Chéticamp, Nova Scotia
October 13, 2016
 

The health of the boreal forest in Cape Breton Highlands National Park is in decline. Rare species such as the lynx and American marten are struggling with the loss of habitat, while forest birds are being replaced by grassland species. Parks Canada is committed to restoring forest health in Cape Breton Highlands National Park through the Bring Back the Boreal project. In 2014, we began a four-year project that applies different experimental methods aimed at reversing the trend of forest loss and bringing back the boreal forest.

After more than 15 years of scientific study, Parks Canada’s data shows that the current moose population in Cape Breton Highlands National Park (approximately 1,800 moose) is negatively impacting the forest ecosystem by stunting the growth of young trees therefore changing the forest to grassland. In fact, the density of moose in the national park is estimated to be four times the amount a healthy balanced forest can typically support. We know that our boreal forest cannot sustain this population.

The Bring Back the Boreal conservation and restoration project focuses on three areas in the national park: Skyline Trail, North Mountain and Warren Lake. In each of these areas, we are piloting different restoration techniques to develop the most effective approaches for restoring the boreal forest. These approaches include: tree planting, building fences to keep moose from browsing young trees, and reducing the moose population in a specific 20km2 area of North Mountain. The North Mountain site represents 2% of the park.

One of the techniques being applied is the removal of moose from an area on North Mountain to reduce moose over browsing and allow natural regeneration of the forest to occur.

It’s important to note that reducing the population of a species is not a new approach for Parks Canada, but is reserved for situations of absolute necessity.

This year, as part of its ongoing Bring Back the Boreal project, Cape Breton Highlands National Park and its partners Unama’ki Institute of Natural Resources will reduce the moose population this autumn in the same 20km2 area of North Mountain where a population reduction took place last year. Moose population reduction activities are tentatively planned to start as early as the first week of November and could last until December 18.

Parks Canada will continue to work with local communities and interest groups to share information and explore ways to involve local communities in the Bring Back the Boreal project.

Derek Quann
Project Coordinator - Resource Conservation,
Cape Breton Field Unit, Parks Canada

Information

Darlene Doucet
Public Relations and Communications Officer
Cape Breton Field Unit, Parks Canada
902-224-7041
darlene.doucet@pc.gc.ca

Chéticamp, Nouvelle-Écosse,
le 13 octobre 2016

La santé de la forêt boréale dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton est en déclin. Les espèces rares telles que le lynx et la martre d’Amérique sont aux prises avec la perte de l’habitat, tandis que les oiseaux des prairies remplacent les espèces de la forêt. Parcs Canada est déterminé à rétablir la santé de la forêt dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton grâce au projet Rétablir la forêt boréale. En 2014, nous avons commencé un projet de quatre ans qui applique différentes méthodes expérimentales visant à inverser la tendance à la disparition des forêts et à ramener la forêt boréale.

Après plus de 15 ans d’études scientifiques, les données de Parcs Canada montrent que la population d’orignaux actuelle dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton (environ 1 800 orignaux) a un impact négatif sur l’écosystème forestier en ralentissant la croissance des jeunes arbres, transformant ainsi la forêt en prairie. En fait, la densité d’orignaux dans le parc national est estimée à quatre fois le nombre qu’une forêt saine et équilibrée peut généralement soutenir. Nous savons que notre forêt boréale ne peut pas assurer la subsistance de cette population.

Le projet visant à conserver et à Rétablir la forêt boréale cible trois domaines dans le parc national : le sentier Skyline, le mont North et le lac Warren. Dans chacune de ces zones, nous mettons à l'essai différentes techniques de restauration pour mettre au point des méthodes efficaces dans le but de rétablir la forêt boréale. Ces méthodes comprennent la plantation d’arbres, la construction de clôtures pour empêcher les orignaux de brouter les jeunes arbres, et la réduction de la population d’orignaux dans une zone spécifique de 20 km2 sur le mont North. Le site du mont North représente 2 % du parc.

Une des techniques appliquées est le retrait de l’orignal d’une zone sur le mont North afin de réduire le broutage excessif de l’orignal et de permettre la régénération naturelle de la forêt.

Il est important de noter que la réduction de la population d’une espèce n’est pas une nouvelle approche de Parcs Canada, mais elle est réservée aux situations de nécessité absolue.

Cette année, dans le cadre de son projet de Rétablir la forêt boréale, le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton et ses partenaires l’Institut des ressources naturelles Unama’ki réduiront la population d’orignaux cette automne dans la même zone de 20 km2 où une réduction de la population a eu lieu l’année dernière. Il est provisoirement prévu que les activités de réduction de la population d’orignaux pourraient commencer dès la première semaine de novembre et pourraient continuer jusqu'au 18 décembre.

Parcs Canada continuera à travailler avec les collectivités locales et les groupes d’intérêt pour partager des informations et pour explorer des façons d'impliquer les communautés locales dans le projet.

Derek Quann
Coordonnateur de projet – Conservation des ressources,
Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton, Parcs Canada

Information :

Darlene Doucet
Agente, Relations publiques et communications
Unité de gestion du Cap-Breton, Parcs Canada 
902-224-7041
darlene.doucet@pc.gc.ca