Cape Breton Highlands National Park protects part of the Maritime Acadian Highlands Natural Region, a Parks Canada designation, which is found in the Acadian Forest Region of Canada. This natural region in conjunction with the Great Lakes - St. Lawrence Forest Region is part of a mixed hardwood-softwood forest that stretches from the Great Lakes to New England and Maritime Canada.

What kinds of plants are here?

The climate and landscape of northern Cape Breton have created an unusual mix of southern and northern plant species.

Southern (temperate) plants such as sugar maple, yellow birch and Dutchman's breeches usually occur farther south in New England, but thrive in the rich woodlands of Cape Breton's sheltered valleys. Most plants on the Cape Breton plateau are cold-loving northern (boreal) species such as balsam fir, white birch, black spruce and bunchberry.

Northern Cape Breton has 631 native plant species and 118 introduced, or "exotic", species. These species were generally brought to the area by humans, sometimes on purpose as garden plants, and sometimes accidentally. They include plants like Japanese knotweed, ox-eye daisy, lupine, and black-eyed susan, as well as dandelions and purple loosestrife.

Although part of the Maritime Acadian Highlands Natural Region, the vegetation in northern Cape Breton can actually be divided into three distinct land regions: Acadian, composed of mixed woods; Boreal, or softwood; and Taiga, made up of scrub forest, barrens and bogs.

Le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton protège une partie de la région des Hautes-Terres acadiennes des Maritimes, un site naturel désigné de Parcs Canada, enclavé dans la région forestière acadienne du Canada. Cette région forestière fait partie, avec celle des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent, d'une immense forêt mixte de feuillus et de conifères qui s'étend des Grands Lacs à la Nouvelle-Angleterre et aux provinces Maritimes.

Une grande diversité de végétaux

Le climat et les paysages du nord du Cap-Breton ont favorisé une réunion exceptionnelle de végétaux septentrionaux et méridionaux.

Habituellement, les végétaux méridionaux de climat tempéré, comme l'érable à sucre, le merisier et la dicentre à capuchon, se retrouvent bien plus au sud, en Nouvelle-Angleterre. Pourtant, ils croissent très bien dans les riches forêts des vallées protégées du Cap-Breton. Les hauteurs du plateau, toutefois, sont l'habitat d'espèces septentrionales, de climat froid, comme le sapin baumier, le bouleau à papier, l'épinette noire et le cornouiller du Canada.

Dans le nord du Cap-Breton, on a relevé 631 espèces végétales indigènes et 118 espèces végétales importées (exotiques). Pour ces dernières, on en attribue la présence aux humains, qui les cultivaient dans les jardins ou qui les ont importées accidentellement. Parmi ces « nouveaux » végétaux, signalons le renouée du Japon, le chrysanthème leucanthème, le lupin, la rudbeckie hérissée, le pissenlit officinal et le lythrum salicaire.

Le nord du Cap-Breton fait partie de la région des Hautes-Terres acadiennes des Maritimes, mais comprend trois régions de terre : la forêt acadienne (feuillus), la forêt boréale (conifères) et la taïga (halliers, landes dénudées et tourbières).