Sweet Discovery

Come listen to the story of Sismoqnapui Skwe’j, the Sweetwater Maiden.

Based on oral history, Sweetwater Maiden shares the Mi’kmaw story of the discovery of maple syrup, as told to park interpreter Mary Louise Bernard by her mother.

This program recognizes the importance of our natural environment, and explores the human relationship with trees.

Listen as Mary Louise reads aloud from her illustrated book, discuss the Mi’kmaq relationship with nature, and taste delicious maple syrup.

Thursdays
June 27 to September 5
7:00 p.m.

Approximately one hour
Kitchen Shelter C, Chéticamp Campground, Chéticamp

There is no age restriction for this program, and no limit to the number of participants. While the program is intended for campers, non-camping park visitors are also welcome. The program is presented in English with references to Mi’kmaq vocabulary. In addition to English and Mi’kmaq, the book has been translated into French and Gaelic; audience members who speak those languages may be invited to do a multilingual reading.

Meet at Kitchen Shelter C, near the playground in the Chéticamp Campground. Dress appropriately for the weather; even though the program will be held inside the shelter, evenings can be cool.


Grandmother Moon

It is said that Grandmother Moon watches over the waters of the earth.

This Indigenous ceremony celebrates Grandmother Moon and women's teachings.

June 18, 8 p.m.: Ingonish Beach
June 19, 8 p.m.: Chéticamp Campground
July 15, 8 p.m.: Broad Cove Beach
July 18, 8 p.m.: Chéticamp Campground
August 15, 8 p.m.: Broad Cove Beach
August 16, 8 p.m.: Chéticamp Campground
September 15, 7 p.m.: Ingonish Beach
September 16, 7 p.m.: Chéticamp Campground
October 13, 6 p.m.: Ingonish Beach
October 14, 6 p.m.: Chéticamp Campground

Approximately one hour

There is no age restriction for this program, and no limit to the number of participants. The program is presented in English with references to Mi’kmaq vocabulary. Bring a bottle of water.


Wi’klatmuj’ – The Little Forest People

Travelers from across the Great Water come and meet a Mi’kmaq grandmother at her campfire in the forest as she shares stories of Unamak’i, the Land of Fog (Cape Breton Island), and its connections to the spirit world.

Meet a park interpreter who introduces the program and leads you to Mi’kmaq elder Mary Louise Bernard, who waits at her campsite in the forest. Listen as she journeys to the past and shares Indigenous stories passed down through the generations. Discover how the people of this land became known as The Dreamers as you hear the story of the Wiklatmu’j, the Little Forest People of Unamak’i. Perhaps you, too, may become a Dreamer.

Saturdays
June 29 to September 7
8:00 p.m.

1.5 hours
Chéticamp Campground, Chéticamp

There is no age restriction for this program, and no limit to the number of participants. The program is presented in English with references to Mi’kmaq vocabulary.

Meet at the Chéticamp Visitor Centre. Dress appropriately for the weather and be prepared to apply insect repellent. Evenings can be cool, so bring an extra layer for warmth.


Smudge

Since time immemorial, many Indigenous cultures have used sacred smoke made from medicinal plants for spiritual cleansing. A ceremonial way to cleanse a person, place or object of negative energies or influences, today elders recommend that smudge should be done in our daily lives, schools, and workplaces to promote healing.

Listen as Indigenous interpreter Mary Louise Bernard discusses the history and beliefs of the Mi’kmaq nation and describes some of the common medicinal plants used in smudge ceremonies, and explains their uses. Watch as she performs a smudge cleansing for herself and offers the opportunity for you to participate, if you wish. Hear traditional Mi’kmaq drumming and singing from Mary Louise, a Mi’kmaq elder. And finally, make your own small medicine bundle to take with you.

Mondays
June 24 to September 2
7:00 p.m.

1 hour
Kitchen Shelter C, Chéticamp Campground, Chéticamp

This program is offered in English, with references to Mi’kmaq vocabulary. There are no age restrictions, and there is no limit to the number of participants. While this program is primarily offered for visitors staying in the campgrounds, all visitors are welcome.

Meet at Kitchen Shelter C, near the playground in the Chéticamp Campground. Dress appropriately for the weather; even though the program will be held inside the shelter, evenings can be cool.


Waltes

Waltes is a traditional Mi’kmaq game played with moose bone two-sided “dice” that are “tossed” by banging the wooden plate. Each round has a slightly different scoring system and goal. Learn how to play the game as a Mi’kmaq interpreter also explains some of the game’s history and the meaning behind the names of the pieces.

Fridays
June 28 to September 6
7:00 p.m.

Approximately one hour
Kitchen Shelter C, Chéticamp Campground, Chéticamp

There is no age restriction for this program, and no limit to the number of participants. While the program is intended for campers, non-camping park visitors are also welcome. The program is presented in English with references to Mi’kmaq vocabulary.

Meet at Kitchen Shelter C, near the playground in the Chéticamp Campground. Dress appropriately for the weather; even though the program will be held inside the shelter, evenings can be cool.

Découverte sucrée

Venez écouter l'histoire de Sismoqnapui Skwe’j, la nymphe de l'eau sucrée.

Reposant sur la tradition orale, ce récit nous fait partager l'histoire mi’kmaw de la découverte du sirop d'érable, telle qu'elle fut racontée à l'interprète du parc Mary Louise Bernard par sa mère.

Ce programme souligne l'importance de notre environnement naturel et explore la relation qui unit les humains et les arbres.

Écoutez Mary Louise lire l'ouvrage illustré dont elle est l'auteure, puis discutez des relations qu'entretiennent les Mi’kmaq avec la nature tout en savourant un délicieux sirop d'érable.

Les jeudis
Du 27 juin au 5 septembre
19 h

Environ une heure
Abri-cuisine C, terrain de camping de Chéticamp, Chéticamp

Il n'y a aucune limite d'âge pour ce programme, ni aucune limite quant au nombre de participants. Bien que cette activité soit destinée aux campeurs, les autres visiteurs du parc sont les bienvenus. Le programme est offert en anglais avec des références en mi’kmaq. En plus d'être disponible en anglais et en mi’kmaq, le livre a été traduit en français et en gaélique; les membres du public qui parlent ces langues pourraient être invités à faire une lecture multilingue.

Rendez-vous à l'abri-cuisine C, près du terrain de jeux du camping de Chéticamp. Habillez-vous en fonction des conditions météorologiques; le programme a lieu à l'intérieur de l'abri mais les soirées peuvent être fraîches.


Cérémonies de Grand-mère Lune

On raconte que Grand-mère Lune veille sur les eaux de la terre.

Célébrée sous la pleine lune, cette cérémonie autochtone rend hommage à Grand-mère Lune et aux enseignements des femmes.

18 juin, 20 h : plage d'Ingonish
19 juin, 20 h : terrain de camping de Chéticamp
15 juillet, 20 h : plage de Broad Cove
18 juillet, 20 h : terrain de camping de Chéticamp
15 août, 20 h : plage de Broad Cove
16 août, 20 h : terrain de camping de Chéticamp
15 septembre, 19 h : plage d'Ingonish
16 septembre, 19 h : terrain de camping de Chéticamp
13 octobre, 18 h : plage d'Ingonish
14 octobre, 18 h : terrain de camping de Chéticamp

Environ une heure

Il n'y a aucune limite d'âge pour ce programme, ni aucune limite quant au nombre de participants. Ce programme est offert en anglais avec des références en mi’kmaq. Apportez une bouteille d'eau.


Wi'klatmuj' – Les lutins de la forêt

Des voyageurs venus de l'autre côté des « grandes eaux » arrivent et découvrent une grand-mère mi’kmaw installée près d'un feu de camp, au coeur de la forêt. Elle partage avec eux les récits d'Unamak’i, le pays du brouillard (l'île du Cap-Breton), et ses liens avec le monde des esprits.

Un ou une interprète du parc vous présente le programme puis vous conduit à l'aînée mi’kmaw Mary Louise Bernard qui vous attend près d'un feu de camp, au cœur de la forêt. Écoutez-la voyager dans le temps et partager des récits autochtones transmis de génération en génération. Découvrez comment le peuple de ces terres s'est fait connaître comme étant les « Rêveurs », en entendant l'histoire des Wiklatmu’j, les lutins de la forêt d'Unamak’i. Peut-être vous aussi ferez-vous partie de ces « Rêveurs ».

Les samedis
Du 29 juin au 7 septembre
20 h

1,5 heure
Terrain de camping de Chéticamp, Chéticamp

Il n'y a aucune limite d'âge pour ce programme, ni aucune limite quant au nombre de participants. Cette activité est offerte en anglais avec des références en mi’kmaq.

Rendez-vous au centre d'accueil de Chéticamp. Habillez-vous en fonction des conditions météorologiques et ayez sur vous de l'insectifuge. Les soirées peuvent être fraîches alors pensez à apporter un chandail supplémentaire.


Cérémonie mi'kmaw de purification

Depuis la nuit des temps, dans de nombreuses cultures autochtones, la purification spirituelle s'effectue au moyen de la fumée sacrée issue de plantes médicinales. Rituel cérémonial qui permet de purifier une personne, un lieu ou un objet de ses énergies ou influences négatives, les aînés préconisent aujourd'hui de l'intégrer dans notre vie quotidienne, dans les écoles comme sur nos lieux de travail, afin de favoriser l'apaisement.

Écoutez l'interprète autochtone Mary Louise Bernard parler de l'histoire et des croyances de la nation mi'kmaw, et décrire certaines des plantes médicinales les plus couramment utilisées lors des cérémonies de purification, ainsi que leur utilisation. Observez-la alors qu'elle effectue une purification pour elle-même et qu'elle vous offre d'y prendre part, si vous le désirez. Laissez-vous transporter par le son du tambour traditionnel mi’kmaw et par les chants de Mary Louise, aînée mi’kmaw. Et pour finir, préparez-vous un petit fagot médicinal que vous pourrez emporter.

Les lundis
Du 24 juin au 2 septembre
19 h 00

1 heure
Abri-cuisine C, terrain de camping de Chéticamp, Chéticamp

Ce programme est offert en anglais avec des références en mi’kmaq. Il n'y a aucune limite d'âge pour ce programme, ni aucune limite quant au nombre de participants. Bien que cette activité soit avant tout offerte aux visiteurs qui séjournent sur le terrain de camping, elle reste ouverte à tous nos visiteurs.

Rendez-vous à l'abri-cuisine C, près du terrain de jeux du camping de Chéticamp. Habillez-vous en fonction des conditions météorologiques ; même si le programme a lieu à l'intérieur de l'abri, les soirées peuvent être fraîches.


Waltes

Le waltes est un jeu traditionnel mi’kmaw que l'on joue avec des « dés » à deux faces, en os d'orignal, qui sont « lancés » à l'aide du plat en bois sur lequel ils reposent. Le système de points et les objectifs changent légèrement d'une manche à l'autre. Apprenez à jouer alors qu'un ou une interprète mi’kmaw vous explique également l'histoire de ce jeu et la signification du nom de chaque pièce.

Les vendredis
Du 28 juin au 6 septembre
19 h

Environ une heure
Abri-cuisine C, terrain de camping de Chéticamp, Chéticamp

Il n'y a aucune limite d'âge pour ce programme, ni aucune limite quant au nombre de participants. Bien que cette activité soit destinée aux campeurs, les autres visiteurs du parc sont les bienvenus. Ce programme est offert en anglais avec des références en mi’kmaq.

Rendez-vous à l'abri-cuisine C, près du terrain de jeux du camping de Chéticamp. Habillez-vous en fonction des conditions météorologiques; le programme a lieu à l'intérieur de l'abri mais les soirées peuvent être fraîches.