Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station offers visitors daily excursions from base camp into the park and the surrounding landscape. Parks Canada staff provide interpretive programming on all trips in the park, and with logistical support from Torngat Mountains Base Camp, we are able to offer visitors a wide range of experiences. Here you will find descriptions of some of the day trips many visitors will have an opportunity to experience. 

Walk in the Footsteps of Inuit Ancestors

The spectacular landscape of Torngat Mountains National Park holds centuries of Inuit cultural history in its fjords, valleys, and mountains. A variety of hiking experiences give visitors of every skill level opportunities to explore this special landscape and discover its hidden histories in the company of Inuit: light interpretive day hikes foster a deeper connection to the region; and multi-day backpacking excursions follow ancient paths marked by inuksuit.

I Am From PitukKik: a Nakvak Brook Journey

Stand alongside a commemorative inuksuk built to mark one end of a historic travel route that even today connects Inuit of Ungava Bay to Inuit on the Labrador Coast. This inukshuk was erected by the Cooperative Management Board for the Torngat Mountains National Park to celebrate and honour the connection between Inuit of Nunavik and Nunatsiavut. It is the highlight of a full-day boat trip to the north side of Saglek Fjord at the delta of PitukKik. Watch for black bears fishing the shallows for Arctic char. Amid wildflowers and grand views, walk the beginning of the traditional Inuit travel route in the company of Inuit who have personal connections to this place.

Multi-Day Backcountry Adventure

Choose your own adventure – bring your family and friends to an ancient land and select a hiking route that matches your skill level and interests. Travel with an Inuk who will share stories of the land and of the people who have walked here before you. Follow paths marked by inuksuit and river valleys, and discover the archeological traces along the way. Sleep under the stars… or under the Northern lights!

Le camp de base et la station de recherche des Monts Torngat proposent aux visiteurs des excursions quotidiennes depuis le camp de base vers le parc et le paysage environnant. Le personnel de Parcs Canada offre des programmes d'interprétation pour tous les déplacements dans le parc. Grâce au soutien logistique fourni par le camp de base des monts Torngat, nous sommes en mesure d'offrir aux visiteurs un large éventail d'expériences. Vous trouverez ici des descriptions de certaines des excursions d’une journée que de nombreux visiteurs auront l’occasion de découvrir.

Marchez sur les traces d'ancêtres inuits

Le paysage spectaculaire du parc national des Monts Torngat contient des siècles d'histoire culturelle inuite dans ses fjords, ses vallées et ses montagnes. Une variété d'expériences de randonnée offrent aux visiteurs de tous les niveaux d'habileté l'occasion d'explorer ce paysage spécial et de découvrir ses histoires cachées en compagnie des Inuits: de légères randonnées d'une journée pour interpréter les relations favorisent un lien plus profond avec la région; et des randonnées de plusieurs jours sur des sentiers de randonnée suivent d'anciens chemins balisés en inuksuit.

Je viens de PitukKik: un périple de Nakvak Brook

Tenez-vous à côté d'un inuksuk commémoratif construit pour marquer l'une des extrémités d'un itinéraire de voyage historique qui relie encore aujourd'hui les Inuits de la baie d'Ungava aux Inuits de la côte du Labrador. Le conseil de gestion des coopératives du parc national des Monts-Torngat a érigé cet inukshuk afin de célébrer et d'honorer les liens qui unissent les Inuits du Nunavik au Nunatsiavut. C'est le point culminant d'une excursion en bateau d'une journée complète vers le nord du fjord de Saglek, dans le delta de PitukKik. Surveillez les ours noirs qui pêchent l'omble chevalier dans les bas-fonds. Au milieu de fleurs sauvages et de vues grandioses, parcourez le début de la route de voyage traditionnelle des Inuits en compagnie d’Inuits qui entretiennent des liens personnels avec cet endroit.

Aventure de plusieurs jours dans l'arrière-pays

Choisissez votre propre aventure - emmenez votre famille et vos amis sur une terre ancestrale et choisissez un itinéraire de randonnée qui correspond à votre niveau et à vos intérêts. Voyagez avec un Inuk qui vous racontera des histoires sur la terre et sur les gens qui ont marché ici avant vous. Suivez les sentiers balisés d'inuksuit et de vallées fluviales et découvrez les traces archéologiques qui se déroulent sur son parcours. Dormez à la belle étoile… ou sous les aurores boréales!