2019 moose survey results indicate healthy numbers for Cape Breton Highlands National Park moose population

May 27, 2019

Parks Canada is committed to ensuring the long-term health of Cape Breton Highlands National Park's forests. The moose population survey of the highlands of Cape Breton, including Cape Breton Highlands National Park, was led by the Nova Scotia Department of Lands and Forestry and conducted in partnership with Parks Canada, the Unama’ki Institute of Natural Resources and the Confederacy of Mainland Mi’kmaq.

The moose population in Cape Breton Highlands National Park has been high since the late 1990s – much higher than a healthy forest could typically support. The hyper-abundant moose population contributed to the significant decline of the forests in the national park as new saplings were unable to grow and provide shade and shelter for a variety of forest species.

The survey is showing a decrease in the moose population across Cape Breton and within the national park. The latest population estimate puts the moose density in the national park at 0.5 moose per square km, which is considered a healthy, sustainable population. This is a positive development for the health of Cape Breton Highlands National Park’s forests.

Parks Canada will be analyzing the data from this year’s Cape Breton highlands moose population survey. Several factors could have caused the moose population to fluctuate. For example, harsh winters could lead to higher winter mortality, there could be lower than usual calving, or less food available as a result of the hyper-abundance of moose within the park. It could be a combination of these factors, as well as some unknown factors.

Parks Canada’s Bring Back the Boreal pilot project, which recently concluded, was a positive step in restoring the health of this important ecosystem by planting tree seedlings, reducing the moose population in a 20 km2 area on North Mountain, and building fences to prevent moose from over-browsing young growing trees. Parks Canada has seen a positive impact on vegetation. Preliminary results are promising, with a statistically significant decrease in browsed twigs and over 57,000 trees were planted as a result of the project.

There was no moose harvest in the national park planned for 2019 and, based on the results of the latest moose survey, further moose population reduction activities will not be considered at this time. The next moose population survey will build on the important data that was collected in this year’s moose survey and help determine the overall trends in the moose population.

Parks Canada will continue to monitor the moose population within the national park with our partners, including the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia and Nova Scotia Department of Lands and Forestry.

-30-


Information:

Darlene Doucet
Public Relations and Communications Officer
Parks Canada Cape Breton Field Unit
902-224-4230
darlene.doucet@canada.ca

Les résultats du relevé de 2019 indiquent un nombre satisfaisant d'orignaux dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Le 27 mai 2019

Parcs Canada s'engage à assurer la santé à long terme des forêts du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. Le relevé de la population d'orignaux dans les hautes terres du cap Breton, y compris dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, a été dirigé par le ministère des Terres et Forêts de la Nouvelle-Écosse et mené en partenariat avec Parcs Canada, l'Institut des ressources naturelles d'Unama’ki et la Confédération des Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse continentale.

La population d'orignaux dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton est très élevée depuis la fin des années 1990 – bien supérieure à ce qu'une forêt saine peut généralement accueillir. La surpopulation d'orignaux a contribué au vaste déclin des forêts dans le parc national, car les jeunes arbres n'étaient pas en mesure de se développer pour offrir suffisamment d'ombre et un abri nécessaire à toute une variété d'espèces des forêts.

Le recensement démontre une diminution du nombre d'orignaux dans tout le cap Breton et au sein du parc national. La dernière estimation de la population d'orignaux dans le parc national donne une densité de 0,5 orignal par kilomètre carré, un chiffre qui représente une population saine et viable. C'est une évolution encourageante pour la santé des forêts du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton.

Parcs Canada analysera les données recueillies cette année lors du relevé de la population d'orignaux dans les hautes terres du cap Breton. Plusieurs facteurs pourraient avoir provoqué les variations observées dans la population d'orignaux. Les hivers rigoureux que nous avons eus, par exemple, pourraient avoir entraîné un taux de mortalité plus élevé, le taux de natalité pourrait être inférieur à la normale, ou il se pourrait également que la nourriture ait été plus rare en raison de la surpopulation d'orignaux dans le parc. Les variations pourraient provenir d'une combinaison de ces facteurs ou d’autres facteurs méconnus.

Le projet pilote de Parcs Canada « Rétablir la forêt boréale », qui a pris fin récemment, a constitué une avancée positive dans le rétablissement de la santé de cet écosystème essentiel, avec la plantation de semis d'arbres, la réduction du nombre d'orignaux dans une zone de 20 km2 sur le mont North et la mise en place de clôtures pour empêcher les orignaux de brouter à l'excès les jeunes arbres en pleine croissance. Parcs Canada a pu constater un impact positif sur la végétation. Les résultats préliminaires sont prometteurs, compte tenu du déclin important de rameaux broutés, d'un point de vue statistique, et plus de 57 000 arbres plantés grâce à ce projet.

Aucune activité de réduction d'orignaux n'était prévue pour 2019 dans le parc national et, en se basant sur les résultats du dernier relevé, aucune nouvelle activité de réduction de la population n'est envisagée pour le moment. Le prochain recensement se fondera sur les importantes données recueillies dans le cadre du relevé de cette année et contribuera à déterminer les tendances générales dans la population d'orignaux.

Parcs Canada continuera de surveiller de près la population d'orignaux dans le parc national en collaboration avec ses partenaires, dont les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse et le ministère des Terres et Forêts de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

-30-


Renseignements

Darlene Doucet 
Agente, Relations publiques et communications
Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton, Parcs Canada
902-224-4230 
darlene.doucet@canada.ca