Our hikes are designed for families and go ahead rain or shine. We encourage participants to wear appropriate footwear, outdoor wear and to bring along water and a snack. Below is a description of the guided hikes offered this summer.


Beaver Walk
Southwest Arm
Mondays at 8:00 pm

Terra Nova's largest rodent has been working hard all winter to build a new dam! Join us as we visit the busy beavers at Southwest Arm. Walk through this living "workshop" and see evidence of their hard work.

Night Watch
Newman Sound Day Use Area
Tuesdays at 9:00 pm

Join us as we watch Terra Nova come alive after dark. This walk will focus on some of our favourite nocturnal animals- bats! Learn about their unique features and adaptations, and discover the challenges bat populations are facing today.

Plant Hike
Headquarter's Wharf
Saturdays at 3:00 pm

Join our interpreters as they introduce you to the plants that make up the unique boreal forest of Terra Nova National Park. Each week we will explore the flora of the park through a different lens, discovering edible, poisonous and carnivorous plants to name a few!

Bird Watch
Malady Head
Fridays at 9:00 am

Wake up with the birds and join in on this morning walk! Learn about some of the common bird species found in Terra Nova National Park and see who you can spot along the way!

Nous préparons toutes nos excursions en songeant aux familles. Les excursions ont lieu à l’heure dite, beau temps mauvais temps. Portez des chaussures appropriées et des vêtements chauds, et munissez- vous d’une bouteille d’eau et d’un goûter. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une description des excursions guidées offertes dans le parc.


Promenade d’observation des castors
Le plus gros rongeur du parc Terra-Nova a travaillé sans relâche pendant tout l’hiver pour construire une nouvelle digue! Joignez-vous à nous pour une visite chez nos amis bricoleurs, les castors du Bras Southwest. Promenez-vous dans cet atelier vivant afin de voir le fruit de leur dur labeur.

Veille de nuit
Assistez au réveil du parc national Terra-Nova après la tombée de la nuit. Cette promenade sera axée sur certains de nos animaux nocturnes préférés – les chauves-souris! Familiarisez-vous avec leurs caractéristiques et leurs moyens d’adaptation uniques et découvrez les obstacles que doivent surmonter les populations de chauves-souris d’aujourd’hui.

Randonnée de découverte de la flore
Joignez-vous à nos interprètes qui vous présenteront les plantes qui font de la forêt boréale du parc national Terra-Nova un milieu unique. Chaque semaine nous explorerons la flore du parc sous différents angles, par exemple en vous faisant découvrir les plantes comestibles, vénéneuses et carnivores!