Beloved Canadian (and Newfoundland and Labrador native) actor and comedian Shaun Majumder took some time to explore the beauty of Terra Nova National Park. Watch the video to find out why he thinks Terra Nova has to be your next travel destination. 

Why Shaun Majumder thinks you need to explore Terra Nova National Park

Transcript

Parks Canada Logo

"

Shaun Majumder: I love a good walk in the woods in Newfoundland and Labrador. " This place has it all. Newfoundland and Labrador is one of those magical playgrounds that wherever you go it's like the urban landscape is encroaching on THIS. I mean, you can't go anywhere in Newfoundland and not be in this place. There are two o fthe most amazing national parks that exist in the country, right here on the island of Newfoundland. You have Terra Nova National Park, one of the best hidden gems in all of Canada. The campgrounds are spectacular - super family friendly but yet, it has that sense of danger that every explorer wants to have. From high cliffs to backcountry camping, to spectacular scenery, to major climbs, to being out in the occean and sea kayaks. Seeing whales and icebergs. I mean, that's what this place has. And if you haven't come to Newfoundland yet, please do. And when you come, make sure you visit Terra Nova National Park. Don't just drive through the park, turnoff, visit the

Parks Canada Logo

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by Parks Canada, 2016.

Canada wordmark.

Want to experience Terra Nova National Park like Shaun Majumder? We’ve provided all the info to make it happen:  

00:01 Heritage Trail

Terra Nova has a wide range of hiking trails. Enjoy leisurely strolls, like this one, located right next to the Visitor Centre, or experience more challenging treks for the avid adventurer. Hike your way through them all!

00:07 Happy Adventure Tours

With over 200 km of coastline, Terra Nova National Park is where the lush boreal forest meets the tranquil inlets of the Atlantic Ocean. It’s the perfect place to get out and explore the water. See whales, icebergs, puffins, and much more. Happy Adventure Tours is conveniently located at the Terra Nova National Park Visitor Centre.

00:08 Ochre Hill 

The view from Ochre Hill is one of the most spectacular vistas in the park. Take in the panoramic landscape from the easily accessible Ochre Hill Lookout, or if you have more time, enjoy the stunning Ochre Hill Trail.

00:21 Little Denier

This is puffin paradise! See Happy Adventure Tours, above.

00:26 Blue Flag Iris

Terra Nova has an abundance of natural beauty. Take a guided hike with one of our knowledgeable interpreters to learn more about the flora and fauna of Terra Nova. We have a bird watch, a beaver hike, and “Taste of Nature” - a guided hike where you can experience Terra Nova in the context of traditional plant use.

00:30 Malady Head Campground

Malady Head Campground is one of two campgrounds in Terra Nova National Park. Get back to the basics and celebrate the beauty of the outdoors in this rustic and traditional campground. Enjoy a fire on your campsite, watch the stars, and be reminded of how peaceful it can be to disconnect from our busy lives and experience nature with friends and family. 

00:46 Kayaking

Paddling in Terra Nova National Park is an experience like no other. Kayak in peaceful, calm waters of Sandy Pond or Southwest Arm, or venture further outside into the outer coast to find high cliffs and caves. Kayaks can be rented from Sandy Pond Concession or Happy Adventure Tours. 

01:02 Malady Head 

You can hike to Malady Head via the Malady Head Trail. There are other incredible look out points in Terra Nova National Park including the summit to Mount Stamford, which can be accessed via the Outport Trail. If you do not have time to make the 32 km trek, contact Happy Adventure Tours about the Sea to Summit experience. They will provide a boat transfer service to Minchin’s Cove where you can access the summit of Mount Stamford in 4 km. 

01:06 Inner Newman Sound

Accessible through Newman Sound Campground, this peaceful spot is especially magical at low tide when you can walk out onto the ocean’s floor.

Acteur et comédien canadien très aimé (natif de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), Shaun Majumder a exploré les beautés du parc national Terra Nova. Visionnez la vidéo pour découvrir pourquoi Shaun croit que vous devez faire de Terra Nova votre prochaine destination voyage.

Raisons pour lesquelles Shaun Majumder croit que vous devez explorer le parc national Terra-Nova

Transcription

Logo de Parcs Canada

"

Shaun Majumder: J’adore me promener dans les forêts de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. " Cet endroit a tout pour plaire. Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador est l’un de ces terrains de jeux magiques où, peu importe où vous allez, le paysage urbain envahit ceci. Je veux dire, c’est impossible de se rendre à Terre-Neuve On trouve deux des parcs nationaux les plus magnifiques au pays, juste ici, sur l’île de Terre-Neuve. Il y a entre autres le parc national Terra-Nova, l’un des plus beaux trésors cachés du Canada. Les terrains de camping sont spectaculaires; ils sont parfaits pour la famille, tout en évoquant la notion de danger que les explorateurs recherchent. Des hautes falaises au camping dans l’arrière-pays, en passant par les paysages remarquables, les montées intenses et les excursions dans l’océan à bord d’un kayak de mer. Il est aussi possible d’y apercevoir des baleines et des icebergs. Vous voyez? C’est tout ce que cet endroit a à offrir. Si vous n’avez pas encore visité Terre-Neuve, n’attendez plus. Et, lors de votre passage, n’oubliez pas d’explorer le parc national Terra-Nova. Ne traversez pas simplement le parc

Logo de Parcs Canada

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par Parcs Canada, 2017.

Mot-symbole « Canada ».

Vous voulez faire l’expérience du parc national Terra Nova comme l’a fait Shaun Majumder? Voici toute l’information dont vous avez besoin :

00:01 Sentier du patrimoine

Terra Nova compte un vaste éventail de sentiers de randonnée pédestre. Profitez d’une balade agréable, comme celle-ci, située à quelques pas du centre d’accueil, ou relevez un défi de randonnée en montagne si vous vous sentez plus aventurier. Essayez-les tous!

00:07 Happy Adventure Tours

Le parc national Terra Nova, qui compte plus de 200 km de côtes, se trouve à la rencontre de la forêt boréale et de bras de mer paisibles de l’océan Atlantique. C’est l’endroit idéal pour explorer la mer. Baleines, icebergs, macareux et bien d’autres vous attendent. Vous trouverez Happy Adventure Tours dans le centre d’accueil du parc national Terra Nova.

00:08 Colline Ochre

La vue de la colline Ochre est l’une des plus spectaculaires du parc. Admirez la vue panoramique à partir du belvédère facilement accessible ou, si vous avez plus de temps, empruntez le sentier époustouflant de la colline Ochre.

00:21 Île Little Denier

Le paradis des macareux, c’est ici! Voir Happy Adventure Tours ci-dessus.

00:26 Iris versicolore

Le parc national Terra Nova regorge de beautés naturelles. Faites une randonnée pédestre guidée en compagnie de l’un de nos interprètes chevronnés pour en apprendre plus sur la flore et la faune du parc. Choisissez une randonnée d’ornithologie ou une expédition pour observer le castor, ou encore une randonnée « goût de la nature », durant laquelle vous découvrirez Terra Nova ainsi que l’utilisation traditionnelle des plantes.

00:30 Camping de Malady Head

Le camping de Malady Head est l’un des deux campings du parc national Terra Nova. Revenez à l’essentiel et célébrez de beaux moments en plein air dans ce camping rustique et traditionnel. Profitez d’un feu de camp directement à votre emplacement, observez les étoiles et savourez la quiétude de la nature loin de la vie quotidienne trépidante. Vive le bon temps passé avec entre famille et amis!

00:46 Kayak

Pour une expérience unique au parc national Terra Nova, essayez le kayak. Les eaux calmes de l’étang Sandy ou du bras Sud-Ouest vous surprendront. Aventurez-vous plus loin vers la côte extérieure pour observer les falaises et les grottes. Il est possible de louer un kayak à la concession de l’étang Sandy ou auprès de Happy Adventure Tours.

01:02 Malady Head 

Vous pouvez vous rendre à pied jusqu’à Malady Head en empruntant le sentier du même nom. Vous trouverez d’autres points de vue époustouflants dans le parc national Terra Nova, comme le sommet du mont Stamford, accessible par le sentier Outport. Si vous n’avez pas le temps pour une longue randonnée de 32 km, informez-vous auprès de Happy Adventure Tours au sujet de l’expérience De la mer à la montagne (Sea to Summit). L’entreprise offre un service de transfert maritime à l’anse Minchin, d’où vous pourrez accéder au sommet du mont Stamford en 4 km.

01:06 Intérieur du fjord Newman

Accessible à partir du camping de Newman Sound, cet endroit paisible est particulièrement enchanteur à marée basse, alors que vous pouvez marcher sur le fond marin.