The greater yellowlegs is a medium-sized shorebird. Its most distinguishing characteristic is its long, bright yellow legs and feet. The greater yellowlegs feeds on small minnows and aquatic insects while wading in shallow water. Its nest is a depression in the ground, usually well concealed and lined with grass, moss or other plant material. The female usually lays four eggs which are buff in colour with dark brown spots and blotches. Both male and female actively care for the young.

Distribution

The greater yellowlegs breeds in the boreal forest from southern Alaska and northern British Columbia to Newfoundland and Cape Breton. It winters along both coasts from the northern United States to the Caribbean and South America.

Bird of the tundra

The greater yellowlegs generally nests in high tundra in the more northerly parts of Canada, but the taiga in Cape Breton Highlands National Park provides similar habitat. The greater yellowlegs is known to nest inside the park—look for it near the highland lakes in the summer. In the spring, greater yellowlegs are commonly encountered in the lowlands, before heading to good nesting habitat.

It is a very vocal bird, often calling when alarmed, the sound being a descending "whew-whew-whew". It also may emit a long series of monotonous "kwek-kwek-kweks." In spring it makes another call when its breeding territory is invaded, more like a "whee-oodle whee-oodle."

Le grand chevalier est un oiseau de rivage de taille moyenne. Ses longues pattes et ses pieds jaune vif en sont la caractéristique la plus remarquable. Le grand chevalier se nourrit de menés et d'insectes aquatiques en eau peu profonde. En guise de nid, il s'approprie un trou dans le sol, bien camouflé, dont il tapisse le fond avec des herbes, de la mousse ou d'autres végétaux. La femelle pond habituellement quatre oeufs de couleur fauve, parsemés de points et de taches brun foncé. Le mâle et la femelle s'occupent tous les deux des oisillons.

Répartition

Le grand chevalier niche dans le forêt boréale, du sud de l'Alaska et du nord de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu'à Terre-Neuve et au Cap-Breton. Il passe l'hiver sur la côte de l'Atlantique ou du Pacifique, du nord des États-Unis jusqu'aux Caraïbes et jusqu'en Amérique du Sud.

Un oiseau de toundra

Habituellement, le grand chevalier niche dans la toundra des régions nordiques du Canada, mais la taïga du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton présente les mêmes caractéristiques d'habitat. Comme le grand chevalier est un résident du parc, vous le verrez l'été près des lacs et des étangs des hautes-terres. Le printemps, on le rencontre aussi dans les basses terres, avant qu'il s'envole vers sa toundra de prédilection.

Le grand chevalier aime bien exercer sa voix. Quand il se sent menacé, il lance un « whew-whew-whew » en decrescendo. En d'autres temps, il peut lancer une longue suite de « kwek-kwek-kweks » monotones. Au printemps, quand on s'approche trop près de son nid, c'est un troisième cri qu'il lance: « whee-oodle whee-oodle ».