Native species are any species that occur naturally in a local ecosystem. They have been present within the local ecosystem for many years and originally arrived by normal processes of dispersal and colonization.

Since everything in an ecosystem has evolved to be dependent on everything else in it, loss of any native species results in an overall weakening of the ecosystem, making it less resilient to change .

The American Beech is a tree that is native to Cape Breton. Currently, beech trees in northern Cape Breton are being affected by a disease which eventually will kill many of them. Beech trees are an extremely important source of food for many kinds of animals which feed on the beech nuts. If most of our beech trees die because of beech bark disease, then there will be fewer beech nuts for animals to eat, and thus fewer of those animals.

Les espèces indigènes sont celles qui se trouvent naturellement dans un écosystème. Elles y sont présentes depuis de nombreuses années et y sont arrivées par les processus naturels de la dispersion et de la colonisation.

Puisque chaque composante de l'écosystème évolue de façon à dépendre des autres éléments constituants, la perte d'une espèce indigène, quelle qu'elle soit, a pour effet d'affaiblir l'écosystème et de le rendre moins résistant au changement .

Le hêtre à grandes feuilles est une essence indigène du Cap-Breton. À l'heure actuelle, les hêtres de la partie nord de l'île sont victimes d'un champignon qui finira par tuer de nombreux spécimens. Le hêtre est une source de nourriture extrêmement importante pour de nombreuses espèces d'animaux qui s'alimentent de ses glands. Si la plupart de nos hêtres meurent de la maladie corticale du hêtre, il y aura moins de glands, ce qui se traduira par une baisse des populations fauniques qui dépendent de ce type de nourriture.