Cape Breton Island borders on three Parks Canada marine regions. The Magdalen Shallows and Laurentian Channel marine regions are found within the Gulf of St. Lawrence while the Scotian Shelf marine region is part of the Atlantic Ocean. The Gulf of St. Lawrence and Atlantic Ocean are effectively separated by the island. Along the coast, the Cape Breton Highlands National Park boundary follows the average high tide line.

The Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf of St. Lawrence are an important part of the northern Cape Breton ecosystem. On both coasts, tidal up-welling along branches of the Laurentian Channel, a deep canyon in the sea floor, brings oxygen- and nutrient-rich water to the surface which supports a complex marine food chain including algae, plankton, invertebrates (such as crab, lobster and squid), fish (such as cod, haddock, herring, swordfish and tuna) and whales.

The Gulf is shallower and less salty than the Atlantic Ocean, which makes it slightly warmer in summer but also more likely to freeze in winter. With water warmer than any coastal waters north of Cape Cod, the Gulf is both highly productive and rich in species.

The number and variety of intertidal species such as periwinkles and barnacles is small along both coasts of the park. This is mainly due to ice scouring, storm waves, cold water temperatures and little difference in water level between low and high tides.

L'île du Cap-Breton jouxte trois régions marines de Parcs Canada : le Plateau néo-écossais dans l'océan Atlantique, le Plateau madelinien et le chenal Laurentien dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. En réalité, l'île sépare les grandes nappes d'eau que sont le golfe du Saint-Laurent et l'océan Atlantique. Le long de la côte, la limite du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton correspond à la laisse moyenne de la marée haute.


L'océan Atlantique et le golfe du Saint-Laurent sont des composantes importantes de l'écosystème du nord du Cap-Breton. Des deux côtés de l'île, la remontée des eaux dans les fosses profondes du chenal Laurentien, apporte de l'oxygène et des éléments nutritifs en surface, pour le bénéfice d'une chaîne alimentaire complexe, qui comprend des algues, du plancton, des invertébrés (crabes, homards, calmars, etc.), des poissons (morues, aiglefins, harengs, espadons, thons, etc.) et des baleines.

Moins profondes et moins salées que les eaux de l'océan Atlantique, celles du golfe du Saint-Laurent sont légèrement plus chaudes en été, mais aussi plus susceptibles de geler en hiver. Au nord du cap Cod, aucune eau de mer n'est plus chaude que celle du golfe, ni plus productive et diversifiée en espèces marines.

Les espèces de la zone intertidale, comme les bigorneaux et balanes, sont peu nombreuses et peu variées sur les deux côtes du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. On en attribue la cause au flux et au reflux des glaces en hiver, aux fortes vagues soulevées par les tempêtes tropicales, aux températures froides des eaux et à la faible amplitude des marées.