You might not think it to look at them, but dragonflies and their smaller cousins, damselflies, are all voracious carnivores. In fact, these two groups of insects are unusual in the insect world because both their larval and adult forms are carnivorous. The larvae are quite large and eat anything that moves in their watery home and is small enough for them to tackle, including other dragonfly larvae, worms and small fish. The adults feed on other insects, including smaller dragonflies, mosquitoes and black flies.

Contrary to popular belief, dragonflies do not bite or sting humans. So next time you are out hiking and a dragonfly hovers in close to you, take a moment to admire its beautiful markings, and thank it for eating the mosquitoes that are eating you.

There are 85 species of dragonflies and damselflies known to be living on Cape Breton Island. Just under half that number (40) are known to live in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. Dragonfly and damselfly larvae can be found in just about any freshwater habitat that is productive enough to feed their appetites, but only certain species will be found in each kind of habitat.

Dragonflies in Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Dragonflies are generally large and often chunkier than their damselfly cousins. When perched, dragonflies don't fold their wings above their backs, but hold them horizontally out on either side of the body. Two kinds of dragonfly you can find in the park are the striped emeralds and the wandering glider.

Striped emeralds

There are around 11 species of striped emeralds in the northern Cape Breton Ecosystem. Five species can be found in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. Striped emeralds are medium to large darkly-coloured dragonflies with metallic highlights and emerald green eyes. Many of them may have yellow markings as well.

The Québec emerald and the incurvate emerald both live in Cape Breton and are the only two species of dragonflies that live in Canada which have been redlisted by the IUCN.

The wandering glider

Wandering gliders are a well-known migratory species of dragonfly. They are known worldwide and have been found 800 kilometres out to sea! It is uncertain whether they complete their life cycle in Cape Breton or are just passing through. Wandering gliders are quite large and breed in temporary ponds and pools. They are golden brown with clear wings, an orange face and golden eyes. They're the only large gold dragonfly you'll see in the park.

Damselflies in Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Damselflies are generally smaller and slimmer than dragonflies, and when perched, they hold their wings together above their backs. Two kinds of damselfly you might encounter in the park are the ebony jewelwing and the bluet.

The ebony jewelwing

Ebony jewelwings live around running streams of all sizes. The female lays her eggs in aquatic vegetation in the stream. She is bronze in colour and has gray wings with white bases. The male is iridescent green with ebony wings. The ebony jewelwing is the most common kind of jewelwing in the region. Jewelwings are the largest kinds of damselflies in northeastern Canada.

Bluets

There are around 6 different species of bluet found in the northern Cape Breton ecosystem. They are the most common blue damselfly you'll see in the park. Most bluets live near slow moving waters. The males are generally sky blue and the females are gray or brown.

Elles sont si belles, que vous les croyez aussi douces. Ne vous y trompez pas! Les libellules et leurs petits cousins, les demoiselles, sont de voraces carnivores. En réalité, ces deux groupes d'insectes sont exceptionnels dans leur univers animal, puisque les formes larvaires et adultes sont toutes deux carnivores. Les larves, particulièrement grosses, mangent tout ce qu'elles peuvent attraper dans leur domicile aqueux, y compris d'autres larves de libellules, des vers et des petits poissons. Pour leur part, les adultes se nourrissent d'insectes, y compris de plus petites libellules, des maringouins et des mouches noires.

Contrairement à la croyance populaire, les libellules ne mordent ni ne piquent les humains. Le randonneur a donc tout intérêt à s'arrêter quand il voit une libellule, pour prendre le temps d'en admirer les belles couleurs et les reflets. Il peut même la remercier pour tous ces moustiques dévorés qui ne le piqueront plus.

On a recensé 85 espèces de libellules et de demoiselles dans l'île du Cap-Breton et un peu moins de la moitié - 40 pour être précis - dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. Les larves de libellules et de demoiselles reposent dans presque tous les points d'eau douce suffisamment productifs pour satisfaire leur voracité. Chaque type d'habitat ne présente toutefois qu'un nombre limité d'espèces.

Les libellules dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

En règle générale, les libellules sont plus grosses et plus ventrues que les demoiselles. Au repos, elles ne replient pas les ailes sur leur dos, mais les tiennent à l'équerre et à l'horizontale de chaque côté du corps. Dans le parc, entre autres libellules, vous verrez des cordulies et la pantale flavescente.

Les cordulies

On trouve 11 espèces de cordulies dans l'écosystème du nord du Cap-Breton, dont cinq dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. Les cordulies sont des libellules de taille moyenne à grande, de couleur foncée, avec des reflets métalliques et de gros yeux vert émeraude. Beaucoup d'individus présentent aussi des mouchetures jaunes.

La cordulie de Robert et la cordulie incurvée, présentes dans le parc, sont les deux seules libellules du Canada, inscrites sur la liste rouge de l'Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN).

La pantale flavescente

La pantale flavescente est une espèce migratrice bien connue dans le monde entier. On en a trouvé des sujets à 800 kilomètres en mer, ce qui représente tout un voyage pour une libellule. La question demeure à savoir si le Cap-Breton n'est qu'un lieu de passage. La pantale flavescente, relativement grosse, se reproduit dans les étangs et cuvettes temporaires. Le corps est brun doré et la face orange. Les ailes sont transparentes et les yeux dorés. Vous n'en verrez nulle autre pareillement dorée dans le parc national.

Les demoiselles dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Généralement plus petites et plus élancées que les libellules, les demoiselles replient les ailes sur leur dos quand elles sont au repos. Le visiteur du parc devrait être en mesure d'observer le caloptéryx bistré et différentes espèces d'agrions.

Le caloptéryx bistré

Le caloptéryx bistré vit aux abords des eaux courantes. La femelle y dépose ses oeufs dans la flore aquatique. Son corps est bronze et supporte des ailes grises dans leur partie supérieure et blanches au niveau du corps. Le caloptéryx mâle est vert iridescent avec des ailes d'ébène. Dans la région, le caloptéryx bistré est le plus courant de sa famille et, dans le nord-est du Canada, le plus gros des demoiselles.

Les agrions

On a relevé 6 espèces d'agrions dans l'écosystème du nord du Cap-Breton. Cette famille de demoiselles bleues est la plus fréquente dans le parc. La plupart des agrions vivent près des cours d'eau tranquilles. Habituellement, le mâle est bleu ciel et la femelle est grise ou brune.