To ensure park ecosystems are healthy, we need to know how their components and processes are changing over time. This is done through Ecological Integrity (EI) Monitoring. 

EI Monitoring provides park managers with critical information on ecosystem health. Over the past century, the forests of Terra Nova National Park have experienced several stressors that have impacted its ecological integrity. 

  • Fires, a natural forest ecosystem process, have been suppressed thus affecting forest regeneration.
  • New species, such as Moose, have been introduced to the island of Newfoundland, causing a shift in native plant and animal populations.
  • Through accidental trapping and snaring, as well as habitat loss the native Newfoundland Marten have disappeared from most of the Island, including the forests of Terra Nova National Park.

Documenting change over time allows park managers to guide and assess management decisions in the maintenance and restoration of ecological integrity.


Seedling growth after a prescribed fire.

Fire

Fire is a necessary process to allow forest regeneration, and to ensure that native tree species such as black spruce and red pine persist in Terra Nova National Park. Fire encourages regeneration by: opening up the forest canopy and letting light in, releasing seed from cones, renewing the forest floor to allow space for seeds to germinate and grow, and returning essential nutrients to the soil.

Pre- and post- fire monitoring of prescribed fire sites enables park managers to track the essential role of fire in forest regeneration and to ensure our efforts are effective.


Species Management- Moose

Moose Exclosure

Moose exclosures were established in insect-disturbed areas in 1991. Today, the area inside the exclosures has shown significant growth. The area outside continues to be browsed by moose, preventing balsam fir forests and hardwoods from regenerating.

In a healthy forest, regeneration continually creates trees of various ages- from new seedlings all the way up to mature trees. This variety provides a diversity of habitats, as well as young trees to replace mature trees as they die. The browsing pressure of moose on tree and shrub saplings is measured to determine the severity of impact, as well as the number of trees likely to make it to maturity and replace the forest canopy. 

Annual aerial surveys assess moose population numbers.

Within randomly selected plots in Terra Nova National Park, balsam fir saplings and hardwoods are counted to determine the proportion that has been browsed. Plots are considered healthy if fewer than 20% of stems found within the plot are browsed. With normal sapling densities, this proportion would allow enough individual trees to escape browsing pressure and replace the forest canopy. 

The data found thus far shows that browsing pressure on balsam fir and hardwood trees in Terra Nova National Park is much greater than in a healthy forest. 

The majority of the park's balsam fir/mixed hardwood forest stands remain in poor condition due to stress associated mainly with moose browsing. It is hoped that reducing moose numbers will allow more saplings to escape browsing pressure and result in improvements in forest health over the coming years.


The Newfoundland Marten.

Species at Risk

Parks Canada staff use "mark-recapture" surveys each year to monitor the population of the Newfoundland Marten. Marten are tagged and released to determine success in re-establishing marten populations in forests in and around Terra Nova National Park.

Protected areas like Terra Nova National Park offer crucial habitat for species at risk. The park is home to several species at risk, including the Newfoundland Marten (Martes americana atrata), the Red Crosbill (Loxia curvirostra percna) and the Boreal Felt Lichen (Erioderma pedicellatum). Through EI monitoring and partnerships with researchers, Parks Canada is able to keep track of how these populations are evolving. 


alt
Image of a squirrel using a wildlife crossing.

Wildlife Cameras

One of the ways that we remotely monitor species in the park is by using wildlife cameras.

In 2018, several large culverts were repaired under the Trans-Canada Highway in Terra Nova National Park. Part of this work was the addition of wildlife crossing structures in the culverts to help small animal species, such as the threatened Newfoundland Marten, cross the highway safely. In order to monitor the effectiveness of these new animal crossings, wildlife cameras were established.

Wildlife cameras are used in Terra Nova National Park for wildlife conservation purposes. Concerned about your privacy? So are we. That's why we delete images of visitors captured on our cameras. However, images that show illegal activities that may have serious impacts on wildlife, or put the safety of visitors at risk may be used for law enforcement purposes.

Pour nous assurer que les écosystèmes du parc sont sains, nous devons savoir comment leurs composantes et ses processus évoluent au fil du temps. Ceci est possible grâce à la surveillance de l’intégrité écologique. La surveillance de l’intégrité écologique permet aux gestionnaires du parc de bénéficier de renseignements essentiels au sujet de la santé de l’écosystème.

Au cours du dernier siècle, les forêts du parc national Terra-Nova ont subi l’effet de plusieurs facteurs de stress qui ont eu des répercussions sur son intégrité écologique.

  • Les feux, processus naturel de l'écosystème forestier, ont été réprimés, nuisant ainsi à la régénération de la forêt.
  • De nouvelles espèces, comme l'orignal, ont été introduites dans l’île de Terre-Neuve, entraînant un changement dans les populations végétales et animales indigènes.
  • Par le piégeage et le collettage accidentels, ainsi que par la perte d'habitat, la martre de Terre-Neuve, une espèce indigène, a disparu de la quasi-totalité de l’île, y compris des forêts du parc national Terra-Nova.

Le fait de consigner les changements au fil du temps permet aux gestionnaires du parc d’orienter et d’évaluer les décisions de gestion relatives à la préservation et à la restauration de l’intégrité écologique.


Croissance des semis après un feu dirigé.

Feu

Le feu est un processus nécessaire pour permettre la régénération de la forêt et pour s'assurer que les espèces d'arbres indigènes comme l'épinette noire et le pin rouge persistent dans le parc national Terra-Nova. Le feu favorise la régénération en ouvrant le couvert forestier et en laissant entrer la lumière, en libérant les graines des cônes, en renouvelant le sol forestier pour permettre aux graines de germer et de pousser, et en retournant les nutriments essentiels au sol.

La surveillance d’un site avant et après un feu dirigé permet aux gestionnaires du parc de surveiller le rôle essentiel du feu dans la régénération des forêts et de s'assurer que nos efforts sont efficaces.


Gestion des espèces — Orignal

Exclos à orignaux .

Le broutage excessif des sapins baumiers et des feuillus par les orignaux nuit à la régénération de la forêt. Dans une forêt saine, la régénération fait en sorte qu’il y a des arbres de tous les âges — des nouvelles pousses jusqu’aux arbres matures. Cette variété offre des habitats diversifiés et permet aux jeunes arbres de remplacer les arbres matures lorsqu’ils meurent. La pression exercée par le broutage sur les gaules est mesurée afin d’évaluer les ravages du broutage ainsi que le nombre d’arbres qui devrait se rendre à maturité et contribuer à former le couvert de la forêt.

Sur des parcelles sélectionnées au hasard dans le parc national Terra-Nova, les gaules de sapin baumier et les feuillus sont comptabilisés pour évaluée la proportion des arbres broutés. Les parcelles où moins de 20 p. cent des tiges observées ont été broutées sont considérées saines. Avec des densités de gaules normales, cette proportion fait en sorte qu’un nombre suffisant d’arbres pourra échapper à la pression exercée par le broutage et contribuer à former le couvert de la forêt.

Les relevés aériens annuels permettent d’évaluer la population d’orignaux.

Les données recueillies jusqu’à maintenant indiquent que les pressions exercées par le broutage sur les sapins baumiers et les feuillus dans le parc national Terra-Nova sont beaucoup plus importantes que ce que l’on trouve dans une forêt saine.

La majorité des peuplements de sapins baumiers et de feuillus mixtes de la forêt du parc demeure en mauvais état en raison du stress associé principalement au broutage des orignaux. Il est à espérer que la réduction de la population d’orignaux permettra à un plus grand nombre de gaules d’échapper aux pressions exercées par le broutage et donnera lieu à une amélioration de la santé de la forêt au cours des années à venir.


Espèces en péril

La martre de Terre-Neuve.

Le personnel de Parcs Canada a recours aux relevés par marquage et recapture chaque année pour surveiller la population de la martre de Terre-Neuve. Les martres sont marquées et libérées pour évaluer le succès de leur réintroduction dans les forêts du parc national Terre-Nova et les forêts avoisinantes.

Les zones protégées offrent un habitat essentiel aux espèces en péril. Le parc national Terra-Nova accueille plusieurs de ces espèces, notamment la martre de Terre Neuve (Martes americana atrata), le bec-croisé des sapins (Loxia curvirostra percna) et l’érioderme boréal (Erioderma pedicellatum). Grâce à la surveillance écologique et à des partenariats avec des chercheurs, Parcs Canada est en mesure de suivre de près l’évolution de ces populations.


alt
Image d’un écureuil empruntant un corridor faunique.

Des caméras de surveillance de la faune

Les appareils photo actionnés par le mouvement sont un des moyens utilisés pour surveiller à distance les espèces sauvages dans le parc.

En 2018, plusieurs gros ponceaux ont été réparés sous la Transcanadienne dans le parc national Terra-Nova. Les travaux ont notamment consisté à aménager des passages fauniques dans les ponceaux pour aider les petits animaux, comme la martre d’Amérique, une espèce menacée, à traverser la route en toute sécurité. Pour surveiller l’efficacité de ces nouveaux corridors fauniques, nous avons installé des appareils photo actionnés par le mouvement.

Des caméras de surveillance de la faune sont utilisés dans [ce parc national/cette aire marine nationale de conservation/ce parc urbain national/ce lieu historique national] à des fins de conservation de la faune. La protection de votre vie privée vous préoccupe? Nous aussi. C’est pourquoi nous supprimons les images de visiteurs prises par nos caméras. Toutefois, si les images démontrent la tenue d’activités illégales qui risquent d’avoir de graves répercussions sur la faune ou de compromettre la sécurité des visiteurs, elles pourraient être utilisées à des fins d’application de la loi.