Chéticamp, Nova Scotia
November 26, 2018

The moose population reduction activities on North Mountain in Cape Breton Highlands National Park concluded earlier than anticipated on November 25, 2018 as a result of poor weather conditions.  

Area closures on North Mountain and Beulach Ban Falls Road, including Big Intervale Research Station, which were put in place to ensure public safety during harvest activities, have now been lifted. 

Parks Canada takes its mandate to maintain ecological integrity very seriously and is committed to restoring forest health in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The moose population reduction is only one part of the larger Bring Back the Boreal project aimed at restoring forest health in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. Other components of the project include tree planting and building fences to keep moose from browsing young trees. 

The moose population reduction was conducted through a Mi'kmaq-led harvest in collaboration with the Unama’ki Institute of Natural Resources and Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office. Sixteen moose were harvested this year within the 20 km2 area.  As with all population reduction measures, the harvest was conducted in a humane and respectful manner. 
 
On behalf of the Assembly of Nova Scotia Mi’kmaq Chiefs, the Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office is overseeing the distribution of meat to Mi’kmaw and non-Mi’kmaw communities, the Mi’kmaw Native Friendship Centre and any other areas of need across Nova Scotia. The hides and other materials will be used by Mi'kmaw elders to make clothing and other traditional items.
 
As the Bring Back the Boreal restoration pilot project comes to an end, Parks Canada will analyze the results from the past five years to explore the most effective and sustainable strategies to ensure the long-term health of Cape Breton Highlands National Park and restore boreal forest. Parks Canada will also continue to work with local communities and interest groups and share information related to the long-term health of the boreal forest in Cape Breton Highlands National Park.

For more on this project, please visit Bring Back The Boreal

Information:

Darlene Doucet
Public Relations and Communications Officer
Parks Canada Cape Breton Field Unit
902-224-4230
darlene.doucet@canada.ca

Chéticamp, Nouvelle-Écosse
le 26 novembre 2018
 

Les activités visant à réduire la population d’orignaux sur le mont North, dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, se sont terminées plus tôt que prévu le 25 novembre 2018 en raison de mauvaises conditions météorologiques.

Les fermetures de secteurs sur le mont North et le chemin Beulach Ban Falls, y compris la station de recherche Big Intervale, qui avaient été mises en place pour assurer la sécurité du public pendant les activités de récolte, ont maintenant été levées.

Parcs Canada prend très au sérieux son mandat de préserver l'intégrité écologique et s'engage à rétablir la santé des forêts dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. La réduction de la population d'orignaux n'est qu'une partie du projet Rétablir la forêt boréale qui vise à rétablir la santé de la forêt dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. D'autres éléments du projet comprennent la plantation d'arbres et la construction de clôtures pour empêcher les orignaux de brouter les jeunes arbres.

La réduction de la population d'orignaux a été réalisée grâce à une chasse dirigée par les Mi'kmaq en collaboration avec l'Unama'ki Institute of Natural Resources et le Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office. Seize orignaux ont été abattus cette année dans la zone de 20 km2. Comme pour toutes les mesures de réduction de la population, la récolte s'est déroulée sans cruauté et avec respect.

Au nom de l’Assemblée des Chefs mi'kmaw de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office supervise la distribution de viande aux communautés mi'kmaw et non mi’kmaw, au Mi'kmaw Native Friendship Centre et à tout autre secteur dans le besoin en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les peaux et autres parties des animaux récoltés seront utilisées par les aînés mi'kmaw pour confectionner des vêtements et des objets traditionnels.

Alors que le projet pilote de restauration Rétablir la forêt boréale s'achève, Parcs Canada va analyser les résultats des cinq dernières années afin de déterminer les stratégies les plus efficaces et les plus durables pour assurer la santé à long terme du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton et restaurer la forêt boréale. Parcs Canada va également continuer à travailler avec les communautés de la région et les groupes d'intérêt locaux pour partager les informations qui portent sur la santé à long terme de la forêt boréale dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de ce projet, visitez Rétablir la forêt boreal

Renseignements

Darlene Doucet 
Agente, Relations publiques et communications
Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton, Parcs Canada
902-224-4230 
darlene.doucet@canada.ca