The Bicknell's thrush prefers dense softwood forest for its breeding habitat. Its nests are made mostly of moss and found in low bushes or on the ground. It needs thick forest with ample canopy cover to protect nests. It has a social structure unlike other North American songbirds because the males and females may not form traditional pair bonds and males may help at the nests. Also, the brooding of their young is more frequent and intense than many songbirds. More about these birds needs to be learned in order to develop sufficient survey methods.

Distribution

The Bicknell's thrush breeds in a few locations in eastern Canada (Québec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia). They are listed as a species of special concern by COSEWIC and there are estimated to be 5,000 - 15,000 pairs.

Threats

  • limited habitat
  • small numbers (5,000 - 15,000 pairs)
  • isolated pockets
  • nesting success low
  • low reproductive potential

Research

Cape Breton Highlands National Park has been conducting research on this bird since 2002. Studies have shown that it exists in low numbers and is not uniformly distributed in suitable habitat. It appears to be found in non-forested areas such as bogs, barrens and low, windswept vegetation of black spruce and balsam fir.

Related Links

La grive de Bicknell préfère la forêt de résineux dense comme habitat de reproduction. Son nid est fait principalement de mousse et se trouve dans un petit buisson ou sur le sol. Elle a besoin d'une forêt dense et d'un couvert ample pour protéger son nid. La structure sociale de cette espèce ne ressemble pas à celle des autres oiseaux chanteurs de l'Amérique du Nord, car les mâles et les femelles ne forment pas de couples traditionnels, et les mâles participent parfois à la construction du nid. Chez cette espèce, la couvaison est plus fréquente et plus intense que chez beaucoup d'oiseaux chanteurs. Il est nécessaire d'en apprendre davantage sur ces oiseaux afin d'élaborer des méthodes d'enquête suffisantes.

Répartition

La grive de Bicknell se reproduit dans quelques endroits de l'est du Canada (Québec, Nouveau- Brunswick et Nouvelle-Écosse). Elle est classée espèce préoccupante par le COSEPAC, et on estime que sa population varie de 5 000 à 15 000 couples.

Menaces
  • habitat limité
  • population faible (5 000 à 15 000 couples)
  • les populations sont isolés les uns des autres
  • faible succès de nidification
  • potentiel de reproduction faible
Recherche

Les chercheurs du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton poursuivent des études sur cet oiseau depuis 2002. Ces études ont montré que les populations sont peu nombreuses et qu'elles ne sont pas réparties uniformément dans l'habitat qui leur convient. On les trouve dans des aires non boisées telles que les tourbières, les landes, les peuplements d'épinettes noires et de sapins baumiers de faible hauteur et balayés par les vents.

Voir le site d'Environnement Canada pour plus d'informations sur la grive de Bicknell.