Parks Canada Approves Relocation of Power Lines in Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Parks Canada has recently approved the relocation of power lines in the Ingonish area of Cape Breton Highlands National Park. Nova Scotia Power will begin clearing the work area as early as October 7 and work is expected to last until early 2020.

Parks Canada has a rigorous review and environmental assessment process as a federal land manager under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act that ensures healthy ecosystems are maintained. This proposal underwent a detailed impact analysis (DIA) which involved public and Mi’kmaw consultation. Through the DIA process, Parks Canada has determined this proposal is not likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects and is well designed to avoid and mitigate unfavourable impacts.

The project includes the relocation of 3.6 km of power lines along the Cabot Trail in the Ingonish area within Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The current power lines are in a wooded area that passes through Ingonish Beach Campground, Clyburn Brook, and Broad Cove Campground. Rebuilding the new lines near the roadside will help reduce incidents of fallen trees and improve accessibility for maintenance and outage restoration as well as outage response times.

Parks Canada is working collaboratively with Nova Scotia Power to relocate power lines while minimizing any potential negative impact on the environment.

Below is a summary of the questions we received during the consultation period and the mitigation measures for each:

Q: How will the proposed project improve electrical service to the area?

A: Completing the work will make it easier for Nova Scotia Power crews to quickly respond when outages occur. Placing the power lines near the roadside will improve accessibility for repair work, decreasing the frequency and duration of any future outages.

Q: Will the work cause delays for the travelling public?

A: To complete this project safely, targeted sections of the Cabot Trail will be reduced by a single lane of traffic Monday through Thursday each week from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Traffic control personnel will be on-site to safely guide motorists around the work site and to minimize traffic disruptions. Approximately 300 – 350 metres of road will be closed at a time to establish a safe construction zone that will reduce traffic to single direction due to limited paved road. This is a common construction practice to establish a clearly marked construction zone for the safety of public and construction workers.

Q: When will the work start? Are you expecting delays in getting this work done?

A: Nova Scotia Power is working collaboratively with Parks Canada to relocate power lines while minimizing any potential negative impact on the nearby ecosystem. It’s important that the public has an opportunity to be informed about this project and to express any concerns. That is why the public consultation process was so important.

Construction related activities such as tree trimming and off-road line removal will commence after approval from Parks Canada and conducted in a manner that will avoid disturbance to local bird species and impact on visitor experience.

The work is expected to last until early 2020.

Parcs Canada approuve le déplacement des lignes électriques dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Parcs Canada a récemment donné son approbation au déplacement des lignes électriques situées près d'Ingonish, dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. Nova Scotia Power commencera à défricher la zone de chantier dès le 7 octobre, et les travaux devraient durer jusqu'au début de 2020.

Conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale, à titre d'administrateur de terres fédérales, Parcs Canada est astreint à un processus rigoureux d'examen des projets et d'évaluation environnementale visant à préserver la santé des écosystèmes. Le présent projet a été soumis à une analyse d'impact détaillée (AID) au cours de laquelle le public et la communauté mi'kmaq ont été consultés. Dans le cadre de l'AID, Parcs Canada a déterminé que le projet n'est pas susceptible d'entraîner d'effets négatifs importants sur l'environnement et a été conçu de manière à en minimiser les répercussions.

Le projet consiste à déplacer 3,6 km de lignes électriques le long de la piste Cabot à proximité d'Ingonish, dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. Les lignes électriques traversent actuellement une zone boisée qui s'étend entre le camping d'Ingonish Beach, le ruisseau Clyburn et le camping de Broad Cove. Le déplacement des lignes le long de la route réduira les problèmes liés à la chute des arbres et facilitera l'accès pour l'entretien et les réparations, ce qui aura pour effet de réduire le délai d'intervention en cas de panne.

Parcs Canada travaille de concert avec Nova Scotia Power pour minimiser toute répercussion négative sur l'environnement associée au déplacement des lignes électriques.

La section ci-dessous résume les questions soulevées au cours de la période de consultation et décrit les mesures d'atténuation pertinentes.

Q : En quoi le projet améliorera-t-il le service d'électricité pour la région?

R : Ces travaux permettront aux équipes de Nova Scotia Power d'intervenir plus rapidement en cas de panne. Le déplacement des lignes électriques à proximité de la route facilitera l'accès pour l'entretien et contribuera à réduire le nombre de pannes et le délai de remise en service.

Q : Les travaux auront-ils des effets sur la circulation?

R : Afin de mener le projet à bien en toute sécurité, une voie de circulation sera fermée sur certaines sections de la piste Cabot du lundi au jeudi, de 7 h à 17 h. Des responsables de la circulation seront sur place pour veiller à ce que les véhicules puissent traverser le chantier en toute sécurité et atténuer autant que possible la perturbation de la circulation. Une seule voie de circulation sera fermée, par sections de 300 m à 350 m, pour assurer la sécurité du chantier. Étant donné la largeur limitée de la route asphaltée, la circulation se fera sur une seule voie en alternance. Il s'agit d'une pratique courante consistant à délimiter clairement le chantier afin de garantir la sécurité du public et des travailleurs.

Q : Quand commenceront les travaux? Prévoyez-vous des retards dans leur exécution?

R : Nova Scotia Power travaille de concert avec Parcs Canada afin de minimiser toute répercussion négative sur l’environnement associée au déplacement des lignes électriques. Parcs Canada reconnaît l’importance de donner au public la possibilité de s’informer sur le projet et d’exprimer ses préoccupations. C’est pourquoi le processus de consultation était particulièrement important.

Certains travaux, comme l'élagage des arbres et le démontage de la ligne électrique loin de la route, commenceront une fois l'approbation de Parcs Canada reçue. Ces travaux seront menés de manière à ne pas perturber les espèces d'oiseaux locales ni nuire à l'expérience des visiteurs.

Les travaux devraient durer jusqu'au début de 2020.