Kejimkujik Dark Sky Weekend

Culture and entertainment History Nature Camping and accommodation
Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site.
Location(s): Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

Search Kejimkujik’s spectacular night skies for planets, galaxies, constellations and much more in Nova Scotia’s only Dark Sky Preserve! There will be stories and discoveries for all ages. Plan to camp or stay overnight close by – you don’t want to miss the show. Presented in partnership with the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC).

Friday, August 23

2 pm to 4 pm at the Visitor Centre:
Meet Keji staff and RASC amateur astronomers to find out about the activities planned for the weekend. See sunspots and prominences with safely filtered telescopes!

4 pm at the Sky Circle in Jeremy’s Bay Campground (P1):
“Walk the Solar System” family program with Paul Heath of RASC. Learn about planets in our solar system! This interactive, kid-friendly activity is sure to please budding astronomers of all ages!

8:30 pm to 9:15 pm at the Campfire Circle in Jeremy’s Bay Campground (P2):
Elapultiek by Fire by shalan joudry: An outdoor theatre production. Details

9 pm to midnight at the Sky Circle in Jeremy’s Bay Campground (P1):
Join the astronomers from RASC and Kejimkujik guides and learn how to see the planets Jupiter and Saturn through telescopes, plus many deep sky wonders. When it is dark, enjoy a guided tour of the sky. Limited parking! Please walk! 

Saturday, August 24

1 pm to 4 pm at the Merrymakedge canteen (P4):
10th Anniversary Astronomy Drop-in! Celebrate 10 years of the Kejimkujik Dark Sky weekend: enjoy cake and a chat with RASC astronomers. Learn to use a StarFinder, binoculars and telescopes (bring in your own telescopes for tips), and how to photograph nightscapes. This is your chance to “Ask an Astronomer!”

8 pm at the Visitor Centre theatre:
“Connect with Mi’kmaw Moons” Cathy LeBlanc of Acadia First Nation and Dave Chapman of RASC will share Mi’kmaw teachings of the moon times throughout the year and how they relate to the natural phenomena around us. You could win a Celestron FirstScope 76 (courtesy of Atlantic Photo Supply) and astronomy books by John A. Read! Enter by attending the presentation; the prizes will be drawn at the end.

9 pm to midnight at the Sky Circle in Jeremy’s Bay Campground (P1):
Join the astronomers from RASC and learn how to see the planets Jupiter and Saturn through telescope, plus many deep sky wonders. When it is dark, enjoy a guided tour of the sky. Limited parking! Please walk!

9:30 pm to 10:30 pm at Merrymakedge Beach:
Mi’kmaq Storytelling: A Dark Sky Cultural Experience. Details

Sunday, August 25

9 pm at Merrymakedge Beach (P4):
Drop-in public dark sky observing with RASC telescopes—Join the astronomers from RASC to view the planets Jupiter and Saturn through telescopes, plus many deep sky wonders. Note: this program will take place only if the sky is clear; please contact the Visitor Centre anytime after noon for confirmation.

9:30 pm at Farmlands Trail:
Spirit of the Settlers Night Hike evening theatre hike. Details

Fin de semaine sous le ciel étoilé de Kejimkujik

Culture et divertissement Histoire Nature Camping et hébergement
Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik.
Endroit(s) : Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

Venez observer le ciel étoilé de Kejimkujik et repérez-y des planètes, des galaxies, des constellations et d’autres beautés célestes dans la seule réserve de ciel étoilé de la Nouvelle-Écosse! Des histoires et des découvertes attendent les visiteurs de tous les âges. Prévoyez de camper ou de séjourner tout près du parc pour ne pas rater le spectacle! Présenté en partenariat avec la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada.

Vendredi 23 août 2019

14h à 16h au Centre d’accueil:
Rencontrez les employés de Keji et les astronomes amateurs du SRAC pour vous informer à propos des activités planifiées cette fin de semaine. Observez des taches solaires et des protubérances solaires à l’aide de télescopes comportants des filtres adaptés.

16h au Cercle céleste du camping de la Baie Jeremy (P1):
«Parcourez le système solaire», un programme familial avec Paul Heath de la SRAC. Apprenez à propos des planètes de notre système solaire! Cette activité interactive et attrayante pour les enfants a tout pour plaire aux astronomes de n’importe quel âge!

20h30 à 21h au Cercle de feu de camp du camping de la Baie Jeremy (P2):
«Elapultiek » par shalan joudry: Une production théâtrale extérieure. Détails

21h à minuit au Cercle céleste dans le camping de la Baie Jeremy (P1):
Joignez vous aux astronomes de la SRAC et aux guides de Kejimkujik et apprenez comment regarder les planètes Jupiter et Saturne à travers un télescope, ainsi que plusieurs merveilles du ciel profond. Lorsque la noirceur s’installe, appréciez un tour guidé du ciel. Places de stationnement limitées! Marchez si possible!

Samedi 24 août 2019

13h à 16h à la cantine Merrymakedge (P4):
Rassemblement d’astronomie du 10e anniversaire! Célebrez les 10 ans de la Fin de semaine sous le ciel étoilé de Kejimkujik : dégustez du gâteau et jasez avec les astronomes de la SRAC. Apprenez comment utiliser un cherche-étoile, des jumelles et un télescope (apportez votre propre télescope pour des trucs), et comment photographier des paysages nocturnes. C’est votre chance de demander n’importe quelle question à un astronome!

20h à l’amphithéâtre du Centre d’accueil :
« Connectez avec les lunes Mi’kmaw » Cathy LeBlanc de Acadia First Nation et Dave Chapman de la SRAC partageront de l’enseignement mi’kmaw sur les moments lunaires de l’année et comment ces derniers sont reliés aux phénomènes naturels environnants. Vous pourriez gagner un Celestron FirstScope 76 (courtoisie de Atlantic Photo Supply) ainsi que des livres d’astronomie par John A. Read! Soyez admissibles en participant à la présentation, les prix seront tirés à la fin.

21h à minuit au Cercle céleste du camping de la Baie Jeremy (P1):
Joignez vous aux astronomes de la SRAC et aux guides de Kejimkujik et apprenez comment regarder les planètes Jupiter et Saturne à travers un télescope, ainsi que plusieurs merveilles du ciel profond. Lorsque la noirceur s’installe, appréciez un tour guidé du ciel. Places de stationnement limitées! Marchez si possible!

21h30 à 11h30 à la plage Merrymakedge:
Histoires mi’kmaq : Expérience culturelle d’observation du ciel étoilé. Détails

Dimanche 25 août 2019

21h à la plage Merrymakedge (P4):
Rassemblement public pour observer le ciel à l’aide de télescopes de la SRAC – Joignez-vous aux astronomes de la SRAC pour regarder les planètes Jupiter et Saturne à travers des télescopes, ainsi que plusieurs merveilles du ciel profond. Note : Ce programme aura seulement lieu si le ciel est clair. Veuillez contacter le Centre d’accueil après midi pour avoir une confirmation.

21h au sentier Farmlands:
« L’esprit des pionniers – Randonnée théâtrale nocturne ». Détails