• What is the problem with forest regeneration in Terra Nova National Park?

    The forest in Terra Nova National Park is very old and is not being replenished with new trees. The young trees that usually form the understory of the forest have been browsed so heavily by moose that they are unable to grow. The result is that decades after insects killed mature fir trees in some parts of Gros Morne and Terra Nova National Parks, no trees have grown back to replace them. Instead, fir forests have changed into grassland or shrub barrens. This has occurred, or is in the process of occurring, in 13 square kilometres of Terra Nova’s forest.

  • How do we know that moose are the problem?

    Moose numbers have increased dramatically since Terra Nova National Park was created in 1957. Each adult moose eats approximately 30 kg of twigs each day. Twigs of trees and shrubs are the most important food for moose during winter. Surveys over the last thirty years have shown increasing damage to forest vegetation as the moose population has grown. Research has shown that moose can remove as much as 98% of young trees in a given area. Moose are also reducing the abundance of understory shrubs such as wild raisin, chuckley pear, mountain holly, red elderberry, Canada yew and wild raspberry. Through decades of heavy browsing, moose are impacting the habitats of other species and are decreasing the overall diversity of plants and animals that live in Terra Nova National Park.

  • What will happen if nothing is done to control the moose population?

    The most likely scenario is as follows: the preferred food species of the moose will continue to decline; even larger areas of forest will convert to grassland and shrub barrens; the diversity of wildlife and vegetation will continue to decline due to lack of food and habitat; the growth of non-native weeds will increase; and eventually, the moose population will start to decline as many of them become weakened and starve to death. By that time, the long-term damage will be done.

  • How will Parks Canada reduce and control moose numbers?

    After extensive public consultations and examination of population reduction efforts in other national parks and protected areas, Terra Nova National Park developed a Hyperabundant Moose Management Plan. One of the strategies identified in this plan is to allow hunters to harvest moose within Terra Nova National Park. At the same time, Parks Canada will monitor the moose population to determine whether the hunt is effective at reducing the number of moose and whether forest regeneration is improving as a result. Other strategies identified in the plan include vegetation management techniques such as mechanical site preparation and tree planting.

  • What do I need to participate in the population reduction program?

    Licenses will be allocated to eligible harvesters through a random draw process administered by the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador’s Hunting and Trapping Guide includes comprehensive information on the population reduction programs for both Terra Nova and Gros Morne National Parks. Participants must provide proof of provincial harvester eligibility, which includes successful completion of the Canadian Firearm Safety Course and Newfoundland Hunter Education Course. Once eligibility is confirmed they can apply through the provincial big game licensing system. Successful draw applicants will be issued a Parks Canada Superintendent’s permit that will allow them to harvest and retrieve a moose in Terra Nova National Park. Also, as per provincial regulations, harvesters will need to possess their provincial hunting license and tags as well as their outdoor identification card. When transporting a firearm in an area of a national park that is outside of the identified moose management area, the firearm must be cased or securely wrapped and tied.

  • What type of licenses will be available?

    Ninety either-sex licenses are available for the 2019-2020 season. An additional 30 either-sex licenses are available to not-for-profit organizations. Hunters should note that other provincial harvesting licenses (i.e., for species other than moose) will not be recognized in Terra Nova National Park.

  • Will hunting on behalf of a not-for-profit organization affect my individual status in the license draw?

    No. In this case the not-for-profit organization is the official license holder and the hunter is identified to hunt on their behalf. The individual status of the identified hunter is not affected.

  • Will there be access to secondary roads in the park?

    Yes. All accessible roads will be open. Roads will be ploughed when necessary. These include Blue Hill, Ochre Hill, Sandy Pond and Visitor Centre roads. Please note that construction activities may be taking place in some areas and there may be temporary closures.

  • How much road access is there in Terra Nova National Park for searching for animals?

    There are approximately 57 kms of road that can be traveled by vehicle in Terra Nova National Park. There are “no hunting” buffers in place along the TCH (20 m), Routes 301 (20 m) and 310 (50m). Please ensure that you are outside these buffers before discharging your firearm. Please see the map for “No Hunting Areas”. For more information please call 709-533-2801. Harvesters are also cautioned to adhere to traffic regulations when travelling these roadways and to follow safe hunting practices.

  • Will backcountry access or retrieval assistance be offered in 2019/2020?

    No. Assistance with backcountry access will not be provided. A pilot program to offer access had limited success in terms of advancing the park’s ecological goals.

  • Can I use my ATV or snowmobile to retrieve a moose?

    No. The National Parks Act prohibits the recreational use of all-terrain vehicles or snowmobiles in Terra Nova National Park. These motorized vehicles cause environmental damage, including destruction of vegetation, disturbance to wildlife and contamination of soil and water.

  • What is a a trip plan?

    A trip plan is a plan that outlines your expected travel itinerary. Parks Canada requires a trip plan for hunters planning an overnight stay at a designated backcountry campsite. It should include a departure date/time, proposed hunting area/route, estimated date/time of return, names and address of hunting party, contact information, and emergency contact information. As with all backcountry travel, hunters must be self-reliant and prepared for an overnight stay in the event that weather or other issues prevent them from returning at the planned time.

  • Am I allowed to hunt in areas where park staff are working, or within construction zones?

    No. Hunting is not permitted within these areas. There may be construction zones and work areas throughout the park this season and their locations may change daily. Pay close attention to posted signs and call 709-533-2801 for up-to-date information. Please note that for fall 2019, The Visitor Centre area will remain closed to hunting due to ongoing construction.

  • What are “Shared Access Areas” on the map?

    Most areas of the park are now shared access areas this year which will allow visitor and hunter access simultaneously. They are shared use areas between hunters and visitors. Additional areas are closed to hunting until October 26 due to higher visitor use at these locations during the early fall season. These areas include Sandy Pond Road and trail; Ochre Hill Road, lookout and trail; as well as Visitor Centre to 2 km south on Coastal Trail, Heritage Trail and Goowiddy Path (Blue Hill Pond-Buckley’s Cove loop).There is a 300 metre ‘no hunting’ buffer around each backcountry campsite until October 26. Please use extra caution if hunting within these areas, and note the backcountry campsite locations. GPS coordinates for campsites are found on the back of the map. These buffers are identified on your hunter map with orange circles.

  • Can you hunt on Sundays in Terra Nova National Park?

    As with other Moose Management Areas in Newfoundland and Labrador, there will be no hunting on Sundays in Terra Nova National Park during the month of September. The affected dates are September 22 and 29. Sunday hunting will commence on October 6, 2019 in designated open areas.

• Pourquoi la forêt a-t-elle du mal à se régénérer dans le parc national Terra Nova?

    La forêt du parc national Terra-Nova est très vieille, et elle est dépourvue d’arbrisseaux qui lui permettraient de se régénérer. Les jeunes arbres qui forment habituellement le sous-étage de la forêt ont été intensivement broutés par les orignaux, à tel point qu’ils n’arrivent plus à pousser. Ainsi, plusieurs décennies après une infestation d’insectes qui a ravagé les sapins matures de certains secteurs du parc national du Gros-Morne et du parc national Terra Nova, il n’y a plus d’arbrisseaux pour remplacer les arbres morts. Du coup, les forêts de sapins sont devenues des prairies ou des landes de broussailles. C’est ce qui s’est produit ou ce qui est en train de se produire sur une parcelle de 13 km2 de forêt dans le parc national Terra-Nova.

  • Comment savons-nous que les orignaux sont la cause du problème?

    La population d’orignaux a connu une croissance fulgurante depuis la création du parc national Terra Nova en 1957. Chaque orignal adulte mange environ 30 kg de brindilles par jour. En hiver, les brindilles d’arbres et d’arbrisseaux deviennent la principale source de nourriture de l’espèce. Les études des 30 dernières années révèlent des dommages croissants à la végétation de la forêt à mesure qu’augmente la population d’orignaux. Les recherches montrent que les orignaux peuvent décimer jusqu’à 98 % des jeunes arbres d’une parcelle donnée. Ils s’attaquant aussi aux arbustes du sous-étage, tels que la viorne cassinoïde, le cerisier de Virginie, le faux houx, le sureau rouge, l’if du Canada et le framboisier. Après des décennies de broutement intensif, l’orignal transforme l’habitat d’autres espèces et appauvrit la diversité animale et végétale du parc.

  • Qu’arrivera-t-il si rien n’est fait pour réguler la population d’orignaux?

    Voici le scénario le plus probable : les réserves de nourriture préférées de l’orignal continueront de s’amenuiser; des parcelles de forêt encore plus grandes se transformeront en prairies et en landes de broussailles; la diversité de la faune et de la végétation continuera de s’appauvrir en l’absence de nourriture et d’habitat; les mauvaises herbes non indigènes se propageront, et, à la longue, la population d’orignaux connaîtra un déclin, parce qu’un grand nombre de bêtes seront affaiblies et mourront de faim. À ce stade, nous aurons affaire à des dommages durables.

  • Comment Parcs Canada compte-t-il réduire et contrôler la population d’orignaux?

    À l’issue de vastes consultations publiques et d’un examen des programmes de réduction des populations entrepris dans d’autres aires protégées, le parc national Terra-Nova a élaboré un plan de gestion de la surpopulation d’orignaux. L’une des stratégies présentées dans ce plan consiste à permettre aux chasseurs d’abattre des orignaux dans le parc. Parcs Canada surveillera la population pour déterminer si la chasse réduit efficacement le nombre de bêtes et si la forêt se régénère. Parmi les autres stratégies énoncées dans le plan, mentionnons diverses techniques de gestion de la végétation, telles que la préparation mécanique du terrain et la plantation d’arbres.

  • De quoi ai-je besoin pour participer au programme de réduction?

    Des permis seront délivrés aux chasseurs admissibles après un tirage administré par le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Le Hunting and Trapping Guide (guide de la chasse et du piégeage) du gouvernement provincial renferme des renseignements complets sur les programmes de réduction des populations du parc national Terra-Nova et du parc national du Gros-Morne. Les participants doivent fournir une preuve d’admissibilité émise par la province, après avoir suivi avec succès le Cours canadien de sécurité dans le maniement des armes à feu et un cours de sensibilisation des chasseurs du gouvernement provincial. Une fois l’admissibilité confirmée, les chasseurs peuvent présenter une demande dans le cadre du système provincial de délivrance de permis de chasse au gros gibier. Les chasseurs choisis au tirage obtiennent ensuite un permis du directeur de Parcs Canada qui les autorise à abattre et à récupérer un orignal dans le parc national Terra-Nova. De plus, conformément à la réglementation provinciale, les chasseurs doivent posséder un permis de chasse provincial, des étiquettes et une carte de compétence pour la pratique d’activités de plein air (outdoor identification card). Les armes à feu transportées dans un secteur du parc qui se trouve à l’extérieur de la zone délimitée de gestion des orignaux doivent être rangées dans des étuis ou enveloppées et attachées de manière sécuritaire.

  • Quel type de permis peut-on obtenir?

    En tout, soixante (60) permis de chasse d’animaux des deux sexes sont accessibles pour la saison 2020-2021. À ce total sont venus s’ajouter trente (30) permis de chasse d’animaux des deux sexes qui sont délivrés à des organismes sans but lucratif. Les chasseurs sont priés de noter que les autres permis de chasse provinciaux (c. à d. pour des espèces autres que l’orignal) ne seront pas reconnus dans le parc national Terra-Nova.

  • Si je chasse au nom d’un organisme sans but lucratif, est-ce que je nuis à mon statut de chasseur pour le tirage?

    Non. En pareil cas, c’est l’organisme sans but lucratif qui est le titulaire officiel du permis, et le chasseur inscrit au permis ne fait que chasser en son nom. Il n’y a aucun effet sur le statut de ceux qui veulent chasser en leur propre nom.

  • L’accès à des routes secondaires sera-t-il possible dans le parc?

    Oui. Ces routes seront déneigées au besoin. Elles se trouvent dans les secteurs de la colline Blue, de la colline Ochre, de l’étang Sandy et du Centre d’accueil. Veuillez noter que des travaux de construction ont lieu sur ces routes. Il est donc possible que les chasseurs ne puissent pas emprunter certaines routes secondaires.

  • Quelle distance les chasseurs peuvent-ils parcourir sur les routes du parc à la recherche d’animaux?

    Le parc national Terra-Nova renferme environ 57 km de routes carrossables. Des zones-tampons où la chasse est interdite ont été délimitées le long de la Transcanadienne (20 m), de la route 301 (20 m) et de la route 310 (50 m). Assurez-vous que vous êtes à l’extérieur de ces zones-tampons avant d’ouvrir le feu. Veuillez consulter la carte des zones de chasse interdite. Pour en savoir davantage, composez le 709-533-2801 ou consultez notre site Web au www.pc.gc.ca/foresthealth. Nous rappelons aussi aux chasseurs qu’ils sont assujettis à la réglementation routière sur les routes secondaires et qu’ils doivent adopter des pratiques de chasse sécuritaires.

  • L'accès à l'arrière-pays ou l'aide à la récupération seront-ils offerts en 2020/2021?

    Non. L'aide pour l'accès à l'arrière-pays ne sera pas fournie. Un programme pilote visant à offrir l'accès n'a eu qu'un succès limité en ce qui a trait à l'avancement de nos objectifs écologiques et sera donc abandonné pour la saison de chasse 2019/2020.

  • Puis-je me servir d’un VTT ou d’une motoneige pour récupérer une carcasse d’orignal?

    Non. La Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada interdit l’utilisation de véhicules tout-terrain ou de motoneiges à des fins récréatives dans le parc national Terra-Nova. Ces véhicules à moteur causent des dommages à l’environnement, notamment en détruisant la végétation, en dérangeant la faune et en contaminant le sol et l’eau.

  • Quels renseignements doit-on fournir dans l’itinéraire?

    L’itinéraire consiste en un plan qui présente le parcours que vous comptez suivre. Parcs Canada exige un plan de voyage pour les chasseurs qui prévoient passer la nuit dans un emplacement de camping désigné dans l'arrière-pays. Il devrait comprendre la date et l'heure de départ, la zone ou l'itinéraire de chasse proposé, la date et l'heure estimative de retour, les noms et l'adresse de l'équipe de chasseurs, les coordonnées des personnes-ressources et les coordonnées en cas d'urgence. Comme pour tous les voyages dans l'arrière-pays, les chasseurs doivent être autonomes et prêts à passer la nuit dans l'éventualité où les conditions météorologiques ou d'autres problèmes les empêcheraient de revenir à l'heure prévue.

  • Est-ce que j’ai le droit de chasser dans des secteurs où travaille le personnel du parc ou dans des chantiers de construction?

    Non. La chasse n’est pas autorisée dans ces zones. Le parc renferme plusieurs chantiers de construction et zones de travail cette saison, et leur emplacement peut changer de jour en jour. Portez attention particulière aux panneaux et composez le 709-533-2801 pour obtenir des renseignements à jour.

  • En quoi consistent les « aires d’accès partagé » sur la carte?

    La plupart des zones du parc sont désormais considérées comme des « aires d’accès partagé » (les zones indiquées en vert sur la carte). Ce qui signifie que les visiteurs et les chasseurs peuvent utiliser ces endroits simultanément. Veuillez redoubler de prudence si vous chassez dans ces zones.

  • Est-il permis de chasser le dimanche dans le parc national Terra-Nova?

    La chasse sera autorisée le dimanche à partir du 18 octobre 2020.

  • Suis-je autorisé à utiliser un arc long, un arc à poulies ou une arbalète pour chasser l’orignal dans le parc?

    Oui, les arcs longs, les arcs à poulies et les arbalètes peuvent être utilisés pour chasser l’orignal dans le parc national Terra Nova. Les lois sur la chasse sont conformes à celles décrites par le ministère provincial de l’Environnement et de la Faune dans le guide annuel de chasse et de piégeage. Veuillez noter que la chasse avec ces armes à feu se pratique aux mêmes dates que la chasse au fusil. (13 octobre, 2020 à 31 janvier, 2021).