Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station offers visitors daily excursions from base camp into the park and the surrounding landscape. Parks Canada staff provide interpretive programming on all trips in the park, and with logistical support from Torngat Mountains Base Camp, we are able to offer visitors a wide range of experiences. Here you will find descriptions of some of the day trips many visitors will have an opportunity to experience.

Perspectives of the Land

Amid the towering mountains and wide valleys of Torngat Mountains National Park, polar bears and caribou roam beside deep fjords as icebergs and glaciers brush against some of the earth’s oldest rocks. The spectacular wilderness of this park is home to a wide array of arctic flora and fauna, inspiring local Inuit and researchers to work together to learn from the land. Experience the rich stories of the natural world in this special place and discover the wonders of healthy, thriving Arctic ecosystems.

Bears and Bergs by Boat

Enjoy a half-day zodiac tour of up-close visits with majestic icebergs and learn where they came from and where they are going. Accompanied by Parks Canada staff and an Inuit Bear Guard, spot polar bears roaming the rocky shores of the outlying islands of the park on their hunt for food. Along the journey, expect to see seabirds, seals and whales, learn all the local Inuttitut names, and their importance to Inuit culture.

“Micro” Torngats - Plants and Insects Hike

Rain or shine, join staff on a half-day moderate hike near the Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research station to appreciate the northern flora. Get close to the small arctic flowers, plants and insects of this tundra climate and discover how they have adapted their amazing survival techniques to this northern landscape. Identify key plants of the region – in English and Inuttitut – and learn about their traditional Inuit uses.

Some of the Oldest Rocks in the World

The towering mountains and sweeping fjords of the park represent a rich and unique geological history. Discover the hidden stories beneath your feet on a half-day excursion by zodiac that will allow you to walk on ancient pieces of the Earth’s Mantle. Geologists are on a search to find the oldest rocks in the world here in the Torngat Mountains, and some areas have been recorded as being over 3.9 billion years old! Along with a light interpretive hike, staff and visitors will savour a traditional Inuit shore lunch of freshly caught Arctic Char.

Le camp de base et la station de recherche des Monts Torngat proposent aux visiteurs des excursions quotidiennes depuis le camp de base vers le parc et le paysage environnant. Le personnel de Parcs Canada offre des programmes d'interprétation pour tous les déplacements dans le parc. Grâce au soutien logistique fourni par le camp de base des monts Torngat, nous sommes en mesure d'offrir aux visiteurs un large éventail d'expériences. Vous trouverez ici des descriptions de certaines des excursions d’une journée que de nombreux visiteurs auront l’occasion de découvrir.

Perspectives du pays

Au milieu des hautes montagnes et des vastes vallées du parc national des Monts Torngat, ours polaires et caribous errent le long des fjords profonds tandis que les icebergs et les glaciers frôlent certains des plus anciens rochers de la planète. La nature sauvage spectaculaire de ce parc abrite une grande diversité de flore et de faune arctiques, ce qui incite les Inuits et les chercheurs de la région à travailler ensemble pour tirer les leçons de la nature. Découvrez les riches histoires du monde naturel dans cet endroit privilégié et découvrez les merveilles des écosystèmes arctiques sains et florissants.

Ours et Bergs en bateau

Profitez d'une visite d'une demi-journée en zodiac avec des icebergs majestueux et apprenez d'où ils viennent et où ils vont. Accompagnés de membres du personnel de Parcs Canada et d'un garde inuit à l'ours, repérez des ours polaires errant sur les rivages rocheux des îles périphériques du parc en quête de nourriture. Tout au long du voyage, attendez-vous à voir des oiseaux de mer, des phoques et des baleines, découvrez tous les noms locaux en inuttitut et leur importance pour la culture inuite.

“Micro” Torngats - Randonnée Plantes et Insectes

Beau temps, mauvais temps, rejoignez le personnel lors d'une randonnée modérée d'une demi-journée à proximité du camp de base et de la station de recherche de la chaîne de montagnes Torngat pour apprécier la flore nordique. Approchez-vous des petites fleurs, plantes et insectes arctiques de ce climat de toundra et découvrez comment ils ont adapté leurs étonnantes techniques de survie à ce paysage nordique. Identifiez les plantes clés de la région - en anglais et en inuttitut - et découvrez leurs utilisations traditionnelles par les Inuits.

Quelques uns des plus vieux rochers du monde

Les hautes montagnes et les fjords du parc représentent une histoire géologique riche et unique. Découvrez les histoires cachées sous vos pieds lors d’une excursion d’une demi-journée en zodiac qui vous permettra de marcher sur des pièces anciennes du manteau terrestre. Les géologues sont à la recherche des roches les plus anciennes du monde, ici dans les monts Torngat, et certaines zones ont plus de 3,9 milliards d'années! Parallèlement à une légère randonnée d’interprétation, le personnel et les visiteurs savoureront un déjeuner traditionnel sur le rivage inuit avec de l’omble chevalier fraîchement pêché.