Begin hiking in a mature black spruce forest carpeted by a vibrant green moss rolling over the bumpy forest floor. The first steep climb reveals sections of forest badly damaged by past hurricanes and the island’s relentless wind. Keep climbing to reach the top of Malady Head.  Watch your footing as you emerge from the forest but take the time to look up as the magnificent cliff-side view reveals itself. Catch a bird-eye view of Southwest Arm, the Eastport Causeway and Alexander Bay.

Trail details


Level of Difficulty

Moderate to difficult

 

Length/Distance

3.4 km

 

Time

1 - 1.5 hours

Location

Malady Head Trail is located in Malady Head Campground. Malady Head Campground is approximately 5km from Route 1 (TransCanada Highway) and is located on Route 310.

 

Habitat

mature black spruce forest carpeted by moss, wet in spots, steep climb, beautiful vista/look-off at the summit, spectacular view of Southwest Arm, Wings Pond, Eastport Causeway and Alexander Bay, lichens, Indian pipe plant

 

Trailhead/Access

The start of Malady Head Trail can be difficult to find. Drive up the hill at the entrance of malady Head Campground, turn right and follow the winding road through the campground past the tenting and oTENTik loops. There is a parking lot on the left. Follow the old road up to the trailhead.

 

GPS Coordinates

48 38 49.97000 N
-53 55 17.48001 W

Trail Map

Map of Malady Head Trail

Ce sentier est temporairement fermé au public pour permettre des travaux de construction au kiosque d'information. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Commencez votre randonnée dans une forêt d’épinettes noires matures dont le sol accidenté est tapissé de mousse d’un vert intense. La première montée abrupte révèle des parties de forêt endommagées par les ouragans passés et les vents incessants de l’île. Continuez votre ascension et vous atteindrez le sommet du cap Malady. Regardez où vous posez les pieds en sortant de la forêt, mais prenez aussi le temps d’admirer la vue magnifique qui s’offre à vous le long de la falaise. Vous aurez une vue d’ensemble du bras Southwest, du pont-chaussée d’Eastport et de la baie Alexander.


Détails de sentier:

Niveau: De modéré à difficile

Longueur/Distance: 3.4 km

Temps: 1 - 1.5 heures

Location: Le sentier du Cap-Malady est situé dans le terrain de camping Malady Head. Celui-ci se trouve à environ 5 km de la route 1 (route Transcanadienne), sur la route 310.

Habitat: Forêt d’épinettes noires matures tapissée de mousse, sol humide par endroits, montée abrupte, magnifique panorama/point de vue au sommet, vue spectaculaire du bras Southwest, de l’étang Wings, du pont-chaussée d’Eastport et de la baie Alexander, lichens, monotrope uniflore

Début du sentier: Le début du sentier du Cap-Malady peut être difficile à trouver. Montez la côte en voiture à l’entrée du terrain de camping Malady Head, tournez à droite, suivez la route sinueuse dans le terrain de camping et passez les boucles de tentes et de tentes oTENTik. Vous trouverez un stationnement à gauche. Suivez la vieille route jusqu’au début du sentier.

Les coordonnées GPS: 48 38 49.97000 N, -53 55 17.48001 W


Carte de sentier:

Carte du sentier de Malady Head