All Parks Canada facilities are temporarily closed, all visitor services and all motor vehicle access by visitors are suspended until further notice.

Parks Canada is calling on Canadians to support the national effort to limit the spread of COVID-19 and stay home.

Torngat Mountains National Park 

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency. Parks Canada is doing its part to contain the novel coronavirus and reduce risks to employees and visitors. We look forward to resuming normal operations, but for now we must all work together to limit the spread of COVID-19.

On Thursday, March 19, 2020, Parks Canada temporarily suspended all visitor services in all national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas across the country until further notice. Effective 12:01 a.m. on Wednesday, March 25, 2020, the Agency will temporarily suspend all motor vehicle access by visitors in order to help limit the spread of COVID-19.

Indigenous traditional activities in Parks Canada locations will continue, but all users are asked to follow the advice of public health experts on social distancing.

Search and rescue services are limited at this time.  Please understand that even low risk backcountry activities have the potential to add a huge burden on SAR personnel and the health care system in the event of a mishap, placing a burden on Search and Rescue personnel and the health care system at this critical time.

 

 

Featured things to do

Hours of operation

Accessible year round
Base camp open late July to August

Contact us

Telephone: 709-922-1290 EN 709-458-2417 FR
Toll-free: 1-888-922-1290
Email: pc.infopntorngats-torngatsnpinfo.pc@canada.ca 

Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Information page

Sites nearby

  • Hopedale Mission National Historic Site

    A complex of large, wooden buildings constructed by the Moravian Church at Hopedale, Labrador stand starkly silhouetted against the rocky shoreline of the vast, barren landscape. Official recognition refers to the cultural landscape comprised of the mission buildings on their shoreline site.

  • Red Bay National Historic Site

    Red Bay was once the largest and most important commercial whaling station in the world. See the restored chalupa, explore archaeological treasures and original artifacts from the period at this UNESCO World Heritage site.

  • L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site

    Tour the only known Viking site and the earliest known evidence of European presence in North America. Experience Norse life and see original 11th century artifacts at this UNESCO World heritage site.

  • Port au Choix National Historic Site

    See prehistoric artifacts from four ancient Aboriginal cultures that inhabited Newfoundland’s rugged northwest coast. Visit an ancient burial ground, hike coastal trails and see prehistoric artifacts including slate spears, harpoon tips and ivory daggers.

  • Gros Morne National Park

    Cruise sheer-walled fjords and hike diverse landscapes from windswept shorelines to sub-Arctic summits. Explore rare geological oddities that earned Gros Morne UNESCO World Heritage status, and relax amid the culture of Newfoundland’s coastal communities.

Toutes les installations de Parcs Canada sont temporairement fermées, tous les services aux visiteurs et tout accès aux véhicules à moteur par les visiteurs sont temporairement suspendus jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

Parcs Canada demande aux Canadiens d'appuyer l'effort national visant à limiter la propagation du COVID-19 et de rester à la maison.

Parc national des Monts-Torngat 

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada est d’une importance primordiale pour l’Agence. Parcs Canada fait sa part pour contenir le nouveau coronavirus et réduire les risques pour les employés et les visiteurs. Nous avons hâte de reprendre les opérations normales, mais pour l'instant, nous devons tous travailler ensemble pour limiter la propagation du COVID-19.

Le jeudi 19 mars 2020, Parcs Canada suspend temporairement tous les services aux visiteurs dans tous les parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation du pays jusqu’à nouvel ordre. À partir de 0 h 01 ce mercredi 25 mars 2020, l’Agence suspend temporairement l’accès à tout véhicule motorisé afin d’aider à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19.

Les activités traditionnelles autochtones dans les emplacements de Parcs Canada se poursuivront, mais tous les utilisateurs sont priés de suivre les conseils d'experts en santé publique sur la distanciation sociale.

Les services de recherche et sauvetage pourraient être limités. Veuillez comprendre que même les activités de l'arrière-pays à faible risque peuvent entraîner des incidents, imposant un fardeau au personnel de recherche et de sauvetage et au système de santé en ce moment critique.

En vedette

Heures d’ouverture

Accessible toute l'année
Camp de base ouvert de juillet à août

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 709-458-2417 FR 709-922-1290 EN
Sans frais : 1-888-773-8888
Courriel : pc.infopntorngats-torngatsnpinfo.pc@canada.ca  

Maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19)

Page d'information

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national de Hopedale Mission

    Un ensemble de grands bâtiments en bois construits par l’église morave à Hopedale, en Labrador, se dressent sur le rivage rocailleux d’un vaste paysage aride. La reconnaissance officielle concerne le paysage culturel composé des édifices de la mission sur le rivage.

  • Lieu historique national de Red Bay

    Red Bay a déjà été le plus important poste commercial de chasse à la baleine au monde. Voyez la chalupa restaurée, explorez les trésors archéologiques et les artéfacts originaux de l’époque dans ce site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

  • Lieu historique national L'Anse aux Meadows

    Parcourez le seul site viking connu et la plus ancienne preuve de présence européenne en Amérique du Nord. Faites l’expérience du mode de vie scandinave et examinez des artéfacts originaux du XIe siècle, en visitant ce site inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

  • Lieu historique national de Port Au Choix

    Voir les artefacts préhistoriques de quatre anciennes cultures autochtones qui habitaient la côte nord-ouest accidentée de Terre-Neuve. Visitez un ancien cimetière, parcourez des sentiers côtiers et découvrez des artefacts préhistoriques, notamment des lances d'ardoise, des pointes de harpon et des poignards en ivoire.

  • Parc national du Gros Morne

    Faites une croisière au cœur des fjords aux parois escarpées et partez en randonnée pour découvrir les littoraux balayés par les vents et les sommets subarctiques. Explorez les curiosités géologiques qui ont valu à Gros-Morne son titre de site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et imprégnez-vous de la culture des communautés côtières de Terre-Neuve.