We rarely head out for an outdoor adventure with the expectation that something will go wrong, most times everything will go right. However, sometimes the unexpected happens and when it does, it's important that you are well informed and well prepared to minimize the negative impact of unfortunate circumstances.

For general information on how to stay safe and a list of the 10 essential items you should bring when enjoying the outdoors visit www.adventuresmart.ca

Satellite Phones

Carry a satellite phone and be familiar with its proper use. The Iridium satellite phones are the most reliable for use in the Torngat Mountains National Park area at the moment. Carrying a SPOT or inReach Satellite Messenger device is also recommended.

In an emergency, call:

  • 24 hour emergency number at Park Canada Emergency Dispatch: 1-877-852-3100 or 1-780-852-3100 (Note: the 1-877-852-3100 number may not work with satellite phones)
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police detachment in Nain, Labrador: 1-709-922-2862

Be prepared to tell the dispatcher:

  • The name of the park you are in
  • Your name and the names of others in your travel party
  • Your satellite phone number
  • The nature of the incident
  • Your location: name of area (e.g. Saglek Fjord), & latitude/longitude or UTM coordinates
  • Current weather conditions: wind, precipitation, cloud cover, temperature, & visibility

Polar & Black Bears

The chance of encountering a Polar Bear (Ursus maritimus) or a Black Bear (Ursus americanus) is extremely high in the Torngat Mountains. It is safest to travel with an experienced Inuit polar bear guard who is permitted to carry a firearm in the park. Carry effective and approved bear deterrents (crackers, screamers, air horns, etc.) and know how to use them. A lightweight alarmed electric fence is recommended for enclosing your campsite at night.

Nous entreprenons rarement une aventure de plein air en pensant que les chose vont mal tourner et la plupart du temps, tout ira bien. Cependant, parfois l'imprévu se produit et quand il le fait, il est important que vous êtes bien informé et bien préparé pour minimiser l'impact négatif des circonstances malheureuses.

Pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur la façon de demeurer en sécurité et une liste des 10 articles essentiels que vous devriez apporter lors de vos visites en plein air: www.adventuresmart.ca

Téléphones satellites

Munissez-vous d’un téléphone satellite et familiarisez-vous avec son fonctionnement. Les téléphones satellites Iridium sont ceux qui fonctionnent le mieux, à l’heure actuelle, dans le parc national des Monts-Torngat. Il est aussi recommandé de se munir d’un dispositif de messagerie par satellite SPOT.

En cas d’urgence, contactez :

  • Numéro d’urgence jour et nuit du Centre de répartition des urgences de Parcs Canada : 1-877-852-3100 ou 1-780-852-3100 (Remarque : le numéro 1-877-852-3100 peut ne pas fonctionner avec les téléphones satellite)
  • Gendarmerie royale du Canada, détachement de Nain, Labrador : 1-709-922-2862

Soyez prêt à donner les renseignements suivants au répartiteur :

  • le nom du parc
  • votre nom et celui des autres membres de votre groupe
  • votre numéro de téléphone satellite
  • la nature de l’incident
  • votre position, le nom du lieu (p. ex. baie Saglek), la latitude et la longitude ou les coordonnées UTM
  • les conditions météo en cours : vent, précipitations, couverture nuageuse, température et visibilité

Ours polaires et ours noirs

La possibilité de rencontrer un ours polaire (Ursus maritimus) ou un ours noir (Ursus americanus) est extrêmement élevée dans les Monts Torngat. Il est plus sécuritaire de voyager avec un guide inuit expérimenté qui est autorisé à porter une arme à feu dans le parc. Procurez-vous des répulsifs à ours polaires efficaces et approuvés (cartouches d’tonantes, cartouches hurlantes, avertisseurs sonores à air) et apprenez à les utiliser. Il est aussi recommandé d’installer une clôture électrique portative pour protéger votre campement durant la nuit.