Year One of Moose Population Reduction Complete

Ingonish, Nova Scotia
December 15, 2015

Parks Canada and Unama'ki Institute of Natural Resources have completed this year's moose population reduction program on North Mountain in Cape Breton Highlands National Park. This program is part of the larger Hyperabundant Moose Management Plan, which will see Parks Canada initiate several approaches to reverse the trend of forest loss and begin to restore balance to the boreal forest. Parks Canada is currently in year two of a four-year pilot project to reverse the trend of forest loss in Cape Breton Highlands National Park and we will continue our work to bring back the boreal forest.

The moose harvest achieved its goal of a 90% reduction of moose within this small area for this year—which is less than 2% of the park. A total of 37 moose were harvested over 13 days, ending on December 14, 2015.

This year's harvest will help inform Parks Canada’s on-going efforts to restore the health of Cape Breton Highlands National Park. The current moose population in Cape Breton Highlands National Park is unsustainable. This conclusion was reached after 15 years of scientific study and a more recent investigation in 2015 that estimated the density of moose is 1.9 moose/km2. A healthy, balanced forest typically supports 0.5 moose/km2. If the conditions remain the same, the ecosystem will not be sustainable for current and future generations. This is why Parks Canada is taking concrete actions to help restore and maintain forest health in Cape Breton Highlands National Park.

Parks Canada looks forward to future collaboration with Unama'ki Institute of Natural Resources, the Mi’kmaq of Nova Scotia, local community members and stakeholders on the moose population reduction program on North Mountain and the larger Hyperabundant Moose Management Plan for the park.

For more information related to the Bring Back the Boreal project, visit: pc.gc.ca/bringbacktheboreal.

Information

Coady Slaunwhite
Public Relations and Communications Officer
Cape Breton
Parks Canada
902-217-0861
coady.slaunwhite@pc.gc.ca

Ingonish, Nouvelle-Écosse
le 15 décembre 2015

Parcs Canada et l'Institut de ressources naturelles Unama’ki (lien en anglais seulement) ont terminé le Programme de réduction de la population d’orignaux sur le mont North dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton pour cette année. Ce projet fait partie du Plan de gestion de la surpopulation d’orignaux, qui permettra à Parcs Canada de mettre en place plusieurs approches pour inverser la tendance en termes de perte de forêt et commencer à rétablir l’équilibre de la forêt boréale. L’Agence Parcs Canada est actuellement dans la deuxième année d’un projet pilote de quatre ans pour inverser la tendance en termes de perte de forêt dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, et l’Agence continuera ses efforts pour rétablir la forêt boréale.

L’objectif de réduire la population d’orignaux de 90 % dans cette petite zone (moins de 2 % du parc) cette année, a été atteint. Au total, 37 orignaux ont été récoltés sur une période de 13 jours, se terminant le 14 décembre 2015.

La récolte de cette année contribuera à orienter nos efforts continus visant à rétablir la santé du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton. La population actuelle d’orignaux dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton ne peut être soutenue. Cette conclusion découle de 15 ans d’études scientifiques et d’une enquête plus récente en 2015 qui a estimé la densité d’orignaux à 1,9 orignaux/km2. Une forêt saine et équilibrée soutient généralement 0,5 orignaux/km2. Si les conditions demeurent les mêmes, l’écosystème ne sera pas durable pour les générations actuelles et futures. C’est pourquoi Parcs Canada prend des mesures concrètes pour aider à restaurer et à maintenir la santé de la forêt dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton.

Parcs Canada se réjouit à l’idée de poursuivre sa collaboration avec l’Institut des ressources naturelles Unama’ki, les Mi’kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse, les membres de la communauté locale et les intervenants sur le projet de réduction de la population d’orignaux sur le mont North et le Plan de gestion de la surpopulation d’orignaux.

Pour obtenir plus d’information liée au projet Rétablir la forêt boréale, visitez www.pc.gc.ca/RetablirlaForetBoreale.

Renseignements

Coady Slaunwhite
Agent, communications et relations publiques
Cap-Breton
Parcs Canada
902-217-0861
coady.slaunwhite@pc.gc.ca