor Centre for the BIG Canoe).

Welcome the flotilla arrival at Kedge Beach at 11 am and enjoy refreshments and help celebrate the ancient craft of birch bark canoe building at Kejimkujik.

Saturday, September 22nd
Gourmet Fall Night Hike to Peter Point

Please noteTickets are sold out for this event!

Take a hike out to Peter Point to reveal a beautiful sunset and watch as the moon and stars take the stage in one of the darkest spots in Keji, the perfect place to enjoy beer tasting and food pairing offered by Boxing Rock Brewing Co. (19 and over only).

To enhance the experience knowledgeable RASC (Royal Astronomical Society of Canada) volunteers and Keji guides will be on hand to entertain and educate.

Tickets available May 18th, $22 per person (tax included). Tickets are limited, so reserve early to avoid disappointment. Call (902) 682-2772 to register. 

September 22 - 23
Keji Multisport Festival: Women’s Triathlon and Mixed Team Relay

Capture the magic of endurance sport in lush forests, meandering rivers and a rich cultural landscape.

Athletes of all abilities are encouraged to embrace the challenge with a sense of adventure and fun. Events will include a day of triathlon racing in 2 distances, and skills workshops in other complimentary outdoor pursuits open to female participants, friends and family.

Camp or stay close by and participate in evening activities. Sunday will be dedicated to Keji Mixed Triathlon Relays & Skills Camp for more experienced and youth triathletes. 

For more information and to register visit: Keji Multisport.

Saturday September 29
Savour the Trail

Please noteTickets are sold out for this event!

Discover a unique way to savour the fall at Keji. Take to the trails and experience stunning colours and sample delicious flavours – served up by Mother Nature, NS Community College’s culinary arts students of Lunenburg Campus and participating local suppliers.

Enjoy a variety of nature-inspired and locally sourced dishes and beverages while hiking among the beautiful fall scenery of Kejimkujik. It will satisfy your soul, and your palate. Mark your calendar now! 

For more information: Savour the trail

October 5-7
Thanksgiving Weekend

Soak up the brilliant colours of fall and enjoy what has become one of Kejimkujik’s most popular weekends of the year! Participate in the annual Pumpkin Carving Contest, the Haunted Jaunt, and take the plunge at the annual Cold Turkey swim. It’s the perfect weekend to spend with friends and family. FULL ACTIVITY SCHEDULE

2018 Special events in Mainland Nova Scotia

juin - août

Jeudi 21 juin
Journée nationale des Autochtones

Allez au secteur Merrymakedge entre 11 h et 14 h pour participer à diverses activités et démonstrations comme la fabrication traditionnelle de canots en écorce de bouleau, la dégustation d’infusions médicinales et de pain, la démonstration de techniques de survie, et bien plus. Nous accueillons aussi les groupes scolaires; pour réserver votre visite scolaire, composez le 902-682-3263.


Dimanche 1er juillet
Célébrations de la fête du Canada - ENTRÉE GRATUITE

Célébrez le 151e anniversaire de la Confédération à Kejimkujik et profitez de l’ENTRÉE GRATUITE et dégustez de petits gâteaux GRATUITS. Venez nous rejoindre pour le lancement officiel du concours photos des amis de Keji et des programmes d’interprétation guidés pour les visiteurs de tous les âges!

 

7 et 8 juillet
BioBlitz de Parcs Canada
Participez au BioBlitz à Kejimkujik! Faites équipe avec des chercheurs et des spécialistes pour trouver autant d’espèces sauvages que possible en une courte durée de temps et consignez vos observations. Des activités libres seront offertes; toutefois, il est conseillé de vous inscrire au préalable (d’ici le 5 juillet) pour être sûr d’avoir de la place. Cette activité convient surtout aux adultes et aux familles avec des enfants de plus de 10 ans. L’événement du samedi se déroule dans l’avant-pays et l’arrière-pays de Kejimkujik, et l’événement du dimanche, à Kejimkujik Bord de mer. Inscrivez-vous au Centre d’accueil ou composez le 902-298-0486.

Samedi 21 juillet
Saveurs du bord de mer

L’année 2018 marque une année particulière pour Kejimkujik Bord de mer (Route 103 (sortie 22), 1188, chemin St. Catherine’s River, Port Joli (Nouvelle-Écosse) B0T 1S0). Il y a trente ans, cet important écosystème était désigné pour faire partie du parc national Kejimkujik afin d’assurer la protection des caractéristiques côtières propres à cette région. Pour souligner cet anniversaire, nous avons invité le chef en Kilt, Alain Bossé, et son équipe à nous préparer un savoureux festin qui ne s’oubliera pas de sitôt. Venez passer votre après-midi avec nous à la plage Harbour Rocks. Vous découvrirez pourquoi cet endroit est si important et vous pourrez déguster un plat néo-écossais traditionnel. Prolongez votre temps avec nous et réservez votre place à un souper gastronomique complet servi sur la plage. De plus amples renseignements seront publiés en ligne.

Pour plus d'information : Saveurs du bord de mer

21 et 22 juillet
Initiation au camping

Vous n’avez encore jamais fait de camping, mais cette tradition typiquement canadienne vous intrigue? Dans le cadre du programme de deux jours, vous et votre famille apprendrez les rudiments du camping, notamment ce qu’il faut apporter, comment monter une tente et la cuisson sur un feu de camp. Au cours la fin de semaine, les participants auront l’occasion de prendre part à des activités et à des programmes spéciaux offerts au parc Kejimkujik! L’initiation au camping est présentée en partenariat avec MEC (Mountain Equipment Co-op) et nos amis, « A for Adventure ». Coût : 44 $ par adulte et 22 $ par enfant (de 6 à 16 ans), taxes comprises; gratuit pour les enfants de 5 ans et moins. Réservez tôt, car les places sont limitées. Pour en savoir plus, consultez : Initiation au camping.

Samedi 4 août
49e anniversire de Kejimkujik

Joignez-vous à nous au terrain de camping de la baie Jeremy pour souligner cette occasion spéciale. Nous vous offrons une foule d’activités amusantes, dont le Bike Poker Run (randonnée de poker à vélo), le défilé bruyant de Keji, des petits gâteaux et des rafraîchissements, un feu de camp de groupe, l’observation des étoiles, entre autres. Les visiteurs et les campeurs sont invités à y participer. Des détails supplémentaires seront bientôt affichés en ligne.

Du 17 au 19 août
Fin de semaine sous le ciel étoilé du parc Kejimkujik  

Venez observer le ciel étoilé de Kejimkujik et repérez-y des planètes, des galaxies, des constellations et d’autres beautés célestes dans la seule réserve de ciel étoilé de la Nouvelle-Écosse! Des histoires et des découvertes attendent les visiteurs de tous les âges. Prévoyez de camper ou de séjourner tout près du parc, vous ne voulez pas rater le spectacle! Présenté en partenariat avec la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada (SRAC).



Samedi 15 septembre
Journée d’entrée gratuite + Lancement de canots en écorce de bouleau 
 
On vous invite! Nous croyons qu’il n’y a pas meilleure façon de dire « merci » à nos visiteurs qu’en leur offrant une journée d’entrée gratuite. En 2018, nous vous offrirons l’entrée gratuite le 15 septembre.

Flottille d’embarcations et lancement de canots en écorce de bouleau : Assistez au lancement de deux canots mi’kmaw authentiques en écorce de bouleau que Todd Labrador, maître-artisan, et ses apprentis de la Première Nation de Bear River ont construits cet été dans le parc.

L’événement a lieu à 10 h au débarcadère Jake’s Landing. La flottille de canots et de kayaks partira à 10 h 30 et se rendra à la plage Kedge. Montez à bord du GRAND canot en compagnie de nos interprètes ou louez/apportez votre propre embarcation (vous devez vous inscrire au Centre d’accueil si vous montez dans le GRAND canot).

Accueillez la flottille à son arrivée à la plage Kedge à 11 h et profitez de rafraîchissements tout en célébrant l’art ancestral de la fabrication de canots en écorce de bouleau dans le parc national Kejimkujik.

 

Samedi 22 septembre
Randonnée nocturne automnale et gastronomique à la pointe Peter 

Veuillez noter : Toutes les places sont vendues pour l'événement. 

Faites une randonnée à la pointe Peter pour admirer le coucher du soleil et observer la lune et les étoiles qui illuminent le ciel dans l’un des recoins les plus sombres de Kejimkujik.

C’est l’endroit idéal pour déguster une bière en accord avec des mets servis par la Boxing Rock Brewing Co. (participants de 19 ans et plus seulement).

Des bénévoles de la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada et des guides-interprètes du parc national Kejimkujik seront sur place pour vous divertir et vous informer.

Les billets sont en vente à partir du 18 mai : 22 $ par personne (taxe comprise). Le nombre de billets est limité, donc réservez sans tarder pour éviter les déceptions. Composez le 902-682-2772 pour vous inscrire.

Les 22 et 23 septembre
Festival multisport de Keji : triathlon féminin et relai mixte par équipes

Vivez la magie d’un sport d’endurance qui a lieu dans des forêts luxuriantes, des rivières sinueuses et un riche paysage culturel. Nous invitons les athlètes, peu importe leur niveau de forme physique, à relever ce défi où s’entrecroisent aussi le sens de l’aventure et le plaisir.

Les épreuves sportives comprennent une journée de triathlon à deux distances, et des ateliers en plein air pour développer les habiletés sportives sont offerts aux participantes, ainsi qu’à leurs amis et à leur famille. Faites du camping ou restez à proximité pour participer aux activités offertes en soirée.

La journée du dimanche sera consacrée au triathlon à relai mixte et aux camps de perfectionnement pour les triathloniens chevronnés et les jeunes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez : Keji Multisport (en anglais seulement).

Samedi 29 septembre
Randonnée des saveurs

Veuillez noter : Toutes les places sont vendues pour l'événement.

Savourez l’automne différemment à Kejimkujik. Empruntez les sentiers en vous remplissant les yeux de couleurs grandioses et la bouche d’arômes délectables, fruit du travail de mère Nature et des élèves en arts culinaires du Collège communautaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse du campus Lunenburg et les producteurs locaux participants.

Dégustez des boissons et des plats inspirés par la nature et préparés avec des ingrédients du terroir en admirant les magnifiques paysages de Kejimkujik à l’automne.

Votre âme et votre palais en ressortiront comblés. Inscrivez ces dates dès maintenant à votre calendrier – Des détails supplémentaires seront bientôt affichés en ligne.

Pour plus d'information : Randonnée des saveurs

Du 5 au 7 octobre
Fin de semaine de l’Action de grâce 

Émerveillez-vous devant les éclatantes couleurs de l’automne pendant l’une des fins de semaine les plus courues de l’année à Kejimkujik! Participez au concours annuel de sculpture de citrouilles, à la randonnée hantée, et ne manquez pas la baignade « chair de poule » annuelle. C’est la fin de semaine idéale pour passer du temps en famille ou entre amis en prenant une bonne bouffée d’air pur et frais. PROGRAMME D'ACTIVITÉS

Événements spéciaux en Nouvelle-Écosse continentale pour 2018