Traditional Mi’kmaw birch bark canoe building

The canoe is an iconic symbol of the Mi’kmaw cultural landscape and also of the contemporary experience of Kejimkujik. The Kejimkujik Birch Bark Canoe Project highlights the work of master Mi’kmaw craftsman, Todd Labrador, as he builds traditional birch bark canoes in Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site. 

Public demonstrations

Witness the ancient craft of birch bark canoe building in person with master Mi’kmaw craftsman Todd Labrador and Parks Canada Cultural Interpreter Rose Meuse. Public demonstrations offer a ‘drop-in’ customary Mi’kmaw cultural experience, complete with beautiful views of Kejimkujik Lake.

Visitors and members of the Mi’kmaw community are encouraged to visit the canoe-building shop at the far end of Merrymakedge Beach. Each day offers a different stage of the canoe building process, so come often and spread the word.

Dates and Times: Thursday to Sunday, from 9:30 am to 3:30 pm, from June 24 until September 5, 2021

Fee: FREE with entry fee

Ages: All ages welcome

Location: Merrymakedge Beach, Canoe Building Shop

Parking: Merrymakedge P4 – follow posted signs to the shop

Notes:

  • Demonstrations are offered rain or shine.
  • There will be no fee for workshops offered this year.

Meet Todd Labrador

As a seventh-generation Mi'kmaq from the Kejimkujik region, Todd Labrador carefully crafts birch bark canoes with bark, spruce root, and other natural materials that are sustainably harvested in local Acadian Forests. His great-grandfather was a master canoe maker, and Todd taught himself how to build canoes after his own father passed away. Today, Todd Labrador is renowned for his work and is one of the most highly sought after craftsmen for his skills.

Social media

Follow us on Facebook.com/Kejimkujik/ #kejibbcanoebuildingproject

Construction de canots traditionnels en écorce de bouleau Mi’kmaw

Le canot est un symbole emblématique du paysage culturel mi’kmaw et de l’expérience contemporaine de Kejimkujik. Le projet de construction de canots en écorce de bouleau Kejimkujik souligne le travail du maître artisan mi’kmaw, Todd Labrador, qui construit des canots traditionnels en écorce de bouleau dans le parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik.

Démonstrations publiques

Apprenez en personne l’art traditionnel de la fabrication de canots en écorce de bouleau en compagnie du maître-artisan mi’kmaw Todd Labrador et de Rose Meuse, interprète culturelle de Parcs Canada. Grâce aux démonstrations publiques, vous pouvez participer sans rendez-vous à une expérience culturelle mi’kmaw traditionnelle, tout en admirant les magnifiques paysages du lac Kejimkujik.

Les visiteurs et les membres de la communauté mi’kmaw sont encouragés à  visiter l’atelier de construction de canots à l’extrémité de la plage de Merrymakedge.. Chaque jour, une étape différente du processus de construction du canot est abordée. Alors, venez souvent et passez le mot.

Disponibilité : Du jeudi au dimanche, de 9 h 30 à 15 h 30, à partir du 24 juin au 5 septembre 2021

Droits : Inclus dans les droits d’entrée

Âge : Tous les âges

Lieu : Atelier de fabrication de canots de la plage Merrymakedge

Stationnement : Stationnement P4 de la plage Merrymakedge – suivez les indications jusqu’à l’atelier

Remarques : 

  • La démonstration aura lieu beau temps mauvais temps.
  • Il n'y aura pas d'ateliers offerts cette année.

Une rencontre avec Todd Labrador

En tant que Mi'kmaq de septième génération de la région de Kejimkujik, Todd Labrador fabrique soigneusement des canots d’écorce de bouleau avec de l’écorce, des racines d’épinette et d’autres matériaux naturels qui sont récoltés de façon durable dans les forêts acadiennes locales. Son arrière-grand-père était un maître fabricant de canots, et Todd lui-même a appris à en construire après le décès de son propre père. Aujourd’hui, il est reconnu pour son travail et est l’un des artisans les plus recherchés pour ses compétences.

Médias sociaux

Suivez-nous sur Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/KejimkujikF/ #projectdeconstructiondecanotkeji