Chéticamp, Nova Scotia
November 5, 2018

This year’s moose population reduction activities on North Mountain, within Cape Breton Highlands National Park, are scheduled to start as early as November 7th, 2018 and could last until December 3rd, 2018. In order to ensure public safety during the harvest period, Parks Canada will be closing the 20 km2 harvest area of North Mountain to everyone except those directly involved in the moose harvest.

Public access on North Mountain and Beulach Ban Falls Road, including Big Intervale Research Station, will be restricted effective November 6th, 2018, except to allow through traffic along the Cabot Trail. Signage will be in place along the highway and notices will be posted indicating the restriction zone during the harvest.

Moose population reduction goals will be achieved through a Mi'kmaq harvest, in collaboration with the Unama’ki Institute of Natural Resources and Kwilmu’kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office (Mi’kmaq Rights Initiative). The moose population reduction is only one part of the larger Bring Back the Boreal project aimed at restoring forest health in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. Other components of the project include tree planting, monitoring, and building fences to keep moose from browsing young trees. Parks Canada continues to work with local communities and interest groups to share information about the Bring Back the Boreal project.

For more on this project, please visit Bring Back The Boreal

Information:

Darlene Doucet
Public Relations and Communications Officer
Parks Canada Cape Breton Field Unit
902-224-4230
darlene.doucet@pc.gc.ca

Chéticamp, Nouvelle-Écosse
le 5 novembre 2018
 

Les activités de réduction de la population d’orignaux de cette année sur le mont North, dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, devraient commencer le 7 novembre 2018 et pourraient continuer jusqu’au 3 décembre 2018. Afin d’assurer la sécurité du public pendant la période de réduction de la population, Parcs Canada fermera à toute autre personne les 20 km2 de la zone de réduction sur le mont North, à l’exception de ceux qui travaillent directement à la réduction des orignaux.

Il est à noter que l’accès du public au mont North et au chemin menant aux chutes Beulach Ban, y compris la station de recherche Big Intervale, sera limité à compter du 6 novembre 2018, sauf pour permettre la circulation le long de la Cabot Trail. La signalisation sera en place le long de la route et des avis seront affichés pour indiquer la zone de restriction pendant la période de réduction.

Les objectifs de réduction de la population d’orignaux seront atteints grâce à une récolte menée par les Mi’kmaq, en collaboration avec l’Institut des ressources naturelles Unama’ki (UINR) et le Kwilmu’kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office (initiative sur les droits des Mi’kmaq). La réduction de la population d'orignaux n'est qu'une partie du projet plus vaste de Rétablir la forêt boréale visant à rétablir la santé des forêts dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. Les autres composantes du projet comprennent la plantation d'arbres et la construction de clôtures pour empêcher l'orignal de brouter de jeunes arbres. Parcs Canada continuera de travailler avec les collectivités locales et les groupes d'intérêt afin de faire partager de l'information sur le projet de Rétablir la forêt boréale.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de ce projet, visitez Rétablir la forêt boreal

Renseignements

Darlene Doucet 
Agente, Relations publiques et communications
Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton, Parcs Canada
902-224-4230 
darlene.doucet@pc.gc.ca