Starting June 1, some Parks Canada places will begin to offer limited access and services while maintaining physical distancing measures. Information will be updated regularly.

Only places and activities where health and safety risks can be managed will be available for visitation. We are asking visitors to be cautious and conservative in their use of these places, to observe travel restrictions, respect closures, follow the guidance of public health experts, and to make every effort to keep one another safe.

Opening details will differ across the country. Please check the Parks Canada national information portal dedicated to COVID-19 for regular updates.

Parks Canada and COVID-19 (updated May 27, 2020)

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors and Parks Canada team members is our top priority.

Being outdoors and in nature brings a number of health and wellness benefits., It is important that people have access to natural spaces where they can go to get exercise and fresh air in settings that facilitate physical distancing.

On June 1, 2020, Parks Canada will begin a safe, gradual opening of some outdoor locations in national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas.

This means:

  • Starting June 1, visitors will be permitted to access some trails, day use areas, and green spaces at some locations. Until then, all suspensions of visitor services and closures of facilities announced in March remain in place.
  • For their own safety, visitors should not try to access locations that are closed.
  • All camping facilities remain closed until at least June 21, 2020, while Parks Canada assesses whether and how these services might resume. Group activities and public events will be prohibited until further notice. All existing reservations set to take place prior to June 21, 2020, will be automatically cancelled and refunded in full.
  • Highways and roadways which pass through Parks Canada places will remain open.

Important information about your visit to Torngat Mountains National Park 

Due to concerns about the global pandemic, the Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station (adjacent to the southern boundary of the park) will not open to visitors in 2020, but the operator is welcoming guests for 2021. Check www.thetorngats.ca for regular updates. For more information, please email thetorngats@airborealis.ca or call 1-709-635-4336.

To respect the decisions of Nunatsiavut and Nunavik governments on non-essential travel, and to minimize risks to park staff, Inuit bear guards and rescue operations, Parks Canada strongly recommends against independent travel to the park in 2020. Please call us at 709-922-1290 or email pc.infopntorngats-torngatsnpinfo.pc@canada.ca for more information.

What’s open (updated: May 26, 2020)
  • Indigenous traditional activities in Parks Canada locations will continue; but all users are asked to follow the advice of public health experts on social distancing.
What’s closed (updated: May 26, 2020)
  • Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station
Your safety when visiting
  • Parks Canada strongly recommends against independent travel to the park in 2020. This is to respect the decisions of Nunatsiavut and Nunavik governments on non-essential travel, and to minimize risks to park staff, Inuit bear guards and rescue operations.
  • All potential visitors should get in touch with park staff, and as always visitors are required to register with the park. Please call park staff at 709-922-1290 or email pc.infopntorngats-torngatsnpinfo.pc@canada.ca for more information.

 

Stay Informed

Please visit pc.gc.ca and follow Parks Canada’s social media channels for information and updates on the status of all Parks Canada places

À compter du 1er juin, certains endroits de Parcs Canada offriront un accès et des services limités tout en maintenant des mesures de distanciation physique.

Seuls les lieux et activités où les risques pour la santé et la sécurité peuvent être gérés seront disponibles pour les visites. Le gouvernement demande aux Canadiens d'être prudents et conservateurs dans leur utilisation de ces lieux, de respecter les restrictions de voyage, de respecter les conseils des experts en santé publique et de tout mettre en œuvre pour se protéger mutuellement.

Les détails d’ouverture varieront d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Veuillez consulter le portail national d'information de Parcs Canada dédié à COVID-19 pour des mises à jour régulières.

Parcs Canada et la COVID-19 (mise à jour du 27 mai 2020)

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada est d’une importance primordiale pour l’Agence.

Le contact avec la nature apporte un certain nombre de bienfaits pour la santé et le bien-être. Il est important qu’ils aient accès à des endroits où ils peuvent profiter du grand air, faire de l’exercice et pratiquer la distanciation physique.

Le 1er juin 2020, Parcs Canada commencera une ouverture progressive et sécuritaire de certains emplacements extérieurs des parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation.

Cela signifie que :

  • À compter du 1er juin, les visiteurs seront autorisés à accéder à certains sentiers, aires de fréquentation diurne et espaces verts à certains endroits. D'ici là, toutes les suspensions des services aux visiteurs et les fermetures d'installations annoncées en mars restent en vigueur.
  • Pour leur propre sécurité, les visiteurs ne doivent pas essayer d'accéder à des lieux fermés.
  • Toutes les installations de camping restent fermées au moins jusqu'au 21 juin 2020, tandis que Parcs Canada évalue si et comment ces services pourraient reprendre. Les activités de groupe et les événements publics seront interdits jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Toutes les réservations existantes qui doivent avoir lieu avant le 21 juin 2020 seront automatiquement annulées et remboursées en totalité.
  • Les autoroutes et les routes qui traversent les sites de Parcs Canada resteront ouvertes.

Informations importantes sur votre viste au Parc national des Monts-Torngat

En raison des préoccupations liées à la pandémie mondiale, le camp de base et la station de recherche des monts Torngat (adjacents à la limite sud du parc) ne seront pas ouverts aux visiteurs en 2020, mais l'exploitant accueille les invités pour 2021. Consultez www.thetorngats.ca pour mises à jour régulières. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez envoyer un courriel à thetorngats@airborealis.ca ou appeler le 1-709-635-4336.

Il est important de respecter les décisions des gouvernements du Nunatsiavut et du Nunavik concernant les déplacements non essentiels et de minimiser les risques pour le personnel du parc, pour les gardes Inuits et pour l’équipe de sauvetage. Parcs Canada déconseille fortement les voyages indépendants dans le parc en 2020. Veuillez nous appeler au 709-922-1290 ou envoyer un courriel à pc.infopntorngats-torngatsnpinfo.pc@canada.ca pour plus d'informations.

Ce qui est ouvert (mise à jour : mai 25, 2020)
  • Les activités traditionnelles autochtones dans les emplacements de Parcs Canada se poursuivront, mais tous les utilisateurs sont priés de suivre les conseils des experts en santé publique concernant la distanciation physique.
Ce qui est fermé (mise à jour : mai 25, 2020)
  • Le camp de base et la station de recherche des monts Torngat.
Votre sécurité lors de votre visite
  • Parcs Canada déconseille fortement les voyages indépendants dans le parc en 2020. Ceci afin de respecter les décisions des gouvernements du Nunatsiavut et du Nunavik concernant les déplacements non essentiels et de minimiser les risques pour le personnel du parc, les gardes à ours inuits et les opérations de sauvetage.
  • Tous les visiteurs potentiels doivent contacter le personnel du parc et, comme toujours, les visiteurs doivent s'inscrire auprès du parc. Veuillez appeler le personnel du parc au 709-922-1290 ou envoyer un courriel à pc.infopntorngats-torngatsnpinfo.pc@canada.ca pour plus d'informations.

Restez informé :

Veuillez consulter le site pc.gc.ca et suivre les canaux des médias sociaux de Parcs Canada pour obtenir des renseignements et des mises à jour sur la situation de tous les sites de Parcs Canada.