Starting October 26, 2019 this trail is shared access for visitors and moose hunters. It is recommended to wear blaze orange when hiking this trail. Find out more information about the moose management program here.

Starting from the Southwest Arm Brook Day Use Area (along TransCanada Highway), wander along the banks of the brook through a mature forest. Wind your way along a moss carpeted floor to the soundtrack of a rushing brook. Cross the suspension bridge and walk along the waters of Southwest Arm. For a different experience, start from the Southwest Arm Day Use Area and do this trail in reverse!

Camp at the backcountry sites available in Southwest Arm where you can watch the sun rise over Malady Head.


Trail Details:

Level of Difficulty: Easy

Length/Distance: 4 km return

Time: 1 - 1.5 hours

Location: Southwest Arm Trail has two entry point, the first is Southwest Arm Brook Day Use Area on the side of the Route 1 (TransCanada Highway) and the second is down in the Southwest Arm Day Use Area. Southwest Arm Day Use Area is located less than 0.5km off Route 1 (TransCanada Highway).

Habitat: Mature balsam fir and black spruce forest, brook, estuary, beaver habitat, mosses

Trailhead/Access: There are two trailheads for the Southwest Arm Trail. The first is on the side of the Route 1 (TransCanada Highway) and the second is down in the Southwest Arm Day Use Area. Southwest Arm Day Use Area is located less than 0.5km off Route 1 (TransCanada Highway). The trailhead along Route 1 (TransCanada Highway) is approximately 3 km from the Visitor Centre and the trailhead in Southwest Arm Day Use Area is approximately 4 km from the Visitor Centre.

GPS Coordinates: 48 36 36.16999 N, -53 58 31.67998 W

Backcountry camping: YES. Reservable through the Parks Canada Reservation Service. Find out more.

À partir du 26 octobre, ce sentier est en accès partagé pour les visiteurs et les chasseurs d'orignaux. Il est recommandé de porter de l'orange vif lors de la randonnée sur ce sentier. Pour en savoir plus sur le programme de gestion de l'orignal, cliquez ici.

À partir de l’aire de fréquentation diurne située près de la route Transcanadienne, marchez le long des rives du bras Southwest dans une forêt mature. Laissez-vous enchanter par le doux tapis de mousse et le ruissellement mélodieux des eaux courantes. Traversez le pont suspendu et marchez le long des eaux tranquilles du Bras-Southwest. Pour une expérience différente, commencez à l’aire de fréquentation diurne du Bras-Southwest et parcourez le sentier en sens inverse!

Campez dans l’arrière-pays du bras Southwest et admirez le lever du soleil sur le cap Malady.


Détails de sentier:

Niveau: Facile

Longueur/Distance: 4 km de retour

Temps: 1 - 1.5 heures

Location: Le sentier du Bras-Southwest a deux points d’entrée : le premier, sur le bord de la route 1 (route Transcanadienne) et le deuxième, à l’aire de fréquentation diurne du bras Southwest. L’aire de fréquentation diurne du Bras-Southwest est située à moins d’un demi-kilomètre de la route 1 (route Transcanadienne).

Habitat: Forêts de sapins baumiers et d’épinettes noires matures, ruisseau, estuaire, habitat de castors, mousse

Début du sentier: Le sentier du Bras- Southwest compte deux points de départ. Le premier est situé sur le bord de la route 1 (route Transcanadienne) et le second est situé à l’aire de fréquentation diurne du Bras-Southwest. Celle-ci se trouve à moins d’un demi-kilomètre de la route 1 (route Transcanadienne). Le point de départ sur la route 1 (route Transcanadienne) est à environ 3 km du centre d’accueil tandis que celui de l’aire de fréquentation diurne du Bras-Southwest est à environ 4 km du centre d’accueil.

Les coordonnées GPS: 48 36 36.16999 N, -53 58 31.67998 W

Camping sauvage: OUI. Tous les emplacements peuvent être réservés auprès du Service de réservation de Parcs Canada. Pour en savoir plus.