Caribou are members of the deer family and are known as reindeer in other parts of the world. Their woodland range includes arctic tundra, subarctic taiga and boreal softwood forest. Their preferred food is lichens. One individual can eat up to 10 pounds of lichens every day. Males are bigger than females and shed their antlers in early November, whereas females shed them in April or May.

Distribution

Caribou are now extirpated in Nova Scotia. The caribou were found in Cape Breton until the 1920s. In 1968 and 1969, two groups of caribou from Québec (totalling 51) were re introduced to Cape Breton Highlands National Park. Caribou were last sighted in Cape Breton in 1972 and later searches did not find any evidence of them. Some populations elsewhere in Canada have recently been listed by COSEWIC as threatened.

Reasons for Extirpation

The reasons for the disappearance of caribou in Cape Breton are not known but it has been hypothesized that a brain disease caused by a worm found in the white tailed deer population was responsible. This worm is generally harmless in white tailed deer but has proved fatal for moose and caribou.

This example shows the importance of preventing species from becoming extirpated because re introductions are not always successful or practical.

Le caribou fait partie de la famille des cervidés et est connu sous le nom de renne dans d'autres parties du monde. Son aire de répartition boisée comprend la toundra arctique, la taïga subarctique et la forêt boréale. Son aliment préféré est le lichen. Un caribou peut manger jusqu'à 10 livres de lichens par jour. Les mâles sont plus gros que les femelles et perdent leurs bois au début de novembre, tandis que les femelles les perdent en avril ou en mai.

Distribution

Le caribou est maintenant disparu de la Nouvelle-Écosse. On trouvait des caribous au Cap-Breton jusque dans les années 1920. En 1968 et 1969, deux groupes de caribous du Québec (51 en tout) ont été réintroduits dans le parc national des Hautes Terres du Cap Breton. Le caribou a été vu pour la dernière fois au Cap-Breton en 1972 et les recherches ultérieures n'ont permis de trouver aucun signe de leur présence. Récemment, le COSEPAC a placé sur la liste des espèces menacées certaines populations qui se trouvent ailleurs au Canada.

Raisons de la disparition

Les raisons de la disparition du caribou au Cap-Breton ne sont pas connues, mais certains croient qu'une maladie du cerveau causée par un ver trouvé dans la population des cerfs de Virginie en serait la cause. Ce ver n'est pas dangereux pour les cerfs de Virginie, mais il s'est révélé fatal pour l'orignal et le caribou.

Cet exemple montre l'importance de la prévention pour éviter la disparition des espèces vu que la réintroduction n'est pas toujours réussie ni pratique.