Chéticamp, Nova Scotia
December 4, 2017

The moose population reduction activities on North Mountain in Cape Breton Highlands National Park which started November 7, 2017 concluded December 1, 2017.

The moose population reduction goals were achieved through a Mi'kmaw harvest in collaboration with the Unama’ki Institute of Natural Resources and Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office. A total of 35 moose were harvested this year in a humane and respectful manner.

Area closures on North Mountain and Beulach Ban Falls Road, including Big Intervale Research Station, which were put in place to ensure public safety during harvest activities, have now been lifted.

On behalf of the Assembly of Nova Scotia Mi’kmaq Chiefs, the Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn Negotiation Office is overseeing the distribution of meat to Mi’kmaw and non-Mi’kmaw communities, the Mi’kmaw Native Friendship Centre and any other areas of need across Nova Scotia. The hides and other materials will be used by Mi'kmaw elders to make clothing and other traditional items.

Parks Canada is committed to restoring forest health in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The moose population reduction is only one part of the larger Bring Back the Boreal project aimed at restoring forest health in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. Other components of the project include tree planting and building fences to keep moose from browsing young trees. Parks Canada will continue to work with local communities and interest groups to share information about the Bring Back the Boreal project.

For more on this project, please visit Bring Back The Boreal

Information:

Darlene Doucet
Public Relations and Communications Officer
Parks Canada Cape Breton Field Unit
902-224-4230
darlene.doucet@pc.gc.ca

Chéticamp, Nouvelle-Écosse
le 4 décembre 2017
 

Les activités visant la réduction de la population d’orignaux sur le mont North, à l’intérieur du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, commencées le 7 novembre 2017, se sont terminées le 1er décembre 2017.

Les objectifs de réduction de la population d'orignaux ont été atteints grâce à la récolte des Mi'kmaq, en collaboration avec l'Institut Unama'ki des ressources naturelles et le Bureau de négociation de Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn. Un total de 35 orignaux a été récolté cette année d'une manière humaine et respectueuse.

L’accès au mont North et au chemin menant aux chutes Beulach Ban, y compris la station de recherche Big Intervale, qui était limité afin d’assurer la sécurité du public, est maintenant rétablit.

Au nom de l’Assemblée des chefs Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Bureau de négociation de Kwilmu'kw Maw-klusuaqn supervise la distribution de viande aux communautés Mi'kmaq et non Mi’kmaq, au centre d’amitié autochtone Mi'kmaq et à tout autre secteur dans le besoin en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les peaux et autres matériaux iront aux aînés Mi'kmaq qui fabriqueront des vêtements et d’autres articles traditionnels.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est déterminée à rétablir la santé de la forêt dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. La réduction de la population d’orignaux n’est qu’un élément du projet plus vaste visant à Rétablir la forêt boréale en rétablissant la santé de la forêt dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. D’autres éléments du projet incluent la plantation d’arbres et la construction de clôtures pour empêcher les orignaux de brouter les jeunes arbres. Parcs Canada continuera à travailler avec les communautés de la région et les intervenants afin de favoriser le partage des informations en ce qui a trait au projet Rétablir la forêt boréale.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet de ce projet, visitez Rétablir la forêt boreal

Renseignements

Darlene Doucet 
Agente, Relations publiques et communications
Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton, Parcs Canada
902-224-4230 
darlene.doucet@pc.gc.ca