Ingonish, Nova Scotia
November 5, 2015
 

Parks Canada advises the public that a moose population reduction program on North Mountain in Cape Breton Highlands National Park will begin November 9 and continue until December 18, 2015.

Guided by the Cape Breton Highlands National Park’s Hyperabundant Moose Management Plan for North Mountain, the program, which will be executed over three years, will focus on reducing the number of moose within a 20 km2 area of the park to allow for natural forest regeneration.

Within the targeted area, the moose population will be reduced by as many as 30-40 moose or 90 percent through a First Nations moose harvest. The harvest will be led by Unama’ki Institute of Natural Resources with qualified Nova Scotia Mi’kmaq harvesters guiding the reduction program. To ensure safety, public access on North Mountain will be restricted during the harvest, except to allow through traffic along the Cabot Trail.

This program is part of Bring Back the Boreal, a four-year project to improve the health of the boreal forest within the national park. Other strategies include tree planting and a large exclosure at the Skyline Trail and a prescribed burn in the Warren Lake area. Bring Back the Boreal is in year two of implementation.

Parks Canada is committed to improving the health of Canada’s national parks and this is just one example of how the Agency will meet this important goal. As a world leader in natural area protection, Parks Canada has a proven track record in effective ecosystem management and has implemented similar wildlife reduction programs in other national parks to improve ecosystem health.

For further information on our forest at risk and protecting forest health, visit www.pc.gc.ca/BringBacktheBoreal.

Information:

Coady Slaunwhite
Public Relations and Communications Officer
Cape Breton
Parks Canada
902-217-0861 
coady.slaunwhite@pc.gc.ca

Ingonish, Nouvelle-Écosse
le 5 novembre 2015
 

Parcs Canada informe le public que le programme de réduction de la population d’orignaux sur le mont North, dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, commencera le 9 novembre 2015 et se terminera le 18 décembre 2015.

Guidé par le Plan de gestion de la surpopulation d’orignaux pour le mont North, ce programme, étalé sur trois ans, réduira le nombre d’orignaux sur une superficie de 20 km2 afin de permettre la régénération des forêts naturelles.

Dans la zone visée, la population d’orignaux sera réduite de 90 pourcent, soit de jusqu’à 30 à 40 orignaux, grâce à une récolte d’orignaux menée par les Premières Nations. La récolte sera organisée par l’Institut de ressources naturelles Unama’ki [lien en anglais seulement], et des chasseurs Mi’kmaq qualifiés de la Nouvelle-Écosse mèneront le programme de réduction. Pour assurer la sécurité, l’accès du public au mont North sera limité pendant les opérations de récolte, sauf pour permettre la circulation le long du Cabot Trail.

Ce programme de réduction fait partie de Rétablir la forêt boréale, un projet de quatre ans qui vise à améliorer la santé de la forêt boréale à l’intérieur du parc national. D’autres stratégies incluent la plantation d’arbres, la construction d’un exclos sur le sentier Skyline et un brûlage dirigé dans la région du lac Warren. Rétablir la forêt boréale en est à sa deuxième année de mise en œuvre.

L’Agence Parcs Canada s’est engagée à améliorer la santé des parcs nationaux du Canada et ceci n’est qu’un exemple de la façon dont l’Agence atteindra cet objectif important. En tant que leader mondial de la protection des aires naturelles, Parcs Canada a fait ses preuves dans la gestion efficace des écosystèmes et a mis en place des programmes similaires de réduction de la faune dans d’autres parcs nationaux afin d’améliorer la santé des écosystèmes.

Pour plus d’informations sur notre forêt à risque et sur la protection de la santé de la forêt, veuillez visiter le site Web pc.gc.ca/RetablirlaForetBoreale.

Renseignements

Coady Slaunwhite
Agent, communications et relations publiques
Cap-Breton
Parcs Canada
902-217-0861 
coady.slaunwhite@pc.gc.ca