The Maritime Boreal climate of northern Cape Breton is characterized by its warm summers, cold winters and moderate precipitation. The main factors influencing the climate are global air pressure systems, prevailing continental winds, and its latitude (46 degrees north of the equator). Other factors, such as the coastal location and mountainous terrain, act to modify the climate.

Northern Cape Breton is sandwiched between the Gulf of St. Lawrence and the Atlantic Ocean. The influence of these two bodies of water is one of the greatest modifying factors of the northern Cape Breton climate. Rapid changes in the weather, winter thaws, fog and high snowfall (300 - 400 centimetres/year!) are some of the effects of the marine location. Tropical marine storms often occur in the fall, bringing torrential rains.

Another cause of local differences in climate is the altitude of the highland plateau. In fact, the plateau, averaging 400 metres above sea level, is considered a distinct climatic region in Nova Scotia. It has a shorter growing season, greater daily temperature extremes, and more precipitation than the nearby lowlands. Pockets of snow often linger in the highlands until June.

Prevailing winds are from the west for most of the year except for 4 to 6 weeks in the spring, when they come from the east. Wind is a significant factor on the plateau and also on the west coast where winds from the southeast - locally called "les suetes" - occasionally reach hurricane force, gusting up to 200 kilometres per hour. High southeast winds gain speed over the open plateau and tumble down onto the western coast in turbulent gusts, buffeting local communities.

As global climate change continues to alter world weather systems, more weather extremes can be expected in northern Cape Breton, including more frequent droughts and storms.

Le climat boréal des Maritimes dans l'île du Cap-Breton se distingue par des étés chauds, des hivers froids et des précipitations moyennes. Les principaux facteurs déterminants du climat sont les grands systèmes de pression atmosphérique, les vents dominants du continent et la situation géographique à 46° de latitude nord. La topographie (terrain montagneux) et la contiguïté de la mer influent également sur le climat.

Le Cap-Breton se projette au nord entre le golfe du Saint-Laurent et l'océan Atlantique. Ces deux grandes nappes d'eau exercent une forte influence sur le climat de la région : des changements rapides dans les conditions climatiques, des redoux inopinés en hiver, du brouillard et un enneigement abondant (300 à 400 centimètres par année). Les tempêtes tropicales sont fréquentes en automne, avec leur lot de pluies torrentielles.

L'altitude du plateau des hautes-terres joue aussi sur le temps variable dans le parc national. D'une élévation moyenne de 400 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer, le plateau est une région climatique distincte de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Les traits distinctifs de cette région comprennent une saison de croissance plus courte, des écarts extrêmes de température diurne et des précipitations plus fortes que dans les basses terres toutes proches. En juin, on peut encore voir des plaques de neige dans les hautes-terres.

Les vents dominants viennent de l'ouest pendant presque toute l'année, exception faite de 4 à 6 semaines au printemps quand ils soufflent de l'est. Le vent est un facteur déterminant dans les landes du plateau, ainsi que sur la côte ouest qui subit des vents du sud-est (le « suet » comme disent les marins) pouvant devenir ouragan avec des rafales à 200 kilomètres/heure. Quand le vent du sud-est souffle sur le plateau dénudé, il y prend de la vitesse et s'abat ensuite de toutes ses forces sur la côte ouest, secouant les localités et leurs habitants.

Tant que dureront les bouleversements climatiques mondiaux, le Cap-Breton en subira les conséquences et il faut s'attendre à davantage de tempêtes et de périodes de sécheresse.