Amphibians and reptiles are very beneficial to the ecosystem. Cape Breton Highlands National Park is home to a relatively small number of amphibians and reptiles, mainly because of cold temperatures, limited habitat available for these types of animal, and natural barriers preventing them from moving in to Cape Breton.

Frogs, toads, newts and salamanders

Amphibians fulfill the role of both predator and prey. In some ecosystems, if you were to take out all the birds, mammals, reptiles, fish and amphibians and weigh them by group, the amphibians would weigh more than any other group of vertebrate animals. That's a lot of amphibians!

The most common woodland amphibians in Cape Breton Highlands National Park include the red-backed salamander, yellow-spotted salamander, wood frog, spring peeper and American toad. The red-spotted newt, northern leopard frog, green frog, mink frog and pickerel frog live in small ponds and lakes within the park.

Worldwide, scientists have found that the numbers of amphibians are steadily decreasing. These animals may be especially vulnerable to pollution since they have very thin skins which absorb toxins readily. Some other reasons for the decline may include habitat destruction and disease.

Snakes and turtles

All four species of snake found within the park are small and not venomous. The Maritime garter snake is by far the most common snake seen within the park but the northern redbelly snake, northern ringneck snake and eastern smooth green snake can also be found here.

Far from being harmful, many of the snakes of Nova Scotia are quite helpful in keeping down the populations of insects and rodents. Garter snakes eat amphibians, small fish, worms and mice. Green snakes generally snack on moth larvae like the tent caterpillar, and spiders. The northern ringneck snake loves a good red-backed salamander, while the redbelly snake is a gardener's best friend - their favourite food is slugs.

The endangered leatherback turtle, a sea turtle, sometimes swims off the coast of the park in search of jellyfish, which it eats.

Checklist of amphibians in Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Family (Common name)
Species Scientific name Status in the park
Ambystomatidae (Mole salamanders)
Blue-spotted salamander Ambystoma laterale
Uncommon
Yellow-spotted salamander Ambystoma maculatum Common
Salamandridae (Newts)
Red-spotted newt Notopthalmus viridescens viridescens Common
Plethodontidae (Lungless salamanders)
Eastern redback salamander Plethodon cinereus
Common
Four-toed salamander Hemidactylium scutatum Rare
Bufonidae (Toads)
Eastern American toad Anaxyrus americanus americanus Abundant
Hylidae (Tree frogs)
Northern spring peeper Hyla crucifer crucifer Common
Ranidae (True frogs)
Green frog Lithobates clamitans melanota
Abundant
Mink frog Lithobates septentrionalis Rare
Wood frog Lithobates sylvatica Common
Northern leopard frog Lithobates pipiens Common
Pickerel frog Lithobates palustris Uncommon

Checklist of reptiles in Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Family (Common name)
Species Scientific name Status in the park
Colubridae (Colubrid snakes)
Northern redbelly snake Storeria occipitomaculata occipitomaculata Probably common in certain areas
Maritime garter snake Thamnophis sirtalis pallidula Abundant
Northern ringneck snake Diadophis punctatus edwardsii Probably common in certain areas
Eastern smooth green snake Liochlorophis vernalis vernalis Probably common in certain areas

Les amphibiens et les reptiles sont très bénéfiques pour l'écosystème. Le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton est l'habitat d'un nombre relativement modeste d'amphibiens et de reptiles. Il y fait trop froid, l'habitat est limité pour ces animaux et des barrières naturelles les empêchent de s'établir dans l'île du Cap-Breton.

Grenouilles, crapauds, tritons et salamandres

Les amphibiens assument à la fois les fonctions de prédateur et de proie. Dans certains sites naturels, si l'on pouvait regrouper tous les oiseaux, tous les mammifères, tous les reptiles, tous les poissons et tous les amphibiens, ces derniers l'emporteraient au poids. De quoi remplir un plein camion d'amphibiens!

Les amphibiens les plus courants au parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton sont la salamandre cendrée, la salamandre maculée, la grenouille des bois, la rainette crucifère et le crapaud américain. Dans les étangs et les lacs, on trouve le triton vert, la grenouille léopard du nord, la grenouille verte, la grenouille du nord et la grenouille des marais.

Dans le monde entier, les scientifiques ont constaté une diminution constante des populations d'amphibiens. Ces animaux sont probablement très vulnérables à la pollution, puisque leur épiderme très mince absorbe facilement les toxines. Parmi les autres raisons qui peuvent justifier ce phénomène, signalons la destruction de l'habitat et la maladie.

Serpents et tortues

Dans le parc, tous les serpents appartiennent à quatre espèces de petite taille et parfaitement inoffensives. Le visiteur a de bonnes chances de voir une couleuvre rayée, mais il peut aussi rencontrer la couleuvre à ventre rouge, la couleuvre à collier et la couleuvre verte.

Les serpents de la Nouvelle-Écosse contribuent à limiter la prolifération des insectes et rongeurs. La couleuvre rayée se nourrit d'amphibiens, de petits poissons, de vers et de souris. La couleuvre verte préfère les araignées et les larves de noctuelles comme la livrée d'Amérique. La couleuvre à collier raffole de la salamandre cendrée, tandis que la couleuvre à ventre rouge aide le jardinier à se débarrasser des limaces

La tortue luth, une tortue marine en voie de disparition, fréquente parfois les eaux limitrophes du parc à la recherche d'un bon repas de méduse.

Liste des amphibiens dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton
Famille (nom commun)
Espèce Nom scientifique Présence dans le parc
Ambystomatidés (salamandres fouisseuses)
Salamandre à points bleus Ambystoma laterale
Peu fréquente
Salamandre maculée Ambystoma maculatum Fréquente
Salamandridés (tritons)
Triton vert Notopthalmus viridescens viridescens Fréquente
Pléthodontidés (salamandres dépourvues de poumons)
Salamandre cendrée Plethodon cinereus
Fréquente
Salamandre à quatre doigts Hemidactylium scutatum Rare
Bufonidés (crapauds)
Crapaud américain de l'est Anaxyrus americanus americanus Abondante
Hylidés (rainettes)
Rainette crucifère boréale Hyla crucifer crucifer Fréquente
Ranidés (vraies grenouilles)
Grenouille verte Lithobates clamitans melanota
Abondante
Grenouille du nord Lithobates septentrionalis Rare
Grenouille des bois Lithobates sylvatica Fréquente
Grenouille léopard du nord Lithobates pipiens Fréquente
Grenouille des marais Lithobates palustris Peu fréquente

Liste des reptiles dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton
Famille (nom commun)
Espèce Nom scientifique Présence dans le parc
Colubridés (couleuvres)
Couleuvre à ventre rouge Storeria occipitomaculata occipitomaculata Probablement fréquente dans certains secteurs
Couleuvre rayée Thamnophis sirtalis pallidula Abondante
Couleuvre à collier Diadophis punctatus edwardsi Probablement fréquente dans certains secteurs
Couleuvre verte Opheodrys vernalis vernalis Probablement fréquente dans certains secteurs