Non-native species are species that did not occur naturally within the local ecosystem until relatively modern times. Their arrival within the ecosystem was assisted by modern human activities and development. Non-native species can displace native species by out-competing them for space and food, by preying on susceptible native species or by introducing new diseases to native populations which have not yet evolved to fight off these diseases.

Here are some examples of introduced species which are harmful to native species in Cape Breton:

Plants - Purple loosestrife, a showy and beautiful purple flowering plant that chokes out native wetland habitat, was brought to North America as a garden plant and has since spread to many natural areas.

Mammals - The bobcat may compete with the native Canada lynx for food and habitat. It arrived on Cape Breton on its own when the Canso Causeway was being built in the 1950s.

Birds - The European starling is known to have a negative impact on native bird species elsewhere in North America. European starlings were released in the New World by Europeans and have spread over much of North America, including Cape Breton.

Fish - Rainbow trout and brown trout compete for food and habitat with the native brook trout and Atlantic salmon. Rainbow trout and brook trout were once stocked in lakes and rivers in Cape Breton and may also have escaped from fish farms.

Invertebrates - The common periwinkle has had an enormous impact on rocky coastal habitats all along the eastern seaboard. It has changed the natural habitat and altered the relationships between living things in intertidal areas. It was introduced in Nova Scotia probably unintentionally with ballast from ships.

Diseases - The brain worm Parelaphostrongylus tenuis is harmless to white-tailed deer but deadly to moose and caribou. It arrived with the white-tailed deer which expanded their range northward after humans cleared land for farming.

Beech bark disease is a fungus carried by an insect which disfigures and ultimately can kill beech trees. It was accidentally introduced to North America via Nova Scotia in the 1920s and has since spread throughout the Maritime provinces.

Les espèces non indigènes sont celles qui n'étaient pas présentes naturellement dans l'écosystème avant des temps relativement modernes. Elles y ont été introduites à la faveur d'installations ou d'activités humaines. Ces espèces peuvent s'approprier la nourriture ou le territoire d'espèces indigènes, s'attaquer à des populations fragiles ou transmettre de nouvelles maladies contre lesquelles les populations indigènes n'ont encore aucun pouvoir immunitaire.

Voici quelques exemples d'espèces introduites qui sont nocives aux espèces indigènes du Cap-Breton :

Plantes - La salicaire pourpre, fleur voyante qui étouffe les terres humides, a été introduite en Amérique du Nord comme plante de jardin et s'est depuis propagée à de nombreuses aires naturelles.

Mammifères - Le lynx roux fait sans doute concurrence au lynx du Canada, une espèce indigène, pour ses proies et son habitat. Il a migré jusqu'au Cap-Breton pendant la construction du pont-jetée sur le détroit de Canso, dans les années 1950.

Oiseaux - Il a été prouvé que l'étourneau sansonnet nuisait aux oiseaux indigènes de l'Amérique du Nord. L'espèce a été relâchée dans le Nouveau Monde par les Européens et s'est établie sur l'essentiel du territoire nord-américain, y compris au Cap-Breton.

Poissons - La truite arc-en-ciel et la truite de mer disputent nourriture et habitat à deux espèces indigènes, l'omble de fontaine et le saumon atlantique. Elles ont été introduites dans les lacs et les cours d'eau du Cap-Breton par l'ensemencement. Il se peut aussi qu'elles se soient échappées de stations piscicoles.

Invertébrés - Le bigorneau a eu un impact énorme sur les habitats rocheux de la façade maritime est. Il a transformé l'habitat naturel et a modifié les relations entre les organismes vivants des zones intertidales. Le bigorneau a été introduit en Nouvelle-Écosse, sans doute involontairement, par l'eau de ballast des navires.

Maladies - Le ver des méninges Parelaphostrongylus tenuis est tout à fait inoffensif pour le cerf de Virginie, mais il tue l'orignal et le caribou. Son hôte, le cerf de Virginie, l'a introduit dans l'écosystème lorsqu'il a élargi son territoire vers le nord, par suite du déboisement des forêts pour l'agriculture.

Le champignon responsable de la maladie corticale du hêtre parasite un insecte. Il défigure les hêtres et finit par les tuer. Cette maladie a été introduite accidentellement en Amérique du Nord par la Nouvelle-Écosse dans les années 1920 et s'est propagée depuis dans toutes les provinces Maritimes.