The snowshoe hare is a small hare distinguished by its large hind feet and black-tipped ears. The snowshoe hare sheds completely twice a year, changing its coat to dark brown in the spring and to white in the fall. It eats succulent vegetation in the summer and in the winter it eats twigs, buds, and bark. The female can bear 2 to 3 litters of 2 to 4 young each year between April and August. Few hares live more than 3 years in the wild.

Distribution

The snowshoe hare can be found in all of Canada except the most northern parts, in Alaska and the northern United States and can be found as far south as northern California and North Carolina in mountainous areas.

Hares as prey

Snowshoe hares are food for many other species of animals, including red fox, coyote, bobcat and hawks but they are especially important for lynx and great horned owls.

Snowshoe hare populations exhibit a cycle, usually spanning about 11 years, in which their numbers gradually increase until their population is very dense. The cycle then crashes suddenly. The crash can happen simultaneously across all of Canada and Alaska within one or two years. Scientists are not yet certain what causes the crash—it may have something to do with sunspot cycles and the effect they have on weather patterns and forest fires. It may have something to do with disease, lack of food or predation. It is probably a combination of many factors, some of which may not yet be known.

The lynx has evolved to predate most heavily on snowshoe hare although it does eat other animals as well. The lynx population is so closely intertwined with the hare population that its cycle follows the hare cycle. As snowshoe hare numbers increase, lynx numbers also rise because of increased access to food which improves birth and survival rates. When the snowshoe hare population crashes, the lynx's main food source is gone so its reproduction and survival rates also drop.

Great horned owls also seem to rely heavily upon the snowshoe hare. Occasionally, large winter migrations of great horned owls to the southern extremities of their range have been observed. These migrations seem to coincide with the crash in the snowshoe hare cycle. It is believed that the owls move further south in order to find enough food to survive the winter.

The effects of the population crash don't stop here. When there are practically no hares to eat, predators must turn to other sources of food, which means other animals get preyed upon more often. The effects of the snowshoe hare cycle are felt throughout the entire ecosystem.

Le lièvre d'Amérique est un petit lièvre qui se distingue des autres membres de la famille par ses grosses pattes de derrière et par ses oreilles au bout noir et relativement courtes. Le lièvre d'Amérique mue totalement, deux fois par année. Sa fourrure devient brun foncé le printemps et blanche l'automne. L'animal se nourrit de végétaux en été, de ramilles, de bourgeons et d'écorce. Chaque année, entre avril et août, la femelle (hase) peut avoir 2 à 3 portées de 2 à 4 petits (liévreteaux). Le lièvre vit rarement plus de 3 ans dans son habitat naturel.

Répartition

Le lièvre d'Amérique est présent partout au Canada, sauf dans les régions les plus septentrionales. On le retrouve aussi en Alaska et dans le nord des États-Unis, jusqu'en Caroline du Nord et jusque dans le nord de la Californie en terrain montagneux.

Le repas par excellence de nombreux prédateurs

Le lièvre d'Amérique est un bon repas pour de nombreux prédateurs, comme le renard roux, le coyote, le lynx roux et les buses. Pour le lynx du Canada et le grand-duc d'Amérique, il est d'une importance déterminante.

Les populations de lièvres d'Amérique ont une évolution démographique qui correspond à un cycle de 11 années environ. Les lièvres se multiplient jusqu'à atteindre graduellement une très forte densité démographique, puis les populations chutent soudainement à leur niveau le plus bas. La chute survient simultanément partout au Canada et en Alaska, en l'espace d'une année ou deux. Les scientifiques s'expliquent mal l'évolution cyclique des populations de lièvres. Le cycle du lièvre pourrait correspondre aux activités des taches solaires, qui influent sur le climat et les incendies de forêt. La maladie, le manque de nourriture et les prédateurs sont d'autres facteurs à prendre en considération. Le cycle du lièvre est probablement attribuable à une combinaison de facteurs, dont certains sont peut-être encore inconnus.

Bien qu'il se nourrisse d'autres animaux, le lynx du Canada est devenu très dépendant du lièvre d'Amérique. Le lynx du Canada est si intimement lié au lièvre que l'évolution démographique de sa population correspond au cycle du lièvre. Plus il y a de lièvres, plus il y a de lynx. La nourriture est abondante, ce qui fait augmenter les taux de natalité et de survie des petits lynx. Et le contraire est aussi vrai quand s'effondrent les populations de lièvres.

Le grand-duc d'Amérique semble aussi très dépendant du lièvre d'Amérique. Quand on observe de fortes migrations hivernales de grands-ducs jusqu'aux limites australes de leur aire de répartition, cela veut dire que les populations de lièvres sont à leur plus bas niveau. On croit que les grands-ducs voyagent alors loin au sud pour trouver la nourriture suffisante pour assurer la survie de l'espèce.

Le cycle du lièvre a d'autres conséquences sur l'écosystème, puisque la chute dramatique des populations oblige ses prédateurs à se tourner vers d'autres sources de nourriture. Davantage de petits animaux des autres espèces tombent alors sous les crocs des prédateurs et les effets se font sentir sur toute la chaîne alimentaire.