The term "invertebrate" covers a vast number of animal species, anything from single-celled creatures to jellyfish to spiders to lobsters. Like elsewhere in the world, invertebrates make up more than three quarters of the species of animals in Cape Breton.

Invertebrates can be herbivores, keeping plants and trees in check. They can be carnivores, eating other invertebrates as well as larger animals. They can be parasites, keeping the numbers of a certain type of plant or animal down, and perhaps most important of all, they can be detritivores, eating dead animal and plant matter and in doing so, releasing important nutrients back into the environment so they can be used by other plants and animals. Most invertebrates are food for other species of animals and even for carnivorous plants like the sundew.

Land-based and freshwater invertebrates

More than 4,000 species of land-based and freshwater insects and spiders have been identified within Cape Breton Highlands National Park.

Stoneflies and caddisflies, which live in freshwater streams and ponds, are important sources of food for trout and salmon. Bees and wasps are important for pollination of plants. Dragonflies eat other insects. Many species of beetle are detritivores. The spruce budworm helps keep the boreal forest from becoming a monoculture stand of balsam fir, which would decrease biodiversity.

Terrestrial snails and slugs are also invertebrates. Other molluscs such as freshwater mussels, clams and snails are part of the food chain in the park's rivers and lakes. One species of special interest is the valve snail, which lives in Freshwater Lake. This is the only known site for this animal in Nova Scotia.

Introduced invertebrates include earwigs, earthworms and several forest insects.

Intertidal Invertebrates

Cape Breton Highlands National Park does not have a lot of intertidal invertebrates because of small daily tidal changes and because the coast is unprotected and frequently pounded by waves and scoured by ice.

Invertebrates that may be found on rocky headlands in the park include sea stars, the green sea urchin, rock crab, blue mussel, periwinkle, dog whelks and barnacles. The few sand beaches in the park provide habitat for sand dollars, moon snails, clams and a variety of amphipods such as the beach flea. Cobble beaches are common in the park but provide very little habitat for invertebrates because of the constant tumbling of the cobbles by the waves.

Introduced intertidal invertebrates include isopods and the green crab, which is a potential threat to mussel populations.

Marine Invertebrates

The most well-known and commercially important marine invertebrates are lobster and snow crab. Other marine invertebrates which are important from an ecological point of view are zooplankton species (tiny shrimp and other animals). These small creatures make up the bulk of the diet of the plankton-eating basking shark and many other fish and of baleen whales like the humpback and fin whale. Jellyfish are also commonly found in the waters off Nova Scotia and are the main diet of the endangered leatherback turtle.

Les invertébrés comprennent un nombre faramineux d'espèces, aussi bien des créatures unicellulaires que des animaux plus évolués comme les méduses, les araignées et les homards. Dans l'île du Cap-Breton, comme partout dans le monde, les invertébrés comptent pour plus des trois quarts des espèces animales.

Les invertébrés mangent de tout, selon leur famille d'appartenance. Les herbivores influent sur la composition végétale de l'écosystème. Les carnivores se nourrissent d'autres invertébrés et d'animaux plus gros. Les parasites contrôlent les populations de certains végétaux et animaux. Les détritivores, qui sont probablement les plus importants, se nourrissent de végétaux et d'animaux morts et en libèrent les éléments nutritifs, ce qui favorise les composantes vivantes de l'écosystème. La plupart des invertébrés sont eux-mêmes un régal pour bien des espèces animales et pour les plantes carnivores comme le rossolis.

Invertébrés de terre et d'eau douce

Le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton est l'habitat de plus de 4 000 espèces d'insectes et d'araignées de terre et d'eau douce.

Les perles et les trichoptères vivent dans les cours d'eau et les étangs et sont un aliment important pour la truite et le saumon. Les abeilles et les guêpes assurent la pollinisation des végétaux. Les libellules mangent d'autres insectes. Beaucoup de coléoptères se repaissent de détritus. La tordeuse des bourgeons de l'épinette veille à ce que la forêt boréale ne devienne pas une monoculture de sapins baumiers, contribuant ainsi à la biodiversité.

Les gastéropodes terrestres et les limaces sont également des invertébrés. Il ne faut surtout pas oublier les mollusques du parc national, comme les moules, palourdes et gastéropodes d'eau douce, composantes importantes de la chaîne alimentaire des lacs et cours d'eau. La valvée présente un intérêt particulier, puisque notre lac Freshwater est le seul habitat connu de cet animal en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Les invertébrés introduits dans le parc comprennent les perce-oreilles, les vers de terre et plusieurs insectes forestiers.

Invertébrés de la zone intertidale

Le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton compte peu d'invertébrés de la zone intertidale parce que les marées n'y sont pas très fortes et parce que la côte est exposée et battue par les vagues et les glaces.

Sur les pointes rocheuses, le visiteur verra des étoiles de mer, l'oursin vert, le crabe commun, la moule bleue, le pourpre de l'Atlantique, des bigorneaux et des balanes. Les quelques plages sablonneuses du parc national sont l'habitat du dollar de sable, de la natice, des palourdes et d'une variété d'amphipodes comme la puce de mer. Le parc compte davantage de plages rocailleuses, mais les invertébrés n'y sont pas à leur mieux, puisque les vagues déferlantes bouleversent constamment les petites roches.

Les invertébrés introduits comprennent des isopodes et le crabe vert qui est une menace potentielle pour les populations de moules.

Invertébrés marins

Le homard et le crabe des neiges sont les invertébrés marins les plus connus et les plus importants pour notre économie. Mais pour l'écosystème, d'autres invertébrés marins sont loin d'être quantité négligeable. Le zooplancton, qui se compose de minuscules crevettes et d'autres invertébrés, est la nourriture de base du requin-pèlerin et de bien d'autres poissons et mysticètes, comme la baleine à bosse mégaptère et le rorqual commun. Les eaux qui baignent la Nouvelle-Écosse sont également riches en méduses, l'aliment de base de la tortue luth, une espèce en voie de disparition.