Over the past 5 years, Terra Nova National Park has been busy updating infrastructure and in some places building new assets. All of this work is being completed as part of the Federal Infrastructure Investment where Parks Canada will invest $3.0 billion to rehabilitate infrastructure assets within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. 

In order to maintain our newly rehabilitated assets, Terra Nova National Park has committed to closely monitor infrastructure conditions. One way in which we do this is environmental monitoring. 

Environmental Monitoring at the Eastport Causeway

Terra Nova National Park is located on the eastern coast of Newfoundland along several inlets of Bonavista Bay. Along the northern shoreline of the park, Highway 310 leads to the Eastport Peninsula acting as the only road access for the communities located there. The highway crosses Northeast Arm along the Eastport Causeway, a 1.25km rock fill structure.

In order to ensure the bridge remains in good condition, we are monitoring the environmental conditions surrounding it and making observations about how this will affect the life of this new asset.

The focus of this monitoring program along the Eastport Causeway is on the water level differential between Northeast Arm and Broad Cove, local weather conditions, wind generated waves and seasonal ice coverage. Elements of the monitoring program include:

  • A bottom mounted Acoustic Doppler Current Profiler (ADCP) installed offshore to measure wave action
  • Two cameras mounted to individual steel masts to monitor wave action along the causeway
  • A meteorological station with an additional camera and Two water-level loggers mounted to Broad Cove Bridge on an individual steel mast to measure weather parameters, wave action and water level differences

Information:

Ray Kenny
Public Relations and Communications Officer
709-772-2587
ray.kenny@pc.gc.ca

Au cours des cinq dernières années, le parc national Terra Nova s’est activé à mettre à niveau ses infrastructures et, à certains endroits, à en construire de nouvelles. Tous ces travaux sont réalisés dans le cadre du Programme d’investissement pour les infrastructures fédérales, qui permet à Parcs Canada d’investir 3,0 milliards de dollars pour rénover les infrastructures des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation partout au Canada.

Afin d’entretenir adéquatement ces biens rénovés, le parc national Terra Nova s’est engagé à surveiller étroitement l’état des infrastructures, notamment par une surveillance des conditions environnementales.

Surveillance environnementale au pont-chaussée d’Eastport

Le parc national Terra Nova est situé sur la côte Est de Terre-Neuve le long de plusieurs bras de mer dans la baie de Bonavista. Sur le littoral nord du parc, la route 310 mène à la péninsule d’Eastport et constitue la seule route d’accès aux communautés situées à cet endroit. La route traverse le bras Nord-Est sur le pont-chaussée d’Eastport, une structure d’enrochement de 1,25 km.

Pour veiller à ce que le pont soit maintenu en bon état, nous surveillons les conditions environnementales à proximité et observons leur effet sur la durée de vie de cette nouvelle structure.

Ce programme de surveillance le long du pont-chaussée d’Eastport permet d’observer la différence de niveau d’eau entre le bras Nord-Est et l’anse Broad, les conditions météorologiques, les vagues causées par le vent et la couverture de glace saisonnière. Le programme de surveillance comprend notamment:

  • un profileur de courant à effet Doppler (ADCP) installé sur le fond, au large, qui mesure l’effet des vagues;
  • deux caméras, chacune montée sur un mât d’acier, qui mesurent l’effet des vagues le long du pont-chaussée;
  • une station météorologique munie d’une autre camera et deux jauges de niveau d’eau, chacune montée sur un mât d’acier sur le pont de l’anse Broad, qui mesurent les paramètres météo, l’effet des vagues et les différents niveaux d’eau.
Renseignements:

Ray Kenny
Agent, relations publiques et communications
709-772-2587
ray.kenny@pc.gc.ca