Most plants need soil to grow and so in a way, soil is the raw material of the food chain. Surficial deposits often contribute to soil formation or eventually develop into soils themselves.

Surficial deposits are basically piles of loose material lying on top of the bedrock. They may include small bits of the bedrock which have fractured off. Within Cape Breton Highlands National Park, most of these deposits were left by glaciers - 60% of the park is covered by glacial till. 20% of the park is covered by deposits left by the weathering of the mountains, 10% of the park is covered by decomposing plant matter, called organic peat, while the rest of the park (7%) is covered by deposits left by rivers and flooding.

Soil formation and development are the products of climate, vegetation, landscape, the nature of the bedrock on which the soil develops, and time. After the retreat of the local ice-cap at the end of the last ice age, soils in Cape Breton Highlands National Park developed from deposits of sand, gravel and silt.

Soils in the park are mostly poor, thin and stony. By far the most common types of soil within the park are podzols, acidic soils which form in softwood forests and cool, humid climates. Other types of soil found in the park include immature rocky soils called regosols, rich hardwood forest soils called brunisols, and soils composed mostly of plant matter or peat, called fibrisols.

All the boreal forest and taiga vegetation in Cape Breton grows in soil consisting of decomposing previous generations of plants - mostly podzols and fibrisols. These thin organic soils are easily stripped away by fire, wind, rain and the trampling action of many moose hooves and human feet.

La plupart des végétaux ont besoin des sols pour vivre et croître. Les sols constituent, en quelque sorte, la matière première de la chaîne alimentaire. Les dépôts superficiels enrichissent les sols ou se transforment en sols.

Les dépôts superficiels se définissent par des particules solides qui se déposent sur le sol ou la roche mère. Ces dépôts peuvent comprendre des particules du sol ou de la roche mère. Dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, le till provenant du retrait des glaciers compte pour 60 % des dépôts superficiels. La provenance des autres dépôts se répartit comme suit : 20 % pour les particules de l'érosion des montagnes, 10 % pour les matières végétales en décomposition (humus); 7 % pour les particules déposées par les cours d'eau et les inondations.

Le climat, la flore, la topographie des lieux, les propriétés de la roche mère et le temps sont autant de facteurs qui influent sur la formation et l'évolution des sols. Après le retrait de la calotte locale et la fin de l'ère glaciaire, les sols du parc national se sont formés à partir des moraines de sable, de gravier et de limon.

En règle générale, les sols du parc national sont pauvres, minces et rocailleux. Les podzols sont le type de sol nettement le plus fréquent. Il s'agit de sols acides, typiques des forêts de conifères soumises à un climat humide et frais. Les autres types de sols comprennent les régosols (matières minérales), les brunisols (des forêts de feuillus riches en matières végétales) et les fibrisols (humus végétal).

Dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, la flore de la forêt boréale et de la taïga vit et croît dans des sols formés par la décomposition des générations antérieures de végétaux, surtout des podzols et des fibrisols. Ces sols minces s'érodent facilement sous l'effet des incendies de forêt, du vent, de la pluie et du piétinement par l'orignal et l'homme.