CEO Statement on Never Forgotten National Memorial 

Parks Canada has reviewed the entire Never Forgotten National Memorial initiative as well as the key elements and timelines within the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that guides this complex proposal.

Based on that review, Parks Canada has concluded that there are too many key elements that remain outstanding for the project to be achieved by the planned date of July 1, 2017, including the availability of funds to the Foundation, agreement on the structuring of the funding for construction and maintenance, and a definitive final design plan.

After careful consideration, Parks Canada has decided to withdraw from the MOU and the project. Parks Canada will no longer be working towards the realization of the memorial in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. As a result, the project will not be moving forward on Parks Canada land.

Parks Canada appreciates the Never Forgotten National Memorial Foundation’s vision in honouring Canadians who made the ultimate sacrifice for their country and wishes the Foundation success in its on-going pursuits.



Daniel Watson
Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada Agency


Contacts:

Media Relations
Parks Canada
1-855-862-1812
pc.media@pc.gc.ca

Énoncé du DGA sur le projet de mémorial national N’oublions jamais

Parcs Canada a examiné l’ensemble du projet du mémorial national N’oublions jamais ainsi que les éléments clés et les calendriers définis dans le protocole d’entente qui oriente cette proposition complexe.

Au terme de cette analyse, Parcs Canada a conclu que trop d’éléments clés demeurent en suspens pour que le projet puisse être réalisé à la date prévue, soit le 1er juillet 2017, incluant : les fonds disponibles pour la Fondation, entente sur la structuration du financement pour la construction et l’entretien, ainsi qu’un plan final de conception définitif.

Après avoir étudié attentivement la situation, Parcs Canada a décidé de se retirer du protocole d’entente et du projet. Parcs Canada ne travaillera plus à la réalisation du mémorial dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. Par conséquent, le projet n’ira pas de l’avant sur les terres relevant de Parcs Canada.

Parcs Canada reconnaît le bien fondé des efforts déployés par la Fondation pour honorer les canadiens et les canadiennes qui ont sacrifié leur vie pour leur pays. Dans cette optique, nous tenons à lui souhaiter tout le succès possible dans la réalisation de cette ambition.



Daniel Watson
Directeur général de l’Agence
Agence Parcs Canada


Renseignements :

Relations avec les médias
Parcs Canada
1-855-862-1812
pc.media-media.pc@canada.ca