Landscape diversity

The different types of habitats, including the nonliving things such as rocks, and the living things such as plants. Just as a forest has more species than a farmer's field, landscapes with lots of different habitats have more species than landscapes with fewer habitats.

Species diversity

The different types and numbers of animal and plant species in a particular landscape. Because species interact, landscapes with more species are healthier and more resilient in the face of environmental change than landscapes with few species.

Genetic diversity

The different traits that individuals possess. A variety of gene combinations is important to allow a species to adapt to changes in their environment. For example, some individual pine trees have a gene that allows them to be resistant to the pine beetle. This means that at least some trees may survive a beetle infestation. As populations become smaller and more isolated, they lose the genetic diversity that allows them to adapt to change.

Diversité du paysage

Les différents types d'habitat, y compris les choses inertes comme les cailloux et les organismes vivants comme les plantes. Tout comme il y a plus d'espèces dans une forêt que dans le champ d'un fermier, on trouve un plus grand nombre d'espèces dans les paysages comportant de nombreux habitats différents que dans les paysages comptant moins d'habitats.

Diversité des espèces

Les différents types et les différentes quantités d'espèces animales et végétales dans un paysage particulier. En raison de l'interaction entre les espèces, les paysages qui abritent plus d'espèces sont plus sains et résistent mieux au changement écologique que les paysages comptant moins d'espèces.

Diversité génétique

Les caractéristiques différentes que possède chaque espèce. Des combinaisons de gènes variées sont importantes pour permettre aux espèces de s'adapter aux modifications de leur milieu. À titre d'exemple, certains pins ont un gène qui leur permet de résister au dendroctone du pin. Cela veut dire qu'au moins quelques arbres survivent à une infestation de dendroctones. Plus les populations diminuent et sont isolées, plus elles perdent la diversité génétique qui leur permet de s'adapter au changement.