The Torngat Mountains are the backbone of Newfoundland and Labrador’s northernmost tip. There are no roads, but in summer, scheduled charters leave Happy Valley-Goose Bay for the 600-kilometre (372-mile) flight to Saglek airstrip at the park’s southern border. From there it’s a short boat trip or helicopter ride to Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station which is open for 2018 from August 4th – September 1st.

Getting here

Location

P.O. Box 471
Nain NL, Canada
A0P 1L0

Chartered Flights to Torngat Mountains Base Camp

The Torngat Mountains Base Camp offers packaged excursions that include air travel from Goose Bay, N.L., to Saglek, N.L., and boat and/or helicopter transportation from Saglek, N.L., to the Base Camp, which is located at St. John’s Harbour in Saglek Bay. Packages include round-trip air transport from Goose Bay to Saglek, boat and/or helicopter transfer from Saglek to Torngat Mountains Base Camp & Research Station, all meals, tent accommodation, and guided excursions depending on the package purchased.

The chartered flights are available for the 2018 season from August 4th - September 1st. Call 1-709-217-2591, 1-709-635-4336 or email thetorngats@provair.com for additional information or inquires about charter schedules and availability for the upcoming season.

Getting to Goose Bay, N.L.

PAL Airlines offer service to Goose Bay daily from St. John’s, N.L., Gander, N.L. and Deer Lake, N.L., and on selected days from Montréal, Que., and Halifax, N.S.(check with the airline for up to date information). 

Chartering Your Own Transportation to the Park

Air or boat charters from Nain are another way of accessing the park in the summer, and snowmobiles or air charters are used in the winter. Aircraft charter services are also available out of Goose Bay, Labrador, and Kuujjuaq in Nunavik. Boat charters with Inuit guides may be arranged. For more information call Parks Canada 1-888-922-1290 or the Nunatsiavut Government at (709) 922-2942. Staff can help put you in contact with local operators.

Facilities and services

Accessible Facilities Accessible services
Lookout Lookout
Restrooms Restrooms
Beaches Beaches
Picnic Area Picnic area
Information Information
Picnic Shelter Picnic shelter

Les monts Torngat constituent l’épine dorsale de l’extrémité nord du Labrador. Il n’y a pas de routes qui y mènent mais en été, des vols nolisés réguliers depuis Valley-Goose Bay atterrissent à Saglek, à la limite sud du parc, ce qui représente un voyage de 600 km. De là, un court trajet en bateau ou en hélicoptère jusqu'au camp de base et à la station de recherches de Torngat Mountains, ouvert en 2018 du 4 août au 1er septembre.

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

CP box 471
Nain T-N-L, Canada
A0P 1L0

Vols nolisés vers le camp de base des monts Torngat

Le camp de base des Monts-Torngat offre des excursions emballées qui comprennent le transport aérien de Goose Bay (T.-N.-L.) à Saglek (T.-N.-L.) et le transport par bateau et / ou hélicoptère de Saglek (T.-N.-L.) au camp de base situé au port de St. John's à Saglek. Baie. Les forfaits comprennent le transport aérien aller-retour de Goose Bay à Saglek, le transfert en bateau et / ou hélicoptère de Saglek au camp de base et à la station de recherche Torngat Mountains, tous les repas, l'hébergement en tente et les excursions guidées selon le forfait acheté.

Les vols affrétés sont disponibles pour la saison 2018 du 4 août au 1er septembre. Appelez 1-709-217-2591, 1-709-635-4336 ou envoyez un courriel à thetorngats@provair.com pour plus d'informations ou pour toute information sur les horaires et la disponibilité pour la saison à venir.

Pour vous rendre à Goose Bay (T.-N.-L.)

PAL Airlines offre un service quotidien à destination de Goose Bay à partir de St. John's, N.L., Gander, N.L. et Deer Lake, N.L., et certains jours à partir de Montréal (Québec) et de Halifax (N.S.) (vérifiez auprès de la compagnie aérienne pour obtenir des renseignements à jour).

Pour affréter votre propre transport vers le parc

Le transport affrété par avion ou par bateau depuis Nain est un autre moyen d’accéder au parc durant l’été et le transport affrété par motoneige ou par avion est utilisé en hiver. Des services d’affrètement d’avion sont offerts depuis Goose Bay, Labrador et Kuujjuaq, au Nunavik. Il est possible d’affréter un transport par bateau avec des guides inuits. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec Parcs Canada, au 1-888-922-1290, ou le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut, au 709-922-2942. Le personnel peut vous aider à entrer en contact avec des exploitants locaux.

Installations et services

Accessible Facilities Installations accessibles
Lookout Belvédère
Restrooms Toilettes
Beaches Plages
Picnic Area Aire de pique-nique
Information Renseignements
Picnic Shelter Abri de pique-nique